We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Resort turned a lovely trip to a fantastic time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Oriental Siam Resort
Ranked #50 of 388 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed here for four days with our three month old baby and a visiting friend. The staff make you feel like returning family from the moment you arrive. Travelling with a young baby, even an hours flight from Bangkok, is not easy, and the staff went beyond what we expected of hotel staff. The nicest touch was a real cot, made up with the resorts own bedding was waiting for our sleeping son. Something so simple made our lives so much easier.

The service did not end here. The staff were proactive in arranging transportation into Chiang Mai, to the local attractions and the shopping districts. The restaurant served a small selection of good aithentic Thai food. I have lived in Thailand for two years and this was amongst the best Thai food I have had.

Parts of the resort are next to a temple and a school. This means you can be woken by chanting or the beginning of the school day. The resort is outside of Chiang Mai and taxis from there struggle to locate its location. But the staff provided us with an annotated map as well as their mobile numbers so they could talk to the drivers in Thai if necessary.

Location aside, we would recommend this resort to friends and family looking for a relaxing place to explore Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Oriental Siam Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

161 - 167 of 278 reviews

Reviewed August 9, 2012

My wife and I stayed for 6 nights and we felt we were being treated like family. I arrived with an injured knee. They took me to the hospital, waited while as being seen, provided all their help during my recovery and attended to all our needs. It was a great experience. I can't say enough to show how much we enjoyed staying there and how much we appreciated their attention.

The place: It is just beautiful, perfect to get away from the city environment and to relax. Not a big resort; however, the way it is set up gives you all the privacy you may need as a couple or family. The rooms are very clean and well equipped. You have the option to dine at restaurant or with more privacy just by your room. You can spend a lot of time outside in the garden, by the pool or the pond. The food is good and at very reasonable prices. We enjoyed having breakfast by the pond. It was just so peaceful.

The people: It is evident the owners love their resort. They spend so much time caring for the place and the visitors. They also do a good job at transmitting the idea to their staff. They were all polite, attentive and more than anything, caring. I can honestly say they brought me back to health and we were able to continue with our vacation. They answered our questions and provided good unbiased advice on tours and activities. The driver (Pon) is a great guy to talk to and trust that he will take you to the right places to make your visit great.

The location: Easy access to town by taxi. If you want to see Chiang Mai but still have a feeling of solitude, this is the place. The great thing about it is that it combines the experience of a resort with the local life. We walked around and found little shops, a very local restaurant with excellent food, vendors, schools, etc. We really enjoyed seeing the real local Thai people around the resort.

We will certainly go back to this resort. Many of the reviewers got it right, it is a gem and paradise!

Room Tip: Talk to Ponsee (sorry if the name is mispelled) and Peter, the owners. They are great and will give...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

As I sit down to write this review, I am trying to think of what I can say that has not already been said! The place is beautiful, the garden tropical and green with beautiful flowers. The rooms are nice and clean, the bathroom gigantic, the breakfast tasty ( I miss the omelette!), the location quiet and peaceful and the service really good.If you want a designer hoel with all the latest in equipment and fashion this is not the place to go. If you want peace, are travelling with active children and need to be in a family setting with spacious clean rooms...this is more than perfect.

The staff are wonderful. It never failed to amaze me how they were always ready to help, yet always so discreet. They had great suggestions on places to eat and visit. Please speak to Dawan and Pom about this. They are experts and turned what would have been a normal holiday into something memorable,

Whenever our 3 year old son stepped outside, he was surrounded by his devout followers! They would take him to play with the electrical cars outside, hand him ceramic hanging monkeys in the restaurant, play a game of hide and seek, hug him and even one night after visiting the night market, hand him a cup of milk before he went to bed. He was upset on the first day when the battery ran out of his "motorbike" so they charged it overnight and there it was waiting for us the next morning.

Our stay at this resort is one we will always remember and we want to say another big thank you for making Chiang Mai feel like home. We remember you all and wish to now say a special thank you to Dawan and Pom, for their tour suggestions and Pom for his knowledge and patience and the wealth of information he shares. Thanks for taking me on the Deep Fried Banana hunt Pom. We got it in the end thanks to you! We missed saying goodbye to you and wish you all the best. To Fern and Eye at the reception and restaurant - I hope you can now rest from handing Daniel monkeys every time we were there. your smiles and kindness were very much appreciated. Pongsri ( I hope I'm spelling your name correctly), thank you for the care and attention you gave to us and to Daniel, and for the hugs when we left. I felt like I was leaving a family member behind. In fact Daniel said that he was sorry you were all going to be sad because he had left! He knew he was the centre of attention!

Mr. Peter or as we came to calling you privately "Superman" - thanks for the beautiful garden and your mobile phone! I love to garden and enjoyed seeing you taking care of your plants and everything else on the property.

The only suggestions I can give for improvement are the following:
1) The orange juice. It would be much better to get fresh orange juice or offer another fresh tropical juice( watermelon, passion fruit whatever you can find). We were not too keen on the pre-made version.
2) The mattress in Daniels bed was quite hard. He said it was fine and did not want to change it but whenever I sat on his bed I realised that I would not be able to sleep on it.

We say thank you again and hope to see you on our next trip to Chiang Mai, whenever we make it back to Thailand. We wish you all the best for the future.

Please visit with your family. This place is ideal.

Big hugs and smiles,

Daniel, Jane and Alex.

Room Tip: Ninneth is fine for a couple and one child. It has its own garden at the back and the room is spacio...
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2012

This resort is the place to be in Chiang Mai. Just 10 taxi minutes out of the city, you feel like you have arrived in paradise. Beautiful garden with a nice swimming pool and villa's surrounding. All the people are incredibly nice (often they serve you with three in the same time). Good a la carte breakfast, private driver available for all the drives to the city.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TasmanianTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2012

My wife and I spent 12 nights in the Jasmine suite in May 2012. We decided to stay here based on the favorable reviews, especially regarding service. If anything, the reviews understated the exceptional level of service that we received. There is truly nothing that is too much effort for the staff and we felt like part of the family while staying here. Peter and Pongsi are exceptional owners/hosts and gave us much advice on the area. We used the resort's driver, Pom, and we had many good conversations while going places. He will get you to places the usual tourist may not see like seeing a 2-month old baby elephant at Maesa elephant camp. He also had some excellent recommendations on restaurants (see our other reviews). The young ladies who work the restaurant area are outstanding with always a bright smile on their faces.

It was my wife's b'day while we were there and I had arranged a suprise b'day party. Dinner menu was specifically picked and eaten on the wood deck over the pond. There were balloons around the restaurant area and rose petals in the shape of a heart on the ground next to the table, flowers delivered to our room and on the dining table. After we'd eaten one of their nieces did a traditional Thai dance. We then had cake with the entire staff singing happy b'day. This was followed by fireworks and then a balloon that is powered by a candle type device. It was a memorable evening and one that I probably won't be able to top!

The room was exceptional and there were always different decoration themes on the bed everyday. There were times we treated Pom to lunch or dinner and we were treated to lunch on a trip one day by Pongsi. On a couple of occasions we purchased mangos at the market and asked if they could be cut up and put in the pancakes..no problem, done. We also purchases passion fruit and asked if they could be squeezed for juice, again no problem, done. This is a place where you aren't just a number, you get 5-star service with a feeling of being a family member. We can't recommend OSR enough, we'd stay here again without a second thought. Thank you to Peter, Pongsi and your outstanding staff for a vacation we'll never forget!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chessmaster_ted
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2012

My wife and I stayed here for the Chiang Mai portion of our Thailand honeymoon. The rooms, though not decked out in marble and stainless steel fixtures, were clean and very spacious (we stayed in the Jasmine Honeymoon Suite Villa). What really sets this hotel apart is the service. One morning my wife asked if they had congee available for breakfast. The server politely informed her that they didn't have any prepared - it was typically a lunch dish. No biggie - their waffles, toast, juice and fresh fruit were perfectly scrumptious. The next morning however, without a word from us, the server brought out hot congee. The staff had remembered and made it especially for her!

We experienced this kind of personalized service from everyone there, from the housekeeping staff to the driver to the security guard. They were all fully dedicated to our happiness while we were there, and not in a "I want a big tip" kind of way, but in a "you're family" kind of way. Would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank piyopiyo13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2012

Beautiful, peaceful, tranquil gardens to really unwind. The owners and staff were very friendly and welcoming, making us feel like family. The Lotus three bedroom villa was clean, all modern amenities, comfortable. Quality of craftsmanship of furniture and buildings, a combination of carved teak and rosewood was in keeping with the old world tradition. Excellent service and tasty breakfast. Temple and Wednesday market was a treat. Location away from crowded areas a plus. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bobeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
2.5 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.8 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#42 of 388 in Chiang Mai
938 reviews
3.3 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#38 of 388 in Chiang Mai
497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#32 of 388 in Chiang Mai
1,191 reviews
7.0 mi away
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
Kiree Thara Boutique Resort
#125 of 388 in Chiang Mai
58 reviews
3.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 388 in Chiang Mai
983 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oriental Siam Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oriental Siam Resort

Address: 40/1 Moo 2, Tambon Tasala | Amphur Muang, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#15 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#35 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $51 - $174 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Oriental Siam Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oriental Siam Resort is situated within 15 minutes from the airport & city centre, only 5-10 minutes from the Arts & Crafts villages, restaurants, shopping mall. There are many tourists attractions nearby such as hot springs, cave, Underground Ancient City, golf courses and sport activities for the thrill seekers. At The Oriental Siam Resort, our English, Chinese and Dutch speaking staff promise you an experience you will never forget. Unlike any other resort in the area, each of our accommodations has its own design and characteristics. You will be touched by its elegance and simplicity with smiling faces are everywhere to embrace you like you are a part of the family. The details of each room were painstakingly researched from the ancient-Lanna era. The resort OSR offers 8 types of accommodations on a grand scale from 60 m² to 300 m². The balconies of the colonial suites enhance the senses of our guests in terms of open space and palatial living. Oriental Siam Resort is ideal for chic visitors seeking sophisticated characteristics of city, along with the luxurious facilities for your comfort. The Oriental Siam Resort is more than just a place to stay, we provide service to the highest standard and will help you make the most of your stay in Chiang Mai. The luxurious facilities and serene atmosphere provide an environment to relax and enjoy after a day of sightseeing or a round of golf at the beautiful local courses. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Oriental Siam Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oriental Siam Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing