We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lots of great choices” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew

The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew
Ranked #109 of 2,028 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $10
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Latin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Toronto
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lots of great choices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

I ate here several times during my last stay in Chiang Mai. Everything I tried...flautas, nachos, tacos....was excellent. Portions are huge, you will never leave hungry! Prices are very reasonable, especially given the amount of food. The atmosphere was relaxed and friendly. A great option if you are looking for an alternative to Thai food.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank NormanToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    123
    42
    26
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“HUGE PORTIONS!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013

If you're hungry, this is the place to go if you like Mexican food- except for the nachos! Instead of the normal pile of chips dressed w/ cheese, beans, guac, etc, they dress each chip individually and there not a lot of chips :-( That said, the salads could be split by two people as well as other dishes :-)

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank ChiangMaiDreamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhorn, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good mexican”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

Food here was great at a reasonable price. I paid 180 baht for a huge chicken burrito with some nacho chips. Service was slightly slow but the food more than made up for it.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shifter666
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Uninspired”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Nice enough decor and a large selection of food on the menu, all the usual basic Mexican choices that you would expect and nothing more. The food arrived extremely quickly, it wasn't piping hot which strongly suggests nothing is cooked to order, just plated up as needed. Big portions with a decent selection of the usual salsa, soured cream and refried beans which were all nice enough, but nothing special. Will probably go back again, but not in a hurry.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Bel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Beach, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Decent Tasting, Mexican-Like Food, At Affordable Prices. Good Margarita Pitcher.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2013

It's often hard to find Mexican food in Thailand, and when I lived in Pathumthani, there was almost none. So it's a great pleasure to have a decent Mexican restaurant close to where I'm living now in Chiang Mai. The location of Salsa Kitchen on Huaykaew Road is very convenient for most people in Chiang Mai, particularly foreigners. When we went, it was almost all foreigners, that is, not Thai people, eating there, though the staff, who were friendly, were all Thai.
The food was fairly tasty, though somewhat different than most Mexican food I've ever had, and I've had a lot, having lived for a long time in California. The steak fajtas came with a ton of delicious steak, but it was not served very hot on a sizzling platter like almost always occurs. And the vegetable and cheeses were also not hot, though tasty. My only complaint was that there were not enough tortillas to hold all that meat, one more would have been good.
The ambiance was also decent, though not really a true festive Mexican feel to it. No strolling troubadours, for example. Still, the Margarita pitcher made us think we were in a Mexican atmosphere.
The entries started at about $ 5 to 6 U.S., so not too expensive, and the pitcher was a good bargain for drinks. The food portions were also ample. The appetizer was reasonably tasty also, and our whole bill for two people came to about $ 24. Not cheap by Thailand standards, but certainly very affordable by U.S. standards, and reasonable for a farand (foreigner) living here on Thailand wages for farand.
I'll definitely go back, though the food and atmosphere in that superb Mexican restaurant in Bangkok (near Insomniac, I forget the name) were definitely better for about the same cost.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank William L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to The Salsa Kitchen - Huay Kaew? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing