We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not All That”
Review of De Naga Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
De Naga Hotel
Ranked #31 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 19, 2012

It's a decent hotel but it has a certain lack of professionalism. Swimming pool is tiny, rooms and layout are very nice. But for the price we paid I expect two things that did not happen:
- Prompt check-in. When we arrived there was only one lady at the reception and she was busy talking on the phone. She did not recognize us or even look at us for a good five minutes. When she was done talking on the phone, check in was reasonably fast, with a change of rooms to avoid the one right next to a construction site. What was very strange was that that for the entire half an hour we were checking in, we only ever saw one staff. It wasn't her fault that it took so long, she was just the only person around! No bell boy, no other receptionists etc.
- Quality shower. The shower worked OK but switching between rain shower and normal shower didn't work, and the normal showerhead needed to be replaced. Not a big deal except that for the price, I expect more.

On the plus side, the rooms were nice enough, the bakery is great, the breakfast was good (and there was lots of very attentive staff present), and the location can't be beat.

Room Tip: I think it's good value of you get it at a discount. I have stayed in many hotels in Chiang Mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nikolausheger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (995)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

468 - 474 of 995 reviews

Reviewed November 13, 2012

The beds are very comfortable and the size of the rooms are good. The location is perfect if you want to be in the old town. The pool is ok but not really that exciting. The breakfast is very good, plenty of choice and sets you up for the day. The staff are very polite even too poilte for me bowing and all that stuff everytime they pass you by... If you can get a good deal i would stay here. I wouldn't pay the full price as it misses the X Factor however it is a comfortable hotel and i enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sbobwilliams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This was my last hotel in my Thailand tour. I wasn't feeling that the hotel is so in the middle of the city that our bus couldn't even pull in and had to put out belongings on the street. But the hotel itself is decent. The staff is very good and accomodating. The pool is tiny so you can only really sit out there to chill which is fine. The breakfast buffet was really nice. My room had a lot of problems though-air conditioner wasn't working which made it blazing hot. Once they came in to fix it, it was freezing cold. The hot water wasn't working so had to take a couple freezing showers. But they were good about coming to fix things so that worked out fine.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Intrigueace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

We booked this hotel based on its traditional look. Now, I was nervous about this choice as I have been known to bail out of a hotel booking in Thailand because of cell-like rooms. As a claustrophobic, it is very important to me to have space in the room for both the partner and the luggage; not one or the other! To my great relief, the rooms were spacious. The hotel is low-rise (2 levels above ground) and the rooms are built around a rectangular open air courtyard. To a claustrophobic, this is ideal: you open the door and you are standing in the open. This is also a good option if you (or your partner) are smokers. Chairs and tables are positioned in the courtyard for this purpose, or if you want to sit outside and read.
The huge bathroom in our room was reached through a set of wooden dividing doors. There was a big bath and separate shower. The wardrobe was also in this area.
The swimming pool is postage-stamp sized, so sorry, no lap swimming, but nevertheless, the pool area has a nice relaxing ambience.
The staff is extremely polite and friendly and were responsive to all requests.
I would recommend the hotel restaurant: breakfast was included in the tariff and the variety was quite good. The restaurant had a lovely ambience at night; the food beautifully presented; and the staff really pleasant and obliging.
The hotel is remarkably quiet considering the street activity outside. The hotel is in the old part of the city and you can cross the moat and walk up to the night markets in about 10 to 15 minutes (or take a tuk tuk).
Try to ensure your stay includes a Sunday so that you can attend the nearby walking market; it's a great atmosphere and more of an artisans' market.
Yes, I'm giving the hotel a giant tick. I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big bath!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay2210
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

This hotel is located inside the city wall, close to most of the main attractions and next to the famous Sunday market. The riverside area is at a reasonneable walking distance. The personnel is helpful and very nice. They can organise almost everything you need: massage in your romm or in a spa, tiger kingdom, taxi....

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Guilhem P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I am my friend have a good times in Chiang Mai. The hotel provided the good service. Staff are nice and frendly. The hotel is in good location that we can walk to sunday walking street at Thapae gate. I will come to stay again when i will come to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phakapol O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

We were thoroughly delighted with everything about the De Naga. It was convenient to everything we wanted to see in town and provided parking for our rental car, used to travel farther afield. It is located slightly off a busy road, but our room at the back of the building was extremely quiet. The staff was always cheerful, polite and helpful. Our room was good-sized, comfortable and very clean. The decor was nice and up-dated. We were very impressed with the variety and quality of the breakfast buffet. There is a nice outdoor seating area overlooking the large fountain and front grounds. I would definitely return to the De Naga!

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Toni S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,007 reviews
2.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.2 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#38 of 393 in Chiang Mai
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
U Chiang Mai
U Chiang Mai
#15 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,492 reviews
0.7 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#37 of 393 in Chiang Mai
966 reviews
1 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to De Naga Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about De Naga Hotel

Address: 21 Soi 2, Ratchamanka, Moon Muang Road, T. Pra Sing | A. Muang, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#21 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#23 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $101 - $217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — De Naga Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 55
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Where locality is a priority, De Naga Chiang Mai provides this with added convenience. Situated across from Tha Pae Gate in the Old City, the hotel is placed in a prime location, right in the heart of the city. The sights and attractions of Chiang Mai are all in close proximity, with many various cultural attractions, the Sunday walking street, and local shops within 10 minutes walking distance, as well as featured view of Doi Suthep Mountain. All rooms and villas are designed to implement the modern art with the beauty of nature. The decorations and facilities are based on woods to keep the balance of nature yet keep the comfort from high technology facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Hotwire, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your De Naga Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
De Naga Chiang Mai
Hotel De Naga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing