We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel for exploring”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #26 of 375 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Herts
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good hotel for exploring”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We visited Chiang Mai with Kuoni on our honeymoon in November 2012 and stayed here for four nights finding it a great base for exploring the local area.

We stayed in a one bedroom apartment overlooking the front of the hotel and found it to be modern, comfortable and stylish - just what we were looking for. It was great to have a refrigerator (store some cheap beer from the supermarket) and we used washing machine (we bought some washing powder from the nearby 711 shop which was cheapish to freshen up some of our clothes)

We didn't really benefit from breakfast in the restaurant as every morning it was a quick run in, grab something and out to meet our tour guide. However on our last night we stayed in to have dinner at the Nimman Bar and Grill as we had an early flight and really enjoyed the thai food we had (some of the best from our trip actually!) We also enjoyed some drinks in the bar area most evenings before heading out for dinner and a walk.

We found it easy to get around with the red trucks and tuk-tuks although the area around isn't great for restaurants we were a bit disappointed having said that managed for the time we were there (just!)

Overall a great base for staying in Chiang Mai and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrazyClaireHerts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
The Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, thanks you for your positive review of your stay with us in November 2012, as a “Good hotel for exploring,” and “Overall a great base for staying in Chiang Mai and would recommend (it) to others.” Thank you for your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

693 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    261
    60
    10
    9
See reviews for
143
249
64
83
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
42 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

The rooms were immense, spotless and well set up. The hotel had 2 buildings. First choice would be building #1, we were in #2. Our room was a studio with king bed, very comfy. View looked out to a Condo building, not the best view in the world but we were hardly In the room. Buffet breakfast with egg station had all kinds of cuisine including Asian, vegetarian, Indian, and American. Yes , it's very close to the airport but noise never affected our sleep, and I'm a light sleeper. Pool was on 3rd floor with adjoining gym/spa, very nice. No children's pool. We don't need handicapped accessibility but it could be better.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zogrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
As a “Great hotel” with “immense, spotless, and well set up rooms” we thank you for your positive endorsement of your recent stay with us at the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai.We look forward to your soonest return. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

We stayed at Kantary for 3 nights during our honeymoon in late December 2012. The rooms were spacious and clean and generally we had no issues. The hotel appears to actually be serviced apartments and as such has a odd feeling about it - think more block of flats than actual hotel and you'll be along the right lines.

Not that this is a bad thing, it's just not quite what was expected. The provision if a washing machine was a huge plus point for us, as it allowed a quick refresh of all the clothes mid way through our 3 week trip around the country.

All in all a very good base, but not somewhere we would want to spend days and days inside the hotel.

Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Leejames1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Your positive comments, after your stay with us for 3 nights at the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, are welcomed. Thank you for your review and we hope to welcome you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2012

We used Escape Worldwide to book our holiday as this was the first time we had travelled to Thailand. After 4 nights in Bangkok, we travelled to Chiang Mai and stayed in the Kantary Hills.
The hotel was clean, staff helpful and very well placed,

I would recommend this hotel to anyone travelling to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 23, 2012
After your stay with us, at the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, on your “1st trip to Thailand,” we thank you for your endorsement “recommending this hotel to anyone travelling to Chiang Mai.” We hope to welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunbridge Wells
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Stayed for 3 nights as part of a longer tour around Thailand. Location is VERY close to the airport - the planes take off straight over the hotel and can be very loud, but the airport doesn't operate too late and is not the busiest so it's not a big issue and you'll probably be out exploring most of the time anyway. The hotel is a taxi or tuk-tuk ride away from the centre (c100 TBHT by tuk-tuk as there are very few taxis in Chiang Mai but we're talking £2 so no hardship. You could walk but it's a fair trek in that heat. The apartments are fine although my partner likened the smell in them to a Butlins chalet - didn't bother me but... Main downside for our room was that it was at the rear of the hotel which backs onto a nightclub. As a result, the balcony is glazed over - the glazing works quite well but there is still a little noise leakage into the room albeit it doesn't go on too late - my advice is to press hard for a room at the front. Beds huge and comfortable, decent bathroom.

Service was moderate - below usual Thai standards and arriving just before breakfast finished at 10 brought a fairly frosty response and a bit of a mad dash to get something to eat before everything was cleared.

Pool area good and a very good actual pool areas with several jacuzzis - actually a better pool than a much higher standard hotel in Bangkok.

A few negatives then but don't let that put you off - for a few days exploring it's fine.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front overlook the pool and have open balconies with furniture. Rooms at rear overlook...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
The Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai, thanks you for taking the time and making the effort to give us your feedback, after staying with us for 3 nights. Your descriptive review will assist other readers planning a stay in Chiang Mai. Thank you once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hemel hempstead
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

The Kantary Hills Hotel was situated on the North West side of Chiang Mai and was a short transfer from the airport. Our Kuoni rep along with the very accommodating staff made us welcome and directed us to a very large suite which consisted of a sittiing area and kitchen, large en suite bedroom and a small balcony. Once settled we took advantage of the novel first floor swimming pool and sun bathing area which also had a gym attached to it. The hotel had a small but adequate bar restaurant where we had our breakfast in the mornings and a few drinks in the evening. Our evening meals were enjoyed in a number of restaurants of the many that Chiang Mai has to offer. The Riverside was one that I would recommend. The night market was excellent but along with many restaurants it was situated on the East side of Chiang Mai. Even though the hotel would order you a taxi it is better to be more adventurous and take a Tuk Tuk. The trip across town took about 10-15 minutes and should cost you no more than 150 Bat. Haggling is a must both for Tuk Tuk's and buying at the market. We booked two trips while in Chiang Mai through Kuoni and both were superb. Vicky took us to see the elephants at the Elephant Training centre at Chiang Doa which was unbelievable and included a sedate raft trip down the river. She also took us to a food market, an orchid farm and we had lunch at a tiger sanctuary. Khwan another Kuoni rep took us to a temple up in the mountains and also to a Jade factory and shop. Both days were enhanced and made special by Vicky's and Kwan's expertise and friendly guidance. Out of Bangkok, Chiang Mai and Phuket, Chiang Mai was special, even though we loved the others as well. Thailand is amazing but it is the people that make it special.

Room Tip: As said once before a big suite is not always necessary to enjoy your holiday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saracens_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Your positive endorsement of the Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai, is appreciated while your informative review will be useful to other readers planning to stay with us. Thank you for mentioning our accommodating staff, as well as the Kuoni staff, by name, which has passed on to them. Thank you also for taking the time and making the effort to give us your positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

We stayed at the Kantary Hills Hotel and Serviced Apts fm 16/11/12 to 21/11/12. Ours was a studio apt and it was spacious enough as there were only 2 of us.

Check in was a breeze and our room was ready for us even though we arrived earlier at 12.30pm. Counter staff spoke passable English too so communication wasn't too much of a hassle either.

Amenities -

The hotel has ample car parking space and that was a boon for us as we usually self drive during our holiday in Thailand. Had some rather unpleasant parking problem elsewhere before, so being able to just easily drive straight in to the basement carpark of the hotel was definitely a plus point for us.

Swimming pool looks nice though we did not try it. Gym was pretty well equipped. They even have an 'ice-station' on the 3rd floor (just outside the gym), where you can get all the ice you need for that drink to cool you off in the hot weather. Really convenient for people like me who always needs to find a closeby 7-11 to buy packets of ice while on hol.

Room -

No complaints about the room either. Everything works as it should. The air con was powerful and efficient. Hot water in the shower works like a charm and the water pressure was great too.

The bed must be one of the largest I had ever seen in a hotel. Looks like a super King-sized bed to me and its also just right for a good night rest - not too hard nor too soft. Pillows were the thick fluffy type providing good support for the head, unlike some places whose pillows become flat like pancakes the moment u rest on them.

The studio apt comes with a functional kitchenette that has all the necessary items like cooking stoves, toaster, microwave oven, hot water boiler, full-sized fridge, washing sink and all the essential pots and cutleries. 2 bathrobes and slippers are also provided. Room safe is adequate and is very easy to operate. Electrical power socket points are the 2-holes type and for those who need the 3-holes kind, adaptor is available on request from the reception (free of charge).

Breakfast and room service -

Have to disagree with one of the review earlier about the breakfast provided.

We found the International breakfast buffet provided at the Nimman Bar & Grill restaurant of the hotel, a delight ! The place was large enough to accomodate the patrons comfortably even on days when there was a crowd. Ample seatings are available outdoor too. The food were one of the best that we ever had for a breakfast buffet spread and it was top up frequently. The menu also varied slightly daily, so one doesnt get tired of having the same stuffs everyday. Staff were attentive and polite. Eating there every morning was something we look forward to everyday. Nice food and nice environment - no complaints at all.

We had also tried their room service and found the food was pretty good too. Prices were very reasonable for a hotel standard. So, if you are feeling a little bit peckish after all those shoppings and wanna have a bite in the comfort of your room, I strongly recommend their room service. Cheap and good. MUST try their tom yom soup. Simply delicious ! :D

Location & places of interest nearby -

The location of the hotel is also pretty convenient. It is situated abt 150m in a very walkable lane off the main road. By car, from the airport to hotel it is only abt 5km (15 mins drive). To town - the Chiang Mai Night Bazaar area (Kalare and Anusarn Walking streets), the Saturday Night Market and the Sunday Night Market - it is also just a 15 min drive away.

The popular Doi Suthep National Park and Temple is also very close by. Just abt 3.5 km away, a 10 mins drive ( if there is no traffic jam, that is ). Places of interest here will be the Huay Kaew Waterfall, the Monthathan Waterfall, Wat Doi Suthep (temple at the top of the mountain) and Bhupin Palace. The palace is now under renovation though and is closed to the public for a year. So currently all you can see there are just the plants and flowers.

Had enjoyed a wonderful stay in this hotel during my Chiang Mai holiday and would strongly recommend it to others. Good value for money.

Room Tip: Lift only goes up highest to the 5th floor. Higher than that you would need to take the stair.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lucas4060
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
The positive review of the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, after your recent stay with us as a “Great stay at the Kantary Hills,” and that you “would strongly recommend it to others, as good value for money,” is appreciated. Your description of the various amenities, facilities, dining, services, and location will be very helpful to other readers visiting Chiang Mai and deciding where to stay. Thank you for your time and effort in endorsing our operation and service and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Art Mai Gallery Nimman Hotel Chiang Mai By Compass Hospitality
3.1 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
BED Nimman Hotel
BED Nimman Hotel
#6 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
3.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 375 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Property: Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#18 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 4*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing