We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“another calm and superb stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #25 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
europe
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“another calm and superb stay”
Reviewed June 9, 2013

I am staying here again for the second time and loving this place. There may be hotels with more stars or in the center of the city, but Kantary Hills is my ideal hotel when in Chiang Mai. Two years ago I stayed here and was blown away by the pampering and comfort -- and hoped I would return. I am lucky to be back now and enjoying a long term stay for work. The hotel is still lovely, well taken care of, offering numerous luxuries to its clients and maintaining the utmost in respect for those who stay here. The restaurant offers a large, wide variety of food for all meals, including its complimentary breakfast. It also offers themed dinners often like Mexican or French which are surprisingly good and authentic. The chefs are friendly, welcoming and truly care about what they do and the quality of their food. They come out to check with clients to make sure the food is good and are good natured about taking photos with eager guests. Sometimes locals also come to eat here, so that is a good sign in my book. The location remains perfect -- on a quiet side street but a two minute to the hip street Nimmanhaemin Rd with hundreds of restaurants, coffee shops, stores, etc including many 7-11s for any small items you want or need. The hotel offers a comfortable executive lounge, relaxing pool and hot tub area, gym, and bakery here you can buy more of your favorite goodies like banana bread or cheesecake for any cravings! The cost is worth it and quality is high. Eat Me café is a friendly café nearby, as is Salad Concept for a light dinner, Nails and Nails a great salon at the nearby Punna place area on Soi 6....so much to do and see and never enough time... the hotel is a great oasis to come back to each day after work or time out in the city . I highly recommend it again for short or long term stays.

Room Tip: if you can, get a 2 room suite for ultimate space and comfort, but the 1 room studios are plenty of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank europearoundtheworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, is pleased to have you back as a long term stay and thanks you for your informative review which should assist other readers, planning either a short term or long term stay in Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    366
    266
    61
    10
    9
See reviews for
148
256
64
87
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Stuttgart, Germany
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed June 8, 2013

The Hotel is located very near to the airport but I did not experience any problem with aircraft noise. You can exploit all the many shops near by easily by foot and there is plenty of choice of nearby restaurants.
The service is perfect and so is the choice of food for breakfast.
The only disadvantage is that you have to pay for Internet but the speed is quite good with 2Meg up and download using WIFI.

Room Tip: ...use TAXI from airport for 120Bath instead of limu service at 400Bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerhard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 11, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your informative and descriptive feedback. We look forward to serving you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2013

This five-star hotel certainly lives up to expectations. The upgrade I was given was highly appreciated, making my reason for staying there even more successful as I had space to complete my assessing project in comfort. As I am still recovering from a badly smashed ankle & need to use a stick, I was delighted to have such a beautiful pool to use for my hydrotherapy each morning and evening. The only drawbacks were that the tiles around the pool are ultra-slippery when wet - almost worse that walking on ice with leather soled shoes and the number of pigeons drinking & paddling at various times ! The staff were courteous and so helpful to me with my temporary disability. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judie2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, looks forward to welcoming you back again soon, is pleased to learn that your stay with us helped in your recovery, and thanks you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Waterford, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2013 via mobile

everything about this hotel was perfect (especially the bed). it had all the things you'd expect from a 5 star hotel. we were waited on hand and foot from the second we walked in. the rooms are huge and nicely furnished.
the swimming pool was clean and inviting.
the only thing that let it down was the service we received at dinner.
my partner and i ordered a starter and main course for dinner but for some reason they both came out at the same time and we had to stuff ourselves in order to eat it while it was still hot! also when we ordered dessert i was waiting for 15 minutes and it still hadn't arrived so i had to ask a waitress who got it for me but she didn't even apologise for the delay which was what annoyed me.
so on the whole it was a great hotel but the catering staff could do with some training.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maria D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your favourable feedback while the concerns with the catering wait staff have been shared with our team. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
211 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

This was a great location - surrounded by shops and restaurants. A great little village type group of shops 5 minutes down Nimmanheiman Rd. Great little restaurants in the surrounding Soi's. The hotel and staff are excellent. We couldn't have asked for a better place to stay and only a few baht to get to old town and night markets by tuk tuk. You can walk but it's a bit too hot.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for endorsing our property as a great location surrounded by what many guests want. Letting readers know our secret is appreciated. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hawley Beach, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

Great location, in a walking distance to the shopping street with many restaurants, spas, groceries and tuk tuks that may take you anywhere in the city. We stayed there for 3 nights. Our 1 bedroom apartment was really spacious, well equipped with kitchen and dining utensils, crockery, big fridge with freezer, microwave and washing machine. We had a good size bathroom with both shower and bathtub and the super king size bed with the most comfy pillows.Wide selection of breakfast menu. Fanastic fitness center with gym, swimming pool, hot jacuzzis and saunas, which was used by the hotel guests as well as the Chiang Mai residents with membership package. Overall very comfortable stay, close to all the attractions the city can offer.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, appreciates your informative review endorsing your enjoyable and pleasant 3 night stay with us and hopes to serve you again soon. Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol England
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This is a truly wonderful hotel - we had a marvellous two bedroom suite which had a lounge and kitchen area. The pool area was very good although there was not a lot of shade.

The beds were fine and the walk in shower was lovley.

We didn't find the reception staff particularly helpful - and sometimes the waiting staff in the dining room at breakfast were a little surly. On the whole the staff e.g. bell boys and cleaning staff were very friendly. Breakfast was very good with European and Asian choices - coffee was good and hot.

The drinks were expensive but they did run an early evening happy hour which was very welcome.

This hotel is on the outskirts of Chiang Mai but we found some nice restaurants a shortish walk down the high street. We also got a taxi into the Night Market which is a must - a wonderful place with no hard sell from the street vendors.

We would reccommend this hotel without reservation.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bluemary1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive recommendation of our property and hopes to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman
BED Nimman
#7 of 383 in Chiang Mai
438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing