We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful Room and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Beautiful Room and Great Location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2014

The hotel is neatly tucked away from the busy streets of Chiang Mai. My partner and I shared one of the deluxe rooms off to the side close to the fountain that greets you as you walk in from the main entryway. The sound of running water was a pleasant spa-like addition to the overall ambience that De Naga already executes quite well. Our room was clean and comfortable with ample storage space, a shower with good water pressure and hot water, sufficient ac, and many power outlets. The hotel staff greeted us at all hours, and were very pleasant, even when we had to check out at 3 in the morning to catch a very early flight out of Chiang Mai. The breakfast buffet has a wonderful selection that appeals to western and Asian palates alike. We did not try out the hotel spa nor restaurant but if you supposedly visit the pool bar during happy hour, there is a massage therapist who offers mini trial massages according to a sign by the pool bar. We weren't fortunate enough to partake in that experience.The pool may be small, but aside from the happy hour, it was generally easy to find a lounge chair to relax on between dips. However, the pool wasn't large enough to really swim in. The hotel staff was kind enough to move the seating out of the rain when one evening, an unexpected downpour interrupted our pre-dinner drinks. The only downside of the hotel would be that when we inquired with the saleswoman who arranges tours and excursions, we were informed that the elephant park we had wished to visit was completely booked up and there were no availabilities for that park for another 3 weeks. She offered other excursions which she thought would interest us but thankfully declined and went out to check for ourselves. Apparently the elephant park we wished to visit had spots open for the very next day and would pick us up directly from the hotel. We're not sure if she was directly affiliated to the hotel or just operated from within the hotel lobby so no deductions from our rating here.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkazama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

937 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    514
    326
    67
    14
    16
See reviews for
115
505
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed at De Naga for two nights. Great location and good service. Food not back and there are lots of other choices in terms of restaurants in the neighborhood. Walking distance to the night market and sunday market.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carmen K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2014

This is probably the best hotel I have ever stayed in. The service was second to none. The staff were always helpful and smiley no matter what time of the night! The pool area and general furnishing and decoration of the hotel was stunning. The antiques and paintings made you feel as though you were staying in a palace. Our room was gorgeous and the food was great too. Stay here!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shipchoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, La.
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

De Naga's created a nice oasis located in a very convenient area. A bit of a walk to the night market but good for Green Bamboo massage (hands down the best), Saturday walking market, street foods n nicer eateries. Room was rather dark & well used with a very firm bed, bathroom was tiny & towels were mismatched & threadbare some days. Shower was very large w/plenty of hot water. Good a/c. View was of run down parking lot, power lines & trash.... (see pics)

Outside common area is quite pretty w/low drum music playing all around; setting a very "yoga-esk" mood. Pool was neat but also well worn & closed at the odd time of 7pm. Mosquitoes could carry a person off at night so maybe that's why.

Staff was ok & quite nice .... in true Thai style. Breakfast oddly expensive so go out to the bakery down the street or even the restaurant at the street which looks a part of the DeNaga complex.

Be certain that dragons (naga) don't give you nightmares before you book this hotel! Lol They're supposed to be good luck so if 1 is good, 100 must be better. They're everywhere!

Room Tip: Rooms with high ceilings will feel less "tight"
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BertaTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights before moving on to Khao Lak. We arrived Sunday evening and went to the Sunday walking market which is minutes away and was not to be missed. The hotel was close to everything whilst being set back from the main road in its own oasis. All the staff were helpful even making dinner reservations etc. we dined in the 'house restaurant' on our last night and would also highly recommend.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barney114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
70 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 199 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

I recently stayed at the De Naga for four nights. This quiet boutique hotel is located on the eastern edge of the Old City just a five minute walk from the Ratchadamoen Night Market. Check-in was handled courteously and efficiently. I was assigned a room towards the back of the hotel. There wasn't much of a view, just the alley behind the hotel. The room had hardwood floors and was decorated with dark wood furniture and Asian themed furnishings. The furniture was in definite need of replacement as they contained many dents and scratches. A small refrigerator and kettle were provided and included packaged coffee and teas. The bed was comfortable and the linens clean and crisp. The bathroom was a comfortable size and included a tub with shower. Although the bathroom appeared clean for the most part, a thorough cleaning around the tub was necessary as large patches of mildew were visible. The air conditioning worked well and was fairly quiet.

My room rate included breakfast each morning that consisted of a nice buffet with various fruits, pastries, breads, several Western and Asian hot dishes, and eggs cooked to order. On a couple of occasions I also dined at the hotel's other restaurant located at the front of the hotel's driveway. The restaurant offers a variety of Thai cuisine but also includes Western options. Service was good at both restaurants.

As others have mentioned, the pool is small and not suitable for swimming but rather for lounging and a cool dip during the heat of the day. Two computers with Internet access are available for guest use in the lobby (free of charge) and the hotel offers free Wi-Fi in the guest rooms. There is a concierge stationed in the lobby that can assist with sightseeing.

Tuk tuks are readily available near the front of the hotel. The Old City is easily walkable and one can walk from the hotel to the western edge of the Old City in 25-30 minutes.

Overall, I had a very pleasant and comfortable stay and highly recommend this hotel. All of the staff I encountered (at reception, in the restaurant, housekeepers, porters, and other staff) were all very welcoming, gracious, and happy to assist in any way. I believe they are the hotel's strongest asset.

GETTING THERE

The airport is 10-15 minutes away from the Old City by car. A taxi from the airport to any location in the Old City is a fixed rate of 150 baht (about US$4) if you go to one of the taxi desks and purchase a ticket. On the return, the fare is based upon the taxi meter. Surcharges apply in the very early morning and late evening hours.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelstuff0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level Contributor
23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

The hotel location is perfect - in the Old City, but tucked away up a private lane, near the Sunday market street, if you're into buying cheap Chinese stuff. It's new construction & the rooms are large with modern bathrooms. Breakfast is excellent, & there are many restaurants nearby. The pool is tiny, but we didn't go to Chiang Mai expecting to use a pool.
The service was excellent - even drove us out to the airport in the hotel car, and the decor is interesting. By chance we were there during the Flower Festival so the prices were higher, and there are of course many cheaper options in Chiang Mai, but we would definitely stay there again

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alan_mtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 947 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,348 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#41 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing