We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
De Naga Hotel
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$104
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$123
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$107
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Bodhi Serene Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$123
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$156
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$217
$129
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$412
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,057)
Filter reviews
1,057 results
Traveler rating
574
372
75
17
19
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
574
372
75
17
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold citypremier deluxe roomhomemade jamsbeautiful hotelsmall poolnight markettraditional thai styleboutique hotelperfect locationhighly recommend this hoteltucked awaywalking distancebreakfast buffet istour desktha phae gatebusy roadrestaurants and bars
Filter
Updating list...
359 - 364 of 1,057 reviews
Reviewed March 21, 2014

As regular visitors to Phuket we thought we would explore Chiang Mai and used Trip Advisor to select an appropriate hotel. We chose the De Naga based on those reviews and was not disappointed. It is well position at the edge of the old city and we found all the attractions within easy reach, even if we did spend 80 Baht on a tuk tuk ride. The staff were very friendly and helpful. Courteous at all times. The rooms do not have balconies nor spectacular views but it's location means that there are bars, shops and markets all within a few minutes walk so we did not spend much time in the hotel. There is a very small swimming pool which is mainly for cooling off and not for swimming and with only 6 sun beds, this hotel is not really equipped for the sun bather. But who wants to lay in the sun when in Chiang Mai with so many activities on offer?Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RotherhamRich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 19, 2014

Stayed 4 nights and made hotel choice based on Tripadvisor reviews. I booked directly with the hotel website and the rate included breakfast.

While I agree with some other reviews where the rooms are a little worn, the service from everyone employed here more than made up for any shortcomings the room may have. The room did feel a little dark, and the view was of a parking lot and other building. The bed was very comfortable and the room was pretty spacious with plenty of room for clothing. The air conditioner worked well (very important at this time of year), and the water pressure in the shower was excellent.

The breakfast buffet was extensive (and included home made jams), and was in a pleasant room. We did not use the pool, but on the last day the water was looking a little green and they drained it making the pool area unuseable. I had some laundry done one day and it was very inexpensive and did a great job.

I loved the style of the hotel, and even though it is a very busy area within the old city wall, you really do feel like you have stepped into a peaceful oasis when you enter their property. There are dozens of restaurants and bars very close by so you have plenty to choose from. Also close to a numbe of Wats and just a couple of minutes walk to the famous Sunday walking street market.

Every single staff member I encountered was helpful and pleasant (especially the front desk staff and housekeeping). We did book the Old Chiang Mai Cultural Center Evening Dinner with the concierge (was very reasonable cost and I highly recommend it - great food and dance show, picked up and dropped off from the hotel).

I would definitely stay here again if I happen to find myself back in Chiang Mai

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KarenAnneM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed here after reading many positive TA reviews. We were disappointed with our 5 day stay.
On the positive side, De Naga was in an excellent location. The buildings are architecturally interesting and the public spaces clean. Happy Hour poolside was a nice touch. Breakfasts were good with a nice combination of thai and western food choices.

Though there seemed to be empty rooms, we were asked to wait (or walk around) for an hour until check in time. This seemed to be standard procedure. We asked the front desk on several occasions to change larger bills. We were always told they had no change. Also, they could not change U.S. currency to Thai Baht. And we were only asking to change a few $20 bills. Our room was very worn looking. The bathroom smelled a bit mildewed. The pool is very small, which is to be expected in the oldest part of this city.
The "concierge" was unfriendly, rarely looking up from her computer. Though, to be fair, I am not sure if she was employed by the hotel or by another travel company in the city.
I would not return to this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susanandalan0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

stayed for 4 nights. the reception staff was quite hospitable. the rooms were clean. nicely decorated. bathrooms were also nice (with separate bathtub and shower). the breakfast was really great with a choice of eating indoors or outdoors. the pool is on the smaller side (with limited number of chaises). in a good location with several restaurants within a stone's throw. and starbucks as well as mcdonald's are within 5 minutes walk in front of tha pae gate. and about 15 minutes walk to the night market. a nice stroll both ways. would we want to return? yes!

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d240i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We stayed at the De Naga for 5 nights in January and on the whole enjoyed our stay. We found the location ideal and it provided a quiet sanctuary off the main road to relax after a days sightseeing. Our room was clean and comfortable with a large bathroom and separate shower, we had everything we needed including a fridge and tea making facilities, the only thing lacking was a balcony but as the hotel is located in quite a busy noisy area the views, from our room on the ground floor at least, weren't great.

Our room was situated at the end of an open 3 storey courtyard with rooms on either side, tables and chairs down the wood decked center and a fountain at the end, a lovely place to sit and have a drink outside our room. The De Naga (dragon) theme is carried throughout the hotel in the water features, wall art and door handles and is a charming detail although do be careful of the handles on the bedroom furniture and doors as they are quite sharp.

We enjoyed our stay but for a few niggles which could be easily remedied; namely the cleanliness of the pool which looked a bit green and we didn't use......oh, and it is VERY small. Room cleaning was quite late in the day, (possibly as our room happened to be at the end of the row) and on at least 2 occasions we arrived back to an unmade room late in the afternoon. The breakfast was ok apart from the awful coffee, but the service was haphazard, there were too many staff and they just seemed to get in the way. They were very inefficient at refilling the platters and frequently got the egg orders wrong, I had to ask for a 4 minute egg as they were served almost raw and the white was transparent. We had the happy hour cocktails on our first night but they were a bit pricey and weak and we ended up going elsewhere for a drink. The general maintenance and cleanliness could have been better, the pool towels looked past their best and I didn't notice a lot of cleaning around the hotel while we were there, empty glasses were frequently left on tables overnight, despite my observation that the hotel seemed overstaffed......? On the whole though the service was polite and friendly and I would have conceded another star had we not had a problem with the water on the last 2 days of our stay. We got up in the morning to use the toilet and there was black water in the pan.....not grey, brown....black. The problem persisted until our departure the next day despite repeated assurances that the problem would be fixed by that evening. We couldn't have a bath as the water was black and gritty, and while we understand that the public water supply is beyond the control of the hotel, and despite their apologies, prior warning and alternative arrangements for guests to shower or wash would have been helpful.

It is basically lack of attention to detail and customer focus that lets this hotel down and with a few changes it could be excellent.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janisem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews