We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and poor quality rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #30 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
pender island
Level Contributor
69 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Overpriced and poor quality rooms”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 13, 2013

We booked a grand deluxe room (an upgrade from the standard room which is called a "deluxe") for 3 nights at the DeNaga but when we arrived they were full so they DOWNGRADED us to a standard room but wanted to charge the same price. We complained with no results and finally asked to speak to the manager. We were then upgraded to the executive suite which was over the top but a nice gesture on her part. The next 2 days, we got the right room but they are small, very poorly furnished and really not worth the price they charge. The hotel lobby and courtyards are beautiful but don't take a room without seeing the room first. There is one rather surly staff member who is a bit of a prima donna but the rest are extremely gracious and helpful. The location is very central but reasonably quiet. I give this place a 4 out of 10.

Room Tip: There aren't any.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bucketlistmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

938 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    515
    326
    67
    14
    16
See reviews for
115
506
62
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2013

Very welcoming and pretty hotel. Good location in the Old Town. Staff was friendly and very professional. The public areas of the hotel are very nicely done and have character. Our room was a little less memorable but large and clean with a nice bathroom and lots of closet space--we didn't have a view. Rooms on the first level open to the courtyard which has a fountain and some tables and chairs. Breakfast was very good with both Thai and continental offerings. Parking garage below hotel. Small pool area.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kimmiekat12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexico City, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

As all other reviewers mention, the location is probably the best part of De Naga. The hotel is well-designed so that while located on quite a small lot, it doesn't feel cramped or crowded. That said, things seem to be a little shoddy around the edges. Our rain shower never worked properly. There is only one key per room, which can be an issue if you and your family/partner have differing sleep schedules--someone is either being woken up to let someone else in or else sleeping in an unlocked room. Breakfast is nice. The air conditioner seemed to make us both very congested--I doubt it had been cleaned in a while. Stay there for the location, but not for many other reasons.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancesAmbler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

We stayed at the De Naga for 4 nights recently in early December.
I have to say that we were very impressed by this little boutique hotel.
The rooms are spacious and very very clean. Aircon is good and the bathrooms very clean. Housekeeping really do a great job, they should be congratulated.
The buffet breakfast although only in a small restaurant ,was still complete and had everything you needed. Try the fresh omelettes, theyre great. Same for the home made yoghurt, very tasty !

The reception staff are very friendly and very helpful. Their knowledge of the local area is great.
The only downside for any swimmers is that the pool is a little small, but hey, no one comes to Chiang Mai to swim right, so its not a negative at all really.
Try for a room at the rear of the hotel away from the front entrance as its a bit quieter and you get a bit more a view of some mountains than you do if staying at the front of the hotel.
The hotel location is great for exploring the old town by foot.You can just grab a map from reception and head off walking.
A tip for any shoppers , be sure to try to book your stay over a weekend because the weekend night street market in the old town is far superior to any of the other markets held on any other nights.
The hotel is also close to all the major Temples which can be reached again on foot.
Also the hotel has a cafe outside near the main driveway which is worth checking out. Nice smoothies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mrknotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
109 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

well designed on all levels: well designed, big rooms and big beds - a great place to explore the old town. despite being in the middle of things, the rooms are very quiet and sleep quality is great. staff are very friendly and helpful, breakfast very good. the pool isn't big but clever (swimming jet).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chrrul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

We stayed here for 4 nights and it was consistently a lovely stay, close to markets, restaurants and shops. The staff were really helpful and very sweet, I am allergic to seafood which has been very hard to avoid in Thailand but the staff remembered me every day and informed me at breakfast what I could and couldn't eat and at dinner made sure they cooked my food seperately.
The tours desk driver is also really great. And free wifi. :)

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tarafrancis91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

This is a very nice and quiet hotel in with the Old Town of Chiang Mai. The rooms are spacious and the Internet works. The hotel is very clean and the staff is friendly. For those who do not want the breakfast in the hotel , there is an associated bakery which serves great Cappuccino and sandwiches. Several restaurants and small bars are in waling distance less than 5 minutes.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThaiFriendLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#34 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 948 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#14 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,351 reviews
1.2 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Property: De Naga Hotel
Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#22 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing