We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Italian food”

Pulcinella da Stefano
Ranked #82 of 2,105 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Delicious Italian food”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

The focaccia with tomato, ricotta and capers is yum to start, pizza bases are crispy and the pasta is perfectly al dente. Great place, we will be back!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Micko2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    152
    100
    34
    19
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great food & great prices!”
Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stefano's offers good, tasty, Italian food at a great price - with a fantastic location very close to the city. You just can't beat that!

I loved the carpaccio of beef with fresh lemon and rocket, and the lasagna was great too. Pizza was amazing and fresh, and thin crust... just how I like them! Desert was authentic and tasty, and everything fresh.

Service was good, but there is a slight noticeable improvement when Stefano himself is in the restaurant.

If I had to write negatives, I would say the decor is a bit... weird...? with the hand painted clouds and paint-smeared walls (though some might say it only adds to the character) :) and parking is an issue (not a problem for those without a car!)

And home-delivery / take out.... I've had a few ''weird'' experiences. A 'rare' steak that was RAW, ie: not cooked at all, and a pumpkin soup that was so hot it had literally melted the plastic container it was in.

As for eating in the restaurant itself, I've only ever had a great experiences and great food, and my friend really enjoyed her meal too.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andrewskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“more lights than shadows”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

as italian I feel home tasting the food. Of course sometimes the service is not perfect and the new owner is not so polite with clients, but worthy to make a jump there

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mario P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hit the taste buds just right”
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We really enjoyed our dining experience. The food, service and ambiance were a great way to end an adventuresome day in Chiang Mai. The sausage pizza and Hawaiin pizza were devoured by my kids and husband. I loved the organically grown Greek salad I ordered and the calamari was a great appetizer. The staff were attentive, prompt and very kind. We were paid a visit by the owner who was very kind. We will definitely return and recommend to our friends.

Helpful?
Thank Beth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 136 helpful votes
“One of the best Italian restaurants in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

Just off Tha Phae road and near the gate this small but ambient restaurant provides some of the best Italian food in Chiang Mai, overseen by Stefeno himself his staff will ensure your visit is a memorable one.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank aslimversgwm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pulcinella da Stefano also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Pulcinella da Stefano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing