We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (165)
Filter reviews
165 results
Traveler rating
116
39
4
4
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
116
39
4
4
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ping river complimentary afternoon tea highly recommend hotel foot bridge stylish hotel old town no lift short walk beautiful pool the hotel staff deluxe room every morning woo riverside tuk baht
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 165 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Located on the Ping River near the city center and with a stunning design to boot, this boutique hotel was a head turner when I walked by it 2 years go. I had always wanted to stay in it since then. As you can see from the picture, the entrance is a stunner. That was about it sadly. I’ve stayed in Hotel Des artists in Khao Yai and Pai, so writing this review was a difficult decision. But the lack of care and customer service in this hotel made me write this review.

The hotel was dated, tired and very poorly maintained. Unless you are in the 3 Deluxe rooms on the top floor, all other rooms seem to have terrible views. And I mean TERRIBLE. All of the old and tiny standard rooms face the carpark or roof of the restaurant next door. With no sound insulation whatsoever, every single sound from the road, restaurant, aircon units (yes the outdoor units are in the “balcony”). These rooms are also above the hotel’s pretty restaurant so breakfast cooking comes up into the rooms. Housekeeping standard was tragic. My room was cover in dust and hair. When I requested for a sweep, a bored looking staff came home and swept up. A small pile of hair, sand, dust etc was garnered. No apology. Nothing. Just left. The balcony was so small it was practically un-useable. There really was no point standing on that tiny balcony anyways with the loud aircon units next to me and view of the carpark.

Front desk is manned by what looked like teenagers who seemed to only know the word “no”. Demotivation on display at it’s best.

I checked out one day earlier despite having paid everything in full. Not even a query nor care. I did get a “wait while housekeeping checks your room” though. No one cares and no one bothered.

This hotel has seen its days. Management should step it up with so many beautiful new hotels coming up. And for the price it is charging. I moved to another hotel in the old town for less money and MUCH better quality and value.

The plus was the restaurant. Yummy breakfast and lovely staff! Sitting in the ope air terrace on a cool morning was bliss. They might want to change up the music though. The one same CD played every morning ad nauseam.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled solo
Thank mralantan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPS019, Manager at Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear mralantan.

Warmest greeting from Hotel des artists ping silhouette.

We would like to thank you very much for your valuable comment and please accept our sincerest apologies for may caused, The mentioned matters we already brought into our serious attention in the management meeting in order, and we would like to inform you that the hotel is planning for a renovation soon, where we hope we will have a better product to offer to our guests in the future.

Once again, please accept our profound apologies and we look forward to welcoming you again, giving us another opportunity to serve you better.

With warm regards
Polsup P.
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 11, 2019

We stayed at the hotel for 2 nights in November. The hotel is located in the heart of many good cafe and restaurants as well as attractions. Breakfast was good and the reception was helpful. Drawbacks were the air-con at room #27 was extremely noisy that we had to come down to ask the hotel staff to check and finally we gotta change the room. Also the hotel got no lift but hotel staff helped to carry the luggages.

Room tip: Avoid room #27 or you gotta check the air-con if it sounds normal.
Date of stay: November 2019
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Wareemon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPS019, Manager at Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Dear khun. Wareemon

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your kind generous feedback. We very much appreciate it, as it provides us with an opportunity to continually improve our products and services.

Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconvenience you have faced in our hotel.
We are very sorry that you found trouble with the noise and the AC, we sure will take into account your comments as it is our best interest to improve our hotel with your comments and experience.
Your feedback has been taken into account and will be shared with our management team. We are confident that necessary steps will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

However, I am delighted to read that you like our breakfast service and location.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Warm regards
Polsup Polyotha
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2019 via mobile

Modern Chinese stylish hotel in the mid of Chiangmai city facing the river. Service is really good and I like their afternoon snack with Taiwanese Toast. The room is well decoration with neat & nice furniture, the bed is alright but a little smell in the room & the towel is a bit too old.
Staffs can arrange breakfast box if you need to leave hotel early in the morning.

Date of stay: November 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
1  Thank FoodTraveler_Huang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPS019, Manager at Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2019

Dear FoodTraveler_Huang

Thank you for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback regarding your stay at Hotel des artists ping silhouette.
Since all of your feedback is important to us so please rest assured that we have taken noted your comments regarding areas of our services that can be improved and provided in order to ensured that our guest expectations are met each visit.

However, I am delighted to read that you like the hotel location and our Taiwanese toast, afternoon tea.

Thank you for staying with us and we hope you give us another chance to show you how great our hotel is.

Warm regards
Polsup Polyotha (Mr.)
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2019

This hotel was exactly our style! Cute, unique, and comfy. The staff are welcoming, very friendly, and knowledgable about the city!! The breakfast meals were delish!! The location was close enough to Old City that we could take a 15-20 min walk and get to where we needed. If we were too tired there were plenty of Tuk-Tuks around to hitch a ride back for no more than 100 baht. You could also request a Grab and it would be there within 7 minutes. If you are looking for a nice, clean boutique hotel experience we would highly recommend Hotel Des Artists Ping Silhouette.

Date of stay: October 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank CaLynn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPS019, General Manager at Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette, responded to this reviewResponded November 4, 2019

Dear CaLynn W

Greeting from Hotel Des Artists ping Silhouette.

Thank you for your generous compliments and for choosing to stay with us.
It was an absolute pleasure to read that you enjoyed so many aspects of your stay and we hope you took with you many wonderful memories of your stay at the Hotel des artists ping silhouette.

Thank you again for your valuable feedback. Along with the team of the Hotel des artists ping silhouette, we hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again soon to the beautiful Chiang Mai and to
Hotel des artists ping silhouette.

With warm regards
Polsup Polyotha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 30, 2019 via mobile

This small boutique hotel made one of our impression. The hotel looks so different from its neighbors. The Chinese inspired hotel brought us back to our childhood. The hotel looks like a small museum for us. The room design is fine and functional. The bathroom is nice with a rain shoer room which is enough for our stay. Towels were a bit aged but the bed was comfy. Free mini bar with mineral water and juices in including free afternoon tea with a Taiwanese toast were nice. We didn’t try to ask them to serve the afternoon tea at our room but we will try next time. Staffs were helpful and well-trained. Breakfast starter was served in style in a Chinese dumpling tray and we had many alternatives of American, British or Asian style of main dish. The location is convenient and easy to walk along the river bank or to flower market.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Thank tsmaot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HAPS019, General Manager at Hotel des Artists Ping Silhouette, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2019


Dear tsmaot

Greeting from Hotel Des Artists ping Silhouette.

We appreciate your time to share your fantastic experience with us. Thank you very much for choosing Hotel Des Artists ping Silhouette. We are glad to hear that your stay was comfortable and our colleagues took good care of you. We hope that we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back to beautiful Chiang Mai and to our hotel again soon.

Kind regards,
Polsup Polyotha.
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews