We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Boutique home stay/pension/B&B”
Review of Ruen Come In

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ruen Come In
Ranked #36 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2012

Deserves all the accolades.
Beautifully maintained and serviced accommodation, with the bonus of high quality northern Thai cuisine.
It is out of the city centre though, and isn't for the traveller who wants to step outside into to hubbub of a Thai city street. That said, the owners will run you into the city at any time, and tuktuks are always around - but trips are around 150 THB each way, so budget an extra $20 a day for transport. For us the trade off of peace and beauty was worth the mild inconvenience of having to travel to the centre.
This is also an excellent hotel if you are traveling with young children

Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank jonesc54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

160 - 166 of 282 reviews

Reviewed December 29, 2012

Without any doubt, this is the most welcoming and delightful place you can find in Chiang Mai.
The handsome wood made house offers a few but very comfortable and full serviced rooms with easy access to the restaurant. The mistress and her husband were so welcoming,helpful and gentle with us. The mix of a cousin of rare quality and the kindness of the attendants make the overall restaurant service great and unforgettable. We were really treated like kings :)
Generally speaking we indeed felt like being at home :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andreabellani86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2012

i really loved the way the owners take care of the guests personally. i was touched to see that the owner of the property himself dropped me to the airport......very simple person. the property is excellent with just 5 rooms. the fine dinning restaurant is also excellent. the pool side eating area and the ambience is excellent. the staff are too too friendly with thai smile always on the face and well dressed. i would say that the world should have more such places and more such friendly owners.

Room Tip: mrs mai and her husband and all the staff are friendly. u must order ur selection of b/fast the prev...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank narendra1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

Anyone who enjoys quality and personal service is in for a treat at this genuinely Thai old home converted into a luxury bed and breakfast. Every detail is carefully thought out to ensure guests have the best experience possible. It was a pure joy to stay here. I particularly recommend the larger rooms in the main building, where you live like a king!

And as if the beautiful wood furnishings and tasteful decor weren't enough to totally seduce you, the Thai cuisine is among the finest in town. And for those of you with a passion for healthy eating, the owners offer macrobiotic dishes and most ingredients are organically grown on their own farm...

It may not be central, but you'll love it so much here, you'll hardly want to leave!

Room Tip: The largest room is something rare and very very special...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank enzoenzo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We stayed with a child at this hotel in mid-November 2012. The hotel is beautiful, with Lanna-style rooms raised on poles that almost feel like you are in a tree house. The grounds are immaculate with lovely details like a long koi pond you walk over to get to the outdoor reception area and a pool is cute and plenty big. The owners are also extremely nice and obviously want to make your stay with them a pleasant one, right down to preparing a free breakfast ordered to your preferences. For anyone who wants a romantic get away and plans to stay around the hotel, Ruen Come would be perfect. The same goes for anyone with their own transportation.
However, if you want to see the sights of Chiang Mai and get away from the hotel, Ruen Come is not the place for you. It is located on the outskirts of the city in a neighborhood that rolls up the streets at around 5 p.m. It is too far to walk to the old City, and you would have to have a death wish to take the complimentary bicycles the hotel provides to the heart of the city. We tried it and turned back because after about five minutes the route became so crowded with cars and flying scooters that I felt certain I was about to die.
You can walk out to the "super highway" from the hotel and catch a tuktuk, but they will likely want to charge you twice or more the going rate to go outside of their zone. We ended up spending more than $25 on tuktuks on the single day we stayed at Ruen Come. That money could have been better spent if we had just stayed at a hotel in the city. (We did this later, staying at the Royal Princess located in the night market area. Fabulous!)
I think the lovely owners could find a better way to address the location issues. They could perhaps offer free rides to the more happening areas of Chiang Mai, with the guest arranging their own transport back. They could perhaps work with a tour company and offer a limited list of tour options with pickup from the hotel at reasonable prices. They could find one or two honest tuktuk drivers to be available on-call for their guests. I'm sure they could think of many other ways to make the location more convenient. But until that happens, Ruen Come is not a place to stay if you want to explore and experience Chiang Mai. Which is a pity, because otherwise the hotel is perfect.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Misahti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 18, 2012

Really enjoyed our stay at this beautifully maintained little hotel. The grounds are beautiful and the rooms are spotless. The toiletries are good quality and we loved the jacuzzi tub in our room and the walk-in rain-shower. There are traditional wicker flip-flops provided and comfy bath-robes.
The breakfast choice is quite good - I would suggested asking for eggs to be well done as they tend to really under-cook them with runny whites :-/
The dinners are delicious and their cooking class is really fun. We would totally be able to cook the same dishes at home, which is also practical for us. The owners are very friendly and if you're out late someone will wait for your return to close the gate/door after you.
This is also the downside though, as we felt we were putting them out by being out late. The location isn't the best though anyway if you wanna be heading out in town a lot, since you have to get them to drop you into town (at a cost) and you'd need a tuk-tuk to get back, unless you fancy renting a car.
They offer bikes free of charge, but wouldn't fancy trying to cycle there in the dark. It's not that far but it is about 15 mins away, so do keep that in mind.
The new pool is beautiful and it's a very relaxing location. The "curtains" are quite fine, so it doesn't feel entirely private at night-time.

Room Tip: Room did not feel very secure with double almost full glass doors locking with only a fine lock. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GaticaNera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

We really loved our stay at Ruen Come In! From almost the moment we arrived and were greeted by Montchai at the airport, we felt like very special guests and like family at the same time. The Ruen Come In is a beautiful guesthouse with a lovely story to go with it. Mai and Montchai are the thoughtful owners and if you get to know them even a little, you will not want to leave.

When we arrived, Mai helped us make some plans for our stay, loaned us bicycles, gave us directions and even escorted us by bike to the entrance of the old city to make sure we didn't get lost. On our third day in Chiang Mai, we took Mai's cooking class. She is such a treat! And she went above and beyond in every way, taking us to the market to buy the ingredients, helping us buy souvenirs along the way and just being herself--she is so much fun!!:-)

The design of the house is exquisite; the rooms are made of teak wood and while they have a rustic feel, they are appointed with modern fixtures and appliances. The bathroom was lovely with a bathtub with spa jets! The breakfast is amazing and plentiful and yummy-especially the pad thai (that we learned how to make!!) and the delicious coffee.

It's reasonably priced and so much cooler and more intimate than staying at a chain hotel. Don't miss it-it's truly a special place:-)

Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
2  Thank Janice S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2 mi away
Lanna Dusita Boutique Resort by Andacura
3.5 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#52 of 395 in Chiang Mai
955 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Peaberry
The Peaberry
#25 of 395 in Chiang Mai
270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#39 of 395 in Chiang Mai
977 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,135 reviews
2.3 mi away
Movenpick Suriwongse Hotel Chiang Mai
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ruen Come In? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ruen Come In

Address: 79 / 3 Sirithorn Rd. | Chang Phueak, Chiang Mai 50300, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $50 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Ruen Come In 3.5*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ruen Come In is a boutique teakwood resort decorated in contemporary-northern Thai style. Please come and enjoy our family style accommodation and dine savory Thai & northern Thai dishes from our family recipes at Ruen Come In restaurant in the same compound. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Ruen Come In reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing