We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here if you are in Chaing Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #27 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 9, 2009

We booked this hotel for 4 nights as part of our tour of Northern Thailand. The serviced apartment could not be faulted, it was spacious, well equiped and cleaned to the highest standard. Whilst you are not in the center of Chaing Mai it is only a 5 minute TukTuk ride away. It really is about time the UK provided this type of accommodation, service and price.

  • Stayed: February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HKP7oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (752)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

550 - 556 of 752 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2009

The Kantary Hills Hotel is located on the eastern end of Chiang Mai, close to the Chiang Mai University and off the Nimmanhaemin area, a rather upcoming area with tons of cafes, cute shops, and stores.

The rooms are all suites, some studio, 1BR, etc. They all contain a kitchenette (burners, sink, microwave, and refrigerator). the 1BRs have washing machines as well. There is a sitting area with a sofa and table. Flat screen TV as well.

HIgh speed internet is available for a cost (in the room), wi-fi in public areas is free though the speed varied from very good in the beginning of the trip to ridiculously slow that it wasn't even worth getting on the internet. There is a business center with two stations, but they charge for internet/printing use.

The rooms were very well appointed and clean, bed was spacious and comfortable, bathroom was very nice with both shower and bath tub and rather spacious. Could not complain.

The hotel had travel services downstairs with World Travel which we had reservations for 1 day trip. There is a cafe/bakery on site, and a restaurant. Breakfast was included in our price which was reasonable for Feb (high season near the lunar new year). The breakfast consisted of both asian (japanese/thai/chinese stuff) as well as the usual western (made to order eggs, bacon, sausage, cereals, fruits, yogurts, etc). There was also an executive lounge as well which was open during the day for coffee/tea as well as fruits and snacks and newspapers.

Location was convenient (while not in the old city) you could get around by tuk-tuk anywhere you need to go it's usually 20baht per person. the nearby area had lots of cute cafes and restaurants as well as shoppes.

  • Stayed: February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Trekkersocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 7, 2009

We stayed here in late October for 4 nights. The place is very clean and an amazing deal. We booked through Agoda.com and got a 1 bedroom suite for about $65 per night. The washing machine was a pleasant and welcome surprise.
The pool and fitness center are spotless, the morning buffet is huge, and the staff was helpful and attentive. The hotel is a place for business travellers (we noted that the Bangkok Post had advertising for it). While we were there, the University nearby was hosting international academic visitors at our hotel. It seems to get a mix of tourists, long-stay or Thai nationals.

The staff told us about a little restaurant on Soi 13 called Toang (sign in Thai, but menus are English) serving Lanna Thai food. Outdoor garden dining was very nice, and the prices were rock bottom and food was terrific.

Another plus was that the hotel is a block from Chiang Mai University Convention Hall, which is surrounded by a fitness park and botanical garden. We took a morning jog and got some fresh air and exercise. That's not easy to do in much of Chaing Mai's city-center. But Kantary Hills is just a little outside the center, and the atmosphere is a world apart.

Friends who were staying at other hotels in the area couldn't believe how nice this hotel compared to the places they had chosen, same price.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ScottNewportCoast_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 12, 2009

very bad staff ever met, we book 2 rooms but they put us apart from each other, so we have to change 1 room. The reception tell us to get out that room immediately and ask us to tell housekeeping to clean for everything we use (bed ,bathroom ,etc.). They give us 1 key card so we ask for another one, they said it out of stock and we ask for 1 blanket, they ask for 350 bath more. We have an extra bed but they didn't give us breakfast coupon, the restaurant didn't let us have breakfast until we give them the significant coupon. This is the worst hotel I ever stay in my life

  • Stayed: January 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank pam72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2009

LOCATION: The neighborhood is booming. The main drag is covered in restaurants, food stalls, shopping centers, spas, and all necessities of tourist life. Try our favorite noodle place, Khun Mor, on Soi 17, a quick walk from the hotel. A short tuk-tuk ride away is the Central shopping center, one of the city's best malls.

APPEARANCE: Brand new, spotless, with a staff fanatically devoted to polishing the marble floors. The lobby is airy, cool, modern, in neutrals and wood, and not noticeably Thai, except for some subtle pieces of art in the lobby. Be wary of plopping down vigorously on the furniture in the lobby: you awaken clouds of napping mosquitoes.

BEDROOM: The rooms are large and attractive—we had a 1 bedroom suite—with washing machine, kitchenette, and separate (enormous) tub and shower with satisfying water pressure and temperature, all fixtures luxury standard. Vast bed, though pillows were loftier and firmer than I like. Complimentary water and toiletries every day. Mostly quiet, unless your neighbors are having a party. No mosquitoes, at least on the 4th floor.

SERVICE: The Swiss manager is friendly and helpful, and the staff is always ready to smile and cry out, "Sawadee ka!" However, the concierge services could be improved. There was one kind but slow fellow who responded to my question about finding a good Thai tailor by aimlessly riffling through various folders and drawers for ages, only to say at last would you come back tomorrow. Another time, a very pleasant woman, whom we asked about arranging travel to Vietnam, kept telling us she was trying to get through to an agent. When I checked back after a few days, she said, "I thought you had already gone." In the end, she gave us only the address of a travel agent in town, whom we had to see in person and explain everything to again.

FOOD: I felt the breakfast was not worth the price, since there are copious other options around the corner. It's an international buffet, OK but not as good as the best. The croissants were dependable, and the egg man fries up a decent egg (though the omelets are not very omelet-like). The coffee is ghastly, the juices unconvincing. Sadly, they present none of the amazing tropical fruit of Thailand and stick to familiar melons. I ordered room service once and it was just OK.

INTERNET: Connecting in your room costs extra (!) but there's free though slow wifi in the lobby. If you use the "business center," a single Windows machine with internet and a printer, they charge you per hour.

FITNESS CENTER, POOL, SAUNA: Great. Lovely enormous clean swimming pool on the 3rd floor. Sauna and steambath absolutely wonderful. Small gym with treadmills, elliptical, stationary bikes, weight machines, free weights, with an additional area for yoga mats and stretching. There is no spa service, but there are many spas for every budget nearby.

All in all, a handsome, ambitious though low-key serviced-apartments hotel, with luxurious details and design, friendly staff, terrific fitness center and pool, in one of the most exciting parts of town. I actually preferred the tiny Sira, with its enthusiastic, helpful, attentive staff, but with our fondness for khao soi noodles, we decided we needed that gym.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank brooklyngal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2009

I had stayed a week in October alone. It is a good serviced apartment over all but for a single girl who travels alone, this place has a subtle way to discriminate people. Reception was slow and not polite at all. I just didnt want to deal with them. Especially one mail staff kept bugging me whenever he sees me. He once found me at the library and asked me to put down my feet off the table. It was just the way he picks up on me all the time. I was disgusted. They look like getting business traveller not tourist business. And they will not be nice to you if you are Asian and if not Japanese.
Restaurant was very nice and polite and gym staff was good.

Stayed: October 2008
1  Thank tkahng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2009

this is a relative new hotel in Chiang Mai. It is not in the city centre, but in a nice suburb near the old town in stead. It is a more relaxed area, and cleaner too. Still very close to everywhere you want to go.

Our apartment had two spacious rooms with big TVs, small balcony and an ensuite. It was very clean and modern.

It also had a great pool.

It offers a quite extensive breakfast.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Eveliene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,897 reviews
3.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#29 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,119 reviews
1.9 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#36 of 392 in Chiang Mai
994 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Nimman Chiang Mai
U Nimman Chiang Mai
#18 of 392 in Chiang Mai
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $95 - $156 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing