We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular food, interesting show”
Review of Le Grand Lanna

Le Grand Lanna
Ranked #88 of 2,143 Restaurants in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Speciality Thai restaurant with seating for 180. Cuisine is from both Northern and Central Thailand. Le Grand Lanna is set in a cluster of traditional Lanna style buildings. A Thai Classical Dance Show entertains guests nightly. The restaurant is open for both lunch and dinner.
Milan
Level 6 Contributor
79 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Regular food, interesting show”
Reviewed July 15, 2012

We had a dinner with traditional Thai dancers show. The scenario is outstanding even if it feels like an overpriced "Disneyland" in a secluded location. We really enjoyed the show, the food was good and the service adequate. Can't tell about price/service ratio since the dinner was part of a tour package.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Skymax1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

237 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    43
    20
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Food and Service overrated.”
Reviewed July 1, 2012

Seeing the Mandarin Oriental hotel itself is quite an experience but save yourself money and have dinner elsewhere. Very average food with very expensive prices.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank denalitraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
320 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 207 helpful votes
“Best Thai Resturaunt in Chiang Mai”
Reviewed June 23, 2012

My favorite Thai restaurant in Chiang Mai, I dine here very regularly. Located in the grounds of the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi in a traditional Thai Lanna style building. Food and service is absolutely AMAZING. If it is a nice night, I definitely recommend sitting outside - the setting is absolutely stunning, but if the weather is a little bit off or too hot, they have indoor air-con and undercover tables. If you are looking for an all over first class experience then this one will be very hard to beat indeed. The menu has traditional Thai dishes with a good selection of northern Thai dishes as well. I highly recommend the following dishes which I have all tried, Cow Pad Gung (Prawn Fried Rice), Gai Pad Med (Chicken and Cashews), Poo Jaa (Soft Shell Crab), Kratium Prik Thai Gung (Prawns with Garlic and Pepper).

Perfect night would be arriving at 6pm for a few drinks at The Horn Bar (at the Hotel reception.lobby). Happy hour from 6pm to 8pm daily, then arriving at Le Grand Lanna in time to see the traditional Thai show that is on every night at 8pm.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thespgtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jomtien Beach, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It should better than this..”
Reviewed June 19, 2012

The food taste not as we expected. Tom Yum Goong we order was not good seem they cook in the big pot and split the portion when guest order. Geang Ho was not northern style too much sweet. My experience restaurant in 6 stars resort should be better than this. Overall staff are friendly and attentiveness.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“beautiful dinner”
Reviewed May 15, 2012

We went to Le Grand Lanna for a dinner and made an excellent choice. The service was great, the food tasty and well presented, the 'show' was good and not too long or loud, overall, we loved the place. The value is not cheap, but totally appropriate to the place ( inside Mandarin Oriental hotel).

  • Visited March 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ukraniana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Le Grand Lanna also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Le Grand Lanna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing