We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hidden Gem within the city!”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #29 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore,
Level Contributor
52 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem within the city!”
Reviewed January 25, 2014

We stayed 2 nights in this hotel. The location is convenient. There are many nice restaurants nearby and within walking distance to the night bazzar. It is a gem hidden inside the city. The room is spacious and clean but the bed and pillows are not comfortable. The furnishings are a little old. The swimming pool is tiny. So, if you are looking for something fancy, this hotel may not be suitable. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast at the hotel. They change their selection every day, so that's a plus point. Overall, it is a nice hotel to stay, based on their great service, location and breakfast.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Clara C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

944 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    518
    327
    68
    14
    17
See reviews for
116
510
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Stayed at the De Naga for 3 nights in Jan - nice and quiet. Big rooms and outstanding choice of food for breakfast. Extremely helpful staff. Took another reviewers advice and went to a very good local place for dinner - Aroon Rai - very reasonable. Don't be put off by appearance. Dada Kafe around the corner is also worth a visit. Perfect location.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Buta2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kangaroo Valley, Australia
Level Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in the De Naga for 5 nights from 15th Jan. Really quiet in our room, on the lowest accom level. Staff were excellent during our stay, very helpful with any questions we had. Room was quite large, well presented and nice furnishings.

Breakfast was included and was very good, nice selection of fruits, breads and hot food.

Front desk staff were excellent, so caring, always smiling. Car park guys were great too. Would stay again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BapaCooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2014

We recently stayed three nights at this lovely hotel. The service is over the top. Everyone was extremely helpful. The room was good sized and very clean and quiet. The location is excellent. Very safe. A fifteen minute walk to the huge night market. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peg B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peebles, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Stayed at this hotel for 3 nights in January. Lovely traditional Thai hotel decorated with Thai art and decor. Hotel staff friendly and courteous. It was great to come back to the quiet and calmness of this hotel after a busy day sightseeing. The hotel is positioned in a quiet street off the main thoroughfare. We stayed in a deluxe room which was well equipped. My only gripe was that the mattress was very hard. We asked for a mattress topper and this was put on the bed within the hour. Great service with a good varied breakfast.
Would definitely recommend and will certainly stay at the De Naga again if visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 210DianeL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
49 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We stayed at the De Naga in December and enjoyed the hotel. What was most impressive was the Thai art in the common areas, the many fountains, and the lush green landscaping at the entrance of the hotel. After a busy day out it felt so peaceful to come back to the hotel because of the greenery, beautiful art pieces and warm greeting form the people at the front desk.

The hotel is decorated with traditional Thai furniture and silks. We stayed in a standard room. The room was fairly large. My one issue was the bed was not that comfortable - I did not have any problem with the firmness (which is common in Thailand). There was a spring that bumped up and hit me in the back each night. My husband had no issue on his side of the bed but- it may be time to replace some of the mattresses. The shower was large and had lots of hot water, and the shower gel / shampoo smelled really nice. The wifi, TV and safe worked well. The rooms are very quiet - the sound of the fountain outside our room provided soothing "white noise"

The pool is really really small - it was a bit too cold when we were there to use it. It also did not get much sun. But is was nice to look at.

The staff at the hotel was really friendly - we were greeted by each staff member with a smile and a nice hello.

The location of the hotel is great - it is within the walls of the old city and we were able to walk to the temples, shops, markets, restaurants, etc.

All in all for the price, we thought De Naga was a good choice.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neige8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2014

The hotel's staff were all dressed in their beautiful uniforms and so gracious whilst welcoming us into the hotel. The receptionist checked us in and showed us to our rooms and explained the hotel amenities and services with a beautiful smile. The room was nice and chic.

We arrived on Christmas Eve and the staff prepared some stalls at the driveway for hotel guests to sample. They encouraged us to sample the local drinks and some titbits whilst wishing us a Merry Xmas. Talk about making an impression on our 1st trip to Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 952 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#13 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,379 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#20 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing