We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #25 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 24, 2009

The staff were very friendly, the service was excellent, the food was delicious, the pool was clean and modern and the appartment was pristine. I was very impressed with my stay, it was by far the best hotel that we stayed at during our trip to Thailand. The hotel really made my stay in Chiang Mai!

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ReggieReg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

715 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    368
    267
    61
    10
    9
See reviews for
150
257
64
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2009

This hotel had it all we had an upgrade on arrival and were somewhat supprised with size of the bathrooms seperate power shower flat screen tv one in the bedroom and one in the loungue washing machine cooker large fridge ect ect the bed was huge and im 205 cm tall it was a real shame that we couldnt stay there for longer as we only had 4 nights there.the staff were all genuinglly happy and not just wearing a smile.shame about the location allthough very close to the airport.the main part of chiang mai was a five minute ride away and the area which was a bleasing as the town did seem to be more inkeeping to the traditional architecture and ambience of thailand so it was refreshing that chiang mai kept its culture and was not a concreet jungle of overtowering hotels spoiling the great mounting views from the idelic city.Recomend the shooting range,and elephant treaking,rafting in this part of thailand.you are also in the flightpath of the airport but there was only two planes that i remeber on the whole trip,and it was not a problem as the rooms seemed very well sound proofed.dont let this put you off a great hotel......

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hairyspaniard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed August 27, 2009

I selected a package deal from the hotel website that included transfers,accomodation & breakfast.I specified my flight number & arrival time & sent a reminder but on arrival there was no one there to greet me,waited 45 minutes then caught a cab to the hotel.On arrival told the check in girl that they were supposed to pick me up from the airport...yes sir we made a mistake,sorry & she offered me 140 bath compensation which I refused.(I felt bad to take it) The rooms are large & well appointed,modern & clean,I had a 1 bedroom overlooking the pool.The facilities are great,Ate at the restaurant everyday sometimes lunch & dinner,food good staff great,met the manager in the lobby & commended him on his staff & restaurant.Stayed 5 days,location abit out of the way,100 bath & 15 minutes to town,night market all the action...Now comes the bad bit...on checking out & paying my bill the girl at the cashier went through the phone calls restaurant food & accomodation I paid,then I noticed an item she avoided & did not tell me about on the bill titled "miscellaneous" 15 bath...(50 cents)so I asked her..what is that?She left me to serve someone else without answering...After a few minutes returned to say "the glass you broke in your room."After spending 12600 bath accomodation & food & not accepting their compensation of 140 bath for the taxi(because I felt bad),they charged me for a flimsy glass I broke for 50 cents & lost a customer for life!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank windyhabour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
marketingCPH, The management at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, September 30, 2009
Dear Sir / Madam,

I would like to thank you for feedback regarding your recent stay at the Kantary Hills Hotel in Chiang Mai and to take this opportunity to respond to some of the comments you have made.

Our failure to pick you up at the airport is entirely our fault and we are very sorry it happened. Let me assure you it is not a common occurrence but one we take seriously when it does. I am glad to see you note in your comments that we offered to pay for your cab. You may also have mentioned that we upgraded you from a studio room to a one bedroom apartment for the entire length of your stay at no extra cost as a further means of compensating you for your trouble.

As for the incident regarding the broken glass, I agree with you that it was a trifling matter and the cost too small to have bothered to mention. However, in defense of our staff, it has been hotel policy that any damage to a room or its contents by a guest be reported and that that guest is charged for the damage they have caused. Failure to do so may result in that staff member being charged for the damaged item. I can assure you that if the matter had been referred to any of the management team you would not have been charged for the glass and the matter would have been dropped. Unfortunately this did not happen, highlighting a significant flaw in our policy.

So, as a consequence of your complaint, we are changing our policy regarding damaged goods for not only Kantary Hills in Chiang Mai but for all our properties in Thailand. This includes all hotels and serviced apartments in the Cape, Kantary and Kameo Groups. From now on, any damage which can be reasonably called ‘normal wear and tear”, such as a broken glass, will not be charged to any guests account but rather absorbed by the hotel. Any staff member who is unsure what to do in a particular case will be instructed to immediately refer the matter to management. In this way we hope to avoid a similar occurrence to the one you experienced.

One last thing I would like to comment on is your remarks regarding the taxi fees to downtown. It sounds like you took a private taxi/ Tuk Tuk that costs about 80-120 baht one way. However, there are other options. Kantary Hills offers transportation from the hotel to downtown by a limousine (3 seats with AC) for 170 baht per trip one way and by van (maximum 9 seats with AC) for 250 baht per trip one way. If you prefer cheaper transportation, in Chiang Mai there are what are called "red trucks" (like an open-air minibus) shared by anyone going in the same direction. The regular price for a red truck is 20 baht per person from Kantary Hills to the city center (negotiation and agreement on price before boarding is recommended). The point is there are many transport options and prices available.

I thank you for taking the time to write the above review of our hotel and am glad to see your stay was on the whole a very enjoyable one

Regards

The Management
Kantary Hills Hotel and Serviced Apartments
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2009

This was such a lovely place to stay, out of the hussle and bussle of Chiang Mai and had lovely shops nearby. The staff were so accomodating and the rooms were amazing. The pool was great along with Jacuzzi and steam rooms. I would recommend for anyone to stay in this great hotel The breakfast was lovely and the resturant within the hotel was delicious.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Likes2travel37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,834 reviews
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#6 of 383 in Chiang Mai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing