We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning Hotel”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 381 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Stunning Hotel”
Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

If you like small, tasteful, beautiful, traditionally Thai, peaceful hotels you will love this hotel. We stayed in three hotels during our stay in Thailand and this was our favourite. The staff are very friendly and attentive. I love the traditional Thai outfits worn by the female staff - I wish I could wear one! Breakfast was just lovely!

There is a great eatery called Sticky Rice Cafe around the corner from the hotel. We ate there three times during our 3 day stay! Go there, you won't be disappointed.

Fab, cheap laundry place 1 min walk from the hotel (turn right when you get to the end of the drive and it's maybe three doors down next to the sandwich place.)

The night market is great for food and shopping. There are fab banana pancake stalls all over the place.

There are lovely temples dotted all around the city which make for a great walking tour.

It was the Songkhran festival when we visited. People were having water fights on every street spraying each other with water guns and throwing buckets of water over each other. We got soaked! If you don't like the sound of this don't visit between 10th and 17th of April! Or you will be hotel bound.

We visited an elephant sanctuary during our time in Chang Mai. It was a wonderful place for rescued elephants. We fed the elephants, bathed them and learnt about how they came to be rescued. All of them were abused and most of them had long-term injuries. But they were clearly very happy there. The baby elephants were so cute. Strongly recommended.

Finally make sure you get a foot massage. It is worth seeking out the higher end looking places (which charge pretty much the same as the other places) they are by far the best.

Hope we can go back one day we loved Chang Mai. If we do go back we will definitely stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onlycme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

947 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    519
    328
    68
    15
    17
See reviews for
116
512
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here four nights, and had a great time. Pros: The location can't be beat (walking distance to everything), has a pool, spacious rooms, good AC, good service. Cons: Bathroom showers didn't drain well (though they fixed it), small pool, food/drinks at the hotel were more expensive than surrounding areas.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 12KPB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is neatly tucked away from the busy streets of Chiang Mai. My partner and I shared one of the deluxe rooms off to the side close to the fountain that greets you as you walk in from the main entryway. The sound of running water was a pleasant spa-like addition to the overall ambience that De Naga already executes quite well. Our room was clean and comfortable with ample storage space, a shower with good water pressure and hot water, sufficient ac, and many power outlets. The hotel staff greeted us at all hours, and were very pleasant, even when we had to check out at 3 in the morning to catch a very early flight out of Chiang Mai. The breakfast buffet has a wonderful selection that appeals to western and Asian palates alike. We did not try out the hotel spa nor restaurant but if you supposedly visit the pool bar during happy hour, there is a massage therapist who offers mini trial massages according to a sign by the pool bar. We weren't fortunate enough to partake in that experience.The pool may be small, but aside from the happy hour, it was generally easy to find a lounge chair to relax on between dips. However, the pool wasn't large enough to really swim in. The hotel staff was kind enough to move the seating out of the rain when one evening, an unexpected downpour interrupted our pre-dinner drinks. The only downside of the hotel would be that when we inquired with the saleswoman who arranges tours and excursions, we were informed that the elephant park we had wished to visit was completely booked up and there were no availabilities for that park for another 3 weeks. She offered other excursions which she thought would interest us but thankfully declined and went out to check for ourselves. Apparently the elephant park we wished to visit had spots open for the very next day and would pick us up directly from the hotel. We're not sure if she was directly affiliated to the hotel or just operated from within the hotel lobby so no deductions from our rating here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkazama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at De Naga for two nights. Great location and good service. Food not back and there are lots of other choices in terms of restaurants in the neighborhood. Walking distance to the night market and sunday market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was second to none. The staff were always helpful and smiley no matter what time of the night! The pool area and general furnishing and decoration of the hotel was stunning. The antiques and paintings made you feel as though you were staying in a palace. Our room was gorgeous and the food was great too. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La.
Level Contributor
72 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2014

De Naga's created a nice oasis located in a very convenient area. A bit of a walk to the night market but good for Green Bamboo massage (hands down the best), Saturday walking market, street foods n nicer eateries. Room was rather dark & well used with a very firm bed, bathroom was tiny & towels were mismatched & threadbare some days. Shower was very large w/plenty of hot water. Good a/c. View was of run down parking lot, power lines & trash.... (see pics)

Outside common area is quite pretty w/low drum music playing all around; setting a very "yoga-esk" mood. Pool was neat but also well worn & closed at the odd time of 7pm. Mosquitoes could carry a person off at night so maybe that's why.

Staff was ok & quite nice .... in true Thai style. Breakfast oddly expensive so go out to the bakery down the street or even the restaurant at the street which looks a part of the DeNaga complex.

Be certain that dragons (naga) don't give you nightmares before you book this hotel! Lol They're supposed to be good luck so if 1 is good, 100 must be better. They're everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms with high ceilings will feel less "tight"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights before moving on to Khao Lak. We arrived Sunday evening and went to the Sunday walking market which is minutes away and was not to be missed. The hotel was close to everything whilst being set back from the main road in its own oasis. All the staff were helpful even making dinner reservations etc. we dined in the 'house restaurant' on our last night and would also highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 381 in Chiang Mai
957 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#12 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,398 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 381 in Chiang Mai
1,814 reviews
0.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 381 in Chiang Mai
2,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing