We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, friendly staff”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #32 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location, friendly staff”
Reviewed March 1, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Super location just within the old city walls. Traditional style spacious rooms, well appointed, clean. Helpful and friendly staff. Super breakfast selection including a great egg station (poached eggs a triumph every time!). Great cocktails around the pool, especially during happy hour! Would recommend and stay again.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 903MDH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

961 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    529
    331
    68
    15
    18
See reviews for
122
517
63
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (95)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Lanna Thai ambience, great location just inside the Old City, close to restaurants and shops, wats and museums. We chose to eat breakfast out to explore the Old City. The hotel was remarkably peaceful for being in the middle of the action. I loved the small pool with its tinkling fountains. I loved the atmosphere and attention to detail. The staff was helpful and accommodating. The little bakery associated with it had the most scrumptious pastries. Easy to get tuk tuks from. We had the hotel call us a taxi to get back to the airport.

Room Tip: We had room 404 just above the pool/fountains. I loved the sound and could check to see if there wer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geralyn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Groningen, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

Nice hotel in the city center of Chiang Mai. Hotel offers nice rooms and a good breakfast buffet. They offer homemade products for breakfast. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The location of the hotel is just couple minutes away from the weekend market which is a must see if your staying in Chaing Mai.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jurjen-Bos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chester england
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2014

Staff are delightful. The hotel is very clean and well looked after. Ideally placed by the old city walls. Good breakfast, try the homemade granola and homemade yogurt! There's happy hour (I hour 30 minutes!) by the pool with cocktails 2 for 1. One evening go to the Old Chiangmai Cultural Centre for dinner and the show, it's excellent.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveRChesterEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Level 6 Contributor
376 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed February 24, 2014

Staff are very welcoming and unobtrusive. Rooms are lovely. Not overly luxurious but comfortable and quiet. Breakfast was good, lots of fresh fruit and a variety of western and thai dishes. The pool is very small and gets no sun-more of a water feature really.
The location is great everything is walkable and its tucked away and quiet.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

This is a beautiful hotel. Just set back from the main road it is in a great location to see what Chiang Mai has to offer.
The staff are extremely friendly and helpful.
The room was clean with a huge bed and breakfast was a great selection and always fresh.
The hotel and room are very authentic to Thailand and is a definately a recommended stay!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-MrsMcEvoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lier, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
407 reviews
139 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 322 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2014

I booked a premier deluxe room, 1 night, via Booking.com for 3800bt/night including breakfast. The normal deluxe room is 700bt cheaper (but was sold out at time of booking). Normal rates are lower but at Chinese newyear all prices are 25% higher. We received a free upgrade to a grand deluxe room.

Hotel is located inside the old city, 200m from Tapae Gate and 1km from the famous night market. Hotel, opened end 2007, has only 55 rooms, so not a giant multi-storey hotel-factory. Rooms in Lanna style are spread over 2 blocks, 3 storeys. View from the rooms are not scenic or idyllic at all.
Our spacious design-room nr 308 (+37m², including bathroom) was extremely comfortable, very clean, wooden floor, no balcony. Quiet at night; no noisy tourgroups. Excellent bed and crispy sheets. Good and silent airco, flatscreen TV, DVD player, fridge. Large bathroom (5,3 x 2,5m) with separate bath and rainshower, all amenities, adequate and clean, but no electricity outlet for my shaver. Silent closing roomdoors, wich I can appreciate. Complimentary : Wifi, coffee/tea. Good windowcurtains but torn windowdraperies ?! Dirty window glass (what I could expect in a 3 star hotel).
Breakfast : airco restaurant or outside; egg station to order dishes, completed with small buffet. Giant toasts. Fresh coffee and milk. Nothing to complain.
Supersmall swimming pool (6 X 4,5m) and swimmingpool area, with good garden furniture : 6 deckchairs with good cushions, 2 double armchairs and a few other chairs. Happy hour : 4h30 – 6h00PM, 160baht for 2. For sunbathers : little sunshine during the day.

Within the old city I have visited 4 similar boutique hotels with a limited number of hotelrooms and same or better quality as De Naga : Sirilanna hotel, Bodhi Serene, The Rim (where I stayed in 2011, see my review) and U Chiangmai. but all more expensive as De Naga.

Conclussion : this is a very good hotel, but for me just not good enough to makes it “excellent”. Nevertheless : certainly recommendable.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ludovicvn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#11 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,433 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 386 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing