We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Le Grand Lanna - Not as good as I expected” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Le Grand Lanna

Le Grand Lanna
Ranked #62 of 2,025 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Business meetings, Families with children, Large groups, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Valet Parking, Validated Parking, Waitstaff
Description: Speciality Thai restaurant with seating for 180. Cuisine is from both Northern and Central Thailand. Le Grand Lanna is set in a cluster of traditional Lanna style buildings. A Thai Classical Dance Show entertains guests nightly. The restaurant is open for both lunch and dinner.
Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Le Grand Lanna – Not as good as I expected”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

We were highly recommended this restaurant for its setting and food.
Despite the distance from the town, we did not mind taking a cab to reach the restaurant.

Though the outside of the restaurant is beautiful – it being in the grounds of the Mandarin Oriental Hotel, we were not able to admire it as we arrived at 7.30pm. Our late booking also resulted in us having the indoor seating away from the stage area. But we did not mind missing the performance - as it was the usual run of the mill performance. The dancers did dance their way into our room occasionally and that was good for photo taking.

The staff is polite but service was slow. The food was good authentic Northern Thai cuisine but nothing outstanding or exceptional. But the beef dish in particular was not good – tough and the marinade was not tasty - we could not finish it.

We were in a group of 4. We ordered a set dinner for 2 as well as a seafood set for 2.
Both sets came with a plate of appetizers to share (one piece per person/or to be shared by 2), and a bowl of soup each. For each set, there were 4 entrees to be shared between 2 people. The meal ended with fruits and thai dessert served individually.

The price was indeed exorbitant for a substantial though less than perfect meal.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DIAMONDROSES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    40
    19
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Best Thai food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

The food is great, I got the Thai sampler for 1 person (it may be available if you ask), and it is really A LOT OF food, but everything is supreme!!
I made a reservation to watch the show from 19 to 20h during dinner, but since I was solo, they gave me the worse table possible, so I had to stand up to watch the show.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank gemignani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cairo, Egypt
Level Contributor
113 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent food and Ambiance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

A really nice restaurant with authentic Thai food and compared to the quality and setting very reasonably priced. Baring in mind you are in the Dhara Dhevi ... Service as everywhere was impeccable and every night from 8 -9 PM there is a dinner show which is very authentic compared to other cheap touristic shows. Probably also as it is frequented by many Thai..

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lmourey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baton Rouge, Louisiana
Level Contributor
62 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Perfect for a special night out”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

My husband and I had dinner here on our recent anniversary trip to Thailand. I made reservations prior to our trip very easily by filling out a request form on their website. I was contacted by email immediately confirming my reservation. I told them it was our anniversary and when we arrived our table had the best view of the Lanna dance show. The show starts at 8 and is an hour long. All our food was fantastic, especially the curries. Our favorite part of the meal was actually the signature MO Chiang Mai martini. It had vodka, honey, and lemongrass. It was the best cocktail I've ever had! The service was wonderful and they even provided a great bug spray just in case. Get to the restaurant early to walk around the beautiful grounds of the hotel. The menu is more expensive than most restaurants in Chiang Mai, but still cheaper than what you would get for the same thing in the states.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MichelleDyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phetchabun, Phetchabun, Thailand
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Excellent Food and Nice Show”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was there since hotel still not official-opening,
Set Menu is recommended for everyone,
Wine prices are reasonable,(better)

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank TheEating
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Lanna also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Le Grand Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing