We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Mexican Restaurant in Chiang Mai” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew

The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew
Ranked #116 of 2,025 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Japan
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Chiang Mai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Clean, good tasting food, good margaritas. AC, and friendly staff with reasonable prices. It is near "Central Mall" across from the Shell gas station, so it is easy to find.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    122
    41
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Malaysia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“Super huge meals”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2014

We had the combo sets and I must say that the portions are extremely huge. The food is super-delicious and the portions are fresh-tasting. I dare say that this is probably one of the 3 best existing Mexican restaurants in Asia. The price is also reasonable considering how much food you have and how good it tastes.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank pianocello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coombabah, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent mexican to take the missus too!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014 via mobile

Really nice little mexican restaurant!! Went for the chicken chimichanga and it was awesome!!! Came with two homemade salsa's which were nice and spicy and the guacamole is well worth adding to your meal!! Staying off the booze so opted for a freshly squeezed lemonade which was beaut!! The place got packed quickly with other couple so get down early, Overall a nice place to eat with a good atmosphere..check it out!!

Helpful?
Thank dingo_dave_yeah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2014

We're from California but living Beijing. Salsa kitchen was such a great surprise we ate there twice.
For more pictures and information about our Thailand trip, follow the link to our blog:
http://www.freeradicalsinchina.com/2014/01/rumpus.html

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Britt F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
258 reviews
166 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
“Pleasant Surpise in Chiang Mai”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

The Salsa Kitchen was a breath of fresh air in Chiang Mai. I love Thai food as much as the next guy, but my party was surely glad to discover this unexpected gem. The menu covers the standard variety of Mexican food very successfully, but also has some fun flourishes like the use of the sweet potato. Also, this place is gluten free, which made all of the difference for our party. We had no complaints and I found myself longing to go back the next day.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RPH80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing