We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Love the smell of teak in the morning” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ruen Come In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ruen Come In
Ranked #35 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Love the smell of teak in the morning”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014

We stayed for 3 nights in January in this Lanna-inspired family-run guesthouse. Our room was in the newer rosewood house, as opposed to the original teak building.

It's in a slightly quieter and less touristy part of town, but a short drive away to Nimmanahaeminda Road, which is good local street for coffee and bookstores, and Maya shopping mall, if you need to stock up on home comforts, or are getting consumerism withdrawal.

Our room had something of a mosquito epidemic while we were there, but nothing that couldn't be fixed with some citronella incense, and the hosts were very helpful trying to find swatters and plug-in incense, though it's a shame there weren't more obvious facilities immediately on hand so we didn't have to disturb the staff quite so much.

The range of breakfast options are fantastic, unsurprising as the guesthouse also doubles up as a local restaurant.

The pool is relatively small but it was underused while we were there. I doubt it would ever get overcrowded given the fact there are only a handful of rooms available.

I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again, but probably request the teak room to get a slightly more authentic experience.

Room Tip: Request a teak room for a more authentic Lanna experience, rather than the newer rosewood rooms, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank electriksheep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    173
    57
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
41
140
10
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
USA
Level Contributor
24 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2014

There is huge difference between the Deluxe room and the suite. I started off in the twin Rosewood deluxe room, and the noise from the nearby road was unbearable--the motorbike noise throughout the night kept me awake the entire night. The owner was nice enough to allow me to upgrade to their grand suite (the only open suite at the time) for a nominal charge. The suite was very quiet, peaceful, and a ridiculously large suite for just a couple. The service of all their staff was impeccable. As other travelers have noted, the location is very inconvenient to access Chiang Mai. Chiang Mai was more of a bustling city than I expected, and it is walled. The hotel is outside the walled city, and tuk tuks and taxis will charge you a premium. A couple of them also had difficulty finding the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hounds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2014

The whole hotel is made out of wood and it is stunning. The service and the rooms were great and food excellent. We did the cookery course which was really fun. Definitely stay here. The hotel is a little out of town but that is a good thing and you get loads of space.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mackay, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014 via mobile

My wife and I were made to feel at home from the moment we entered the beautiful garden surroundings, a serene oasis in the middle of a bustling Thai City. The host, Mai, could not do enough for us, even driving us to the markets when we wanted to go. She is an excellent cook and we highly recommend the restaurant. The accommodation is roomy, clean, with modern facilities but set in beautiful teak decor. Fantastic stay.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Perfect in every way, especially for couples..

beautiful place, beautiful staff, lovely food and amazing rooms.

we had an amazing stay and would recommend to any one... staff can not do enough for you


only negative which has nothing todo with the hotel: at night some cabs refuse or try to charge you more from the main square as its slightly out of the way from other hotels but thats just another reason why we loved it..

love charlotte and nax xxx

Room Tip: just book it
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NAV_WESTHAM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Ruen Come In for 3 nights while in Chiang Mai and it was a perfect little retreat accessible to all of the sites. The service throughout our stay was great, our room was beautiful and very clean, and the whole place was very peaceful and relaxing. The breakfast here was definitely a highlight for us and we did eat dinner at the restaurant one night and would highly recommend everyone who stays here is sure to eat a dinner here. Mrs. Mai was very helpful and happy to drive us wherever we wanted to go at night (for a reasonable fee). We also used the bikes (also reasonable fee) the hotel makes available to go into the Old City which was really fun. We would highly recommend staying here if you are looking for a peaceful and quiet sanctuary during your time in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank addyf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

My wife and I came here on our honeymoon at the end of February. It was a beautiful resort, small, but very well maintained. Staff was very accommodating, wish we could have stayed longer. Huge rooms. We did the Thai cooking class which was really fun. If you have the time I would suggest you give it a try.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.9 mi away
Rustic River Boutique
Rustic River Boutique
#20 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
Sakorn Residence & Hotel
#42 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 535 reviews
2.1 mi away
Golden Bell Hotel
Golden Bell Hotel
#11 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Zensala Riverpark Resort
Zensala Riverpark Resort
#52 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 150 reviews
2.1 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#48 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,270 reviews
2.1 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Property: Ruen Come In
Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing