We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just like the website pictures!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai
Ranked #27 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Am currently staying at the Kantary and am very pleased that the positive reviews and the hotel website photos are exactly on point. The service is impeccable, the rooms spacious, clean and modern and the facilities up to scratch. I am here for a week staying in a one bedroom room. The hotel staff have been extremely helpful from simple questions like how to use the phone to ringing up a spa to confirm a reservation, nothing has been too much effort. The breakfast is varied, plentiful and tasty and the one meal I ate at the restaurant was a moderate price and very good. The pool and jacuzzi were great I used both, the gym equipment looks modern and well maintained. There is also a steam room and sauna. A short walk away are an array of cafes, restaurants and seven elevens so everything is easy to come by. The property is off the main road so there are no noise issues except the occasional airplane. In room internet is user pays though a 7 day payment works out at about $3 USD a day so completely reasonable and there is free wifi in the lobby/restaurant. I have nothing to fault this well planned and managed property and would stay here again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Room 1322 is very quiet with a partial view of the mountains and the adjacent buildings. It is a fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TCW72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Many thanks for your review. We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your time with us at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai. At Kantary Hills we strive to provide the best – be it accommodation, facilities or service therefore your very positive endorsement is greatly appreciated by the team.
Once again, thank you and we look forward to your soonest return.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (758)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 758 reviews

Reviewed August 30, 2012

We stayed at the Kantary Hills for 4 nights whilst exploring the Chiang Mai and Chiang Ria areas of Northern Thailand including The Golden Triangle and Patara Elephant Farm (which I would recommend as a `once in a lifetime' experience).

We found the hotel to be clean, spacious and quite clinical but not in a negative way. Reception staff were helpful, courteous and accommodating ensuring we received an upgraded room as per our booking but not guaranteed, i.e. subject to availability on arrival. They worked hard to ensure our requirements, as a family of 3, were met alongside those of the family of 4 we were travelling with; very accommodating and whilst my 15-year old daughter still landed up sleeping on a camp bed, rather than the twin double beds H&J had promised, this was no fault of the hotel who did their best to `make things right'. The rooms cannot be faulted.

The staff are friendly, the bar and hotel shop (bakery) prices are very competitive for a quality hotel, the rooms are sizeable and well presented (we were upgraded to a one-bedroom apartment) with a great shower cubicle and good sized bath, and the pool area was a good size for a city hotel and was well maintained with the added bonus of fairly new and very clean hot tubs. There was also the added bonus of free Wi-Fi although only available in/ near to the lobby area.

The only downside was the view from our room but it’s asking a little too much to expect something spectacular whilst staying in a city hotel. This did not affect our stay.

All-in-all, a great hotel with great staff that went out of their way to be helpful in a modern hotel well situated for experiencing the sights of Northern Thailand. We would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DCMIT1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Greetings from Kantary Hills Hotel & Serviced Apartments, Chiang Mai

Thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. The positive comments about our staff, room size, and facilities are greatly appreciated as we strive to offer the highest standards on all fronts.

Again, thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We look forward to welcoming you back whenever you visit Chiang Mai again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

Kantary Hills is near the University and about a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride to the Night Bazaar in central Chiang Mai. We liked the slightly quieter location but there is still loads of restaurants / bars / amenities near the hotel. Yes if you stay in the centre you'd walk out virtually into the stalls of the night bazaar however it's quite hectic in the evenings. Getting into town is easy - tuk-tuks wait opposite the hotel and 70-150 baht will get you to most places in the city, never a problem to get a tuk-tuk back from the busier areas either.

We were upgraded to an apartment and found the space and facilities fantastic. The washing machine came in handy although we didn't actually use the kitchen to cook any food. It was cleaned spotlessly every day - to the point where the TV remote was wrapped in fresh cling-film for hygiene!!! Loads of wardrobe space, lovely bathroom with a bath and a separate massive shower.

Breakfast was good with a mixture of western and eastern dishes. There was both hot and cold choices with an egg station. We didn't use the restaurant or bar at any other times.

Staff were very friendly - we had no need to book excursions through them but they were helpful in arranging an airport transfer at the end of our stay.

Very highly recommended.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bumbletraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Greetings from Kantary Hills Hotel and Serviced Apartments, Chiang Mai

Thank you for making the effort to comment on your stay with us. We are glad your visit was enjoyable. At Kantary Hills we strive to provide the best – be it accommodation, facilities or service therefore your very positive endorsement is greatly appreciated by the team.

Your review of our ideal location on Chiang Mai’s trendiest road, which offers convenient access to the bustling tourist centres should be of assistance to others desiring something similar.

Again, thank you for your great endorsement. We look forward to welcoming you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We spent 3 nights here and were really impressed by the cleanliness of the hotel and the lovely, helpful staff. We had really noisy neighbours the first morning, so we requested a room move and that was dealt with promptly and efficiently. We were in two studios and we found the facilities to be excellent, with huge, comfortable beds and good-sized bathrooms. The pool area was lovely for a dip in the pool after exploring the area. The Saturday/Sunday night markets are fab; and no hassle at all from vendors! A novel experience after Bangkok. There is lots of local produce for sale and you are expected to haggle hard, for a great deal! Transport by local taxi is really cheap; 20 baht a person and you just flag down a taxi from the end of the road. Doi Suthep is a must. We took a local taxi again (avoid the tour reps. Their prices are exorbitant), stopping off in a hill tribe village on the way. At Doi Suthep we were lucky to be blessed by one of the monks! Quite an experience. Another tip: check out Monk Chat at Wat Chedi Luang (it's in Lonely Planet). We spent an hour chatting to young monks about life, the universe and Face book. They like to practise their English.

Room Tip: Don't expect a room with a view! They don't have great views, but bear in mind this is a ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teddingtoniers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 6, 2012

Greetings from Kantary Hills Hotel, Chiang Mai

Thank you for your favorable review. We are glad to learn that you enjoyed both Chiang Mai and your stay with us. At Kantary Hills we strive to offer the best we can on all fronts and greatly appreciate your approval of our service, accommodation and facilities. Your comments will be passed onto the team.

We look forward to welcoming you back when you next visit northern Thailand.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

We had booked 2 rooms and were upgraded to the apartmetns with kitchens. The washing machine was very handy. Rooms are extremely large and very comfortable. Large flat screen TV's, nice toiletries and very quiet. The hotel seems to get quite a large share of flight crews as it is fairly near the airport. We ate at the restaurant a couple of times, food was very good and reasonably priced for a 4* hotel. The service was a bit slow but the staff were always very polite and helpful. We only used the pool area once, its quite small so if it was busy you would likely struggle for a lounger. The pool itself was fine - also there are a couple of jacuzzis in that area too.
WiFi appeared to be free in the public areas which was fine. the hotel is on a quiet side street off a very popular student type area with lots of boutique shops as well as Tesco. If you are after a massage I can recommend the one just across the road from the hotel - very reasonably priced and extremely clean with polite staff. We took tuktuk into the town centre - very cheap and easy. theres several waiting across the hotel to take you anywhere you want to go.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mark W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you very much for you r favorable comments and endorsement of the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai. We hope your stay with us was not only enjoyable, but also memorable, and that you will visit us again soon. Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to give us your feedback, which should also be useful to other readers deciding where to stay while in Chiang Mai. Again, thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012

The hotel is new and everything in the room is convenient for us. However, there is lack of coordination and in-coordinate service. May be the management has very little experience.

However the front office staff are friendly.he restaurant staffs are not very much friendly.
The housekeeping are good but they do not know the rules I think. As I had pulled out the blanket to cover myself on the couch and placed it on my bed the next day but the housekeeper didn't put it back as the way it is the next day room service and just put it folded on one bed.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoyalE110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking the time and making the effort to comment on your stay with us at the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai. The short comings you mentioned will be addressed and we look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

We stayed for 5 nights in the first week of July in a one bedroom apartment.

The place is hardly a 10 minutes drive from the airport in a by lane off Nimmanhaemin Road. Just a 2 minutes walk gets you to chic restaurants, hip bars, 7/11's & lovely boutiques. Numerous massage parlors with ONE just outside the gates of the hotel.

We chose this location as we had a self drive car and wanted to be away from the touristy hotels near the river but still within 10 mins drive from there. This hotel fitted all our criteria just fine. The hotel itself is lovely, squeaky clean (we saw people dusting and cleaning all day, every day) and well decorated. Add a nice pool, health club, bar & a restaurant, under ground parking for self driven cars with elevators to your floor, and you have a complete package.

The staff is very courteous and friendly and even the lack of enough english speaking personnel did not dull their enthusiasm. Of course there were english speaking staff at the front desk & in the reception & the restaurant & room service and we managed just fine. Must make a mention of the house keeping staff. They are very friendly and always smiling. Cheer even your dullest day!

We had pool facing rooms and they were terrific. Immaculate large living room with all amenities including a kitchenette with washing machine, fridge, microwave and cutlery. A nice big dining table, sitting area with a TV. The lovely bedroom had a 2 beds, dresser with a hair dryer, very clean sheets and nice big closets with a safe. Both rooms had balconies over looking the pool and chairs provided in case you wanted to sit and watch the sun set. Bathroom was huge and very clean. Shower and even a sink tub.

What to say of the restaurant? We had breakfast here every day and snacks at some odd times. Huge selection for breakfast to suit most palates. Excellent service too! The quiet lounge with coffee and cakes is a great place to relax if you do not wish to go to your room but still want to just rest your feet and make small talk (in hushed tones please!). Have no complaints with the wi-fi as we never used one. We were on a holiday and avoided all means of communication with mother earth, including phones!

The pool area and the health club are great and welcome break after a hard day bargaining your way through the markets!

All in all, a terrific place to stay and shall go back every time we visit Chiang Mai, which we hope to do quiet often. Highly recommend this place. Suited for a holiday with friends or family.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the pool have the advantage of a nice view and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bombaytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kasemkij_Group, General Manager at Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded August 13, 2012

We appreciate your highly recommending the Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai, as a great hotel with a quiet location. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to your soonest return.

Your mention of underground parking for self-driven cars with elevators to the floor of one’s room will be useful to know for others looking for a similar convenience. Our staff continue to learn English as we provide English lessons for them on a continuing basis.

Thank you for taking the time to give us your thoughts and feedback as it assists Management in its continuing efforts to provide pleasurable stays for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,912 reviews
2.5 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 393 in Chiang Mai
3,146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#30 of 393 in Chiang Mai
1,222 reviews
0.4 mi away
U Nimman Chiang Mai
U Nimman Chiang Mai
#18 of 393 in Chiang Mai
180 reviews
2.7 mi away
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
#20 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai

Address: 44 Nimmanhaemin Road | Suthep, Chiang Mai 50200, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#25 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $91 - $155 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 152
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kantary Hills, Chiangmai is the latest addition to the stylish Kantary Group of Hotels and Serviced Apartments, renowned throughout Thailand for offering the very finest in service and facilities. Featuring a range of spacious, elegantly appointed and fully furnished studio, one bedroom and two bedroom apartments, the accommodation at Kantary Hills is unrivaled for style and comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kantary Hills, Chiang Mai Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing