We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Could be a good hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Could be a good hotel”
Reviewed February 17, 2011

Stayed for 5 nights in horizon club deluxe room Negatives - on arrival not escorted to room, bathroom not clean, not enough staff and unhelpful when requesting luggage to be collected from room when departing. Positives - large deluxe room, nice pool area. This would be a fantastic hotel if they could sort out the staffing levels and the housekeeping. This hotel is not up to Shangri la's standards.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank babs085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
“Thank you for your feedback. We would like to apologize for all the inconvenience caused during your stay at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,002 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,306
    510
    132
    31
    23
See reviews for
486
788
125
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Shanghai&NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

The Shangri La Chiang Mai is a relatively new hotel. It is nicely located in the center of town, a short tuk tuk ride to the old town. We booked a "premium" club room which was huge, well furnished, and had a small balcony with two chairs. The regular club rooms do not have a balcony and are smaller. The room had a comfortable sofa and chairs and a separate work area with a huge desk. Internet is FREE but wireless is only available in the lounge areas. The really nice thing about the room was the dressing area outside the bathroom. There was a bench on which two suitcases could sit if you wanted to live out of your suitcase, and there was a cabined below if you wanted to put away the suitcases, also a large shelf above the bench. The closet was opposite the bench and had ample hanging space and also some drawers and the safe. We found this to be very convenient. The only problem in the room was the bed, it was really hard even by Asian standards. The bathroom was large and had a separate shower stall.
Check-in was done in the club lounge and was very quick. Our room was ready by 10:30 am. Lounge service was friendly and efficient. The breakfast was not huge but was of good quality and variety and included a menu of cooked to order items. Evening cocktails and refreshments were also very good.
The swimming pool area was large and very attractive. In spite of being in the city center it felt like an isolated resort around the pool. Two problems with the pool: First the water was really quite cold; and secondly there were not enough conventional lounge chairs. Instead there were a large supply of large, bed type lounges which were really not comfortable. People did not want to use these and they should be replaced with regular lounge chairs.
A nice touch was the copy of "Lost Horizons" by James Hilton which was in the bedside drawer. I took it to the pool and enjoyed reading the book again, it's a real classic of literature.
There was really only one restaurant in the hotel and it provided a buffet dinner nightly. The selection was large and varied and reasonably good. The problem was that it was rather busy and did not provide a relaxing dinner. Better explore the many options around town.
Chiang Mai is a lovely little town, and a relaxing place to vacation. I would strongly recommend the Shangri La.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shanghai_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

From the time we entered the hotel to the time we left we felt we were wanted guests and that the hotel wanted to make our stay as pleasurable as possible and one to remember.All the staff were so nice,polite,and so very helpful and nothing was to much trouble.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank colinpennyfu2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2011

This is my second stay here, and I just wanted to comment that I stayed with my 3 year old son. The hotel staff were very accomadating and tolerated him running around the lobby and trashing my room on a daily basis! Superb hotel, beautifully done, with a great pool that my son thoroughly enjoyed. Also a play room and nice gym. Restaurant is ok but pricey, esp for breakfast. Only hiccoughs here were a restaurant meal billed to my room which wasn't mine and a minibar charge that was also not mine. They promptly and gacefully removed them as soon as I pointed it out. It is a bit pricey for the Chiang Mai market, but I loved staying here last time and loved it this time. I will certainly stay again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex
Level 5 Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and was greeted warmly by staff, had a deluxe room which was large and comfortable with a good bathroom. Hotel and grounds kept in excellent condition with a good size swiming pool and comfortable sun beds.One of the best breakfast buffets i have ever had. Hotel in excellent location close to the night market with good bars, restaurants in market square.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
54 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2011

I really enjoyed most everything about the Shangri-La in Chiang Mai. The rooms are quite large and the beds are firm but pretty comfortable. The bathroom was really nice with a tub and separate shower with great water pressure. A/C works well and safes in the rooms are large, large enough to hold a 14" laptop. I like that they always left plenty of free water in the refrigerator. And the grounds are beautiful, including the wonderful pool with comfortable lounge chairs. Finally, very centrally located so that it's just a short 5-minute tuk tuk ride to the old city and a walk to various local markets.

There are a few small issues with the rooms: there's free internet, but not wireless (at least it's fast). They never put hand towels in the rooms, just towels and wash rags. And a handle was broken in the tub in our room and the bathroom door handle a little loose.

But what I really loved about this hotel was the service, especially the concierge service. The gentlemen in orange jackets were always available, friendly and would assist in every way possible - restaurant requests, taxis, tuk tuks, and really any advice you'd need. They were eager to help and so friendly. They, and the other staff at the hotel, really went out of their way to assist any time asked and were just so friendly. And most spoke pretty good English.

So while I thought the hotel itself was very nice, it's really the outstanding service that would ensure my return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communication Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed in this hotel for 4 days in December 2010. Upon entering the main entrance, we were impressed with the spaciousness of the hall. Our room was big and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean with ample supply of toiletries. The grounds and swimming area were spacious and well kept. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices of Thai, Chinese, Japanese and western cuisine. The service we received at the restaurant, check-in and concierge was excellent and polite. Our stay in Chiang Mai was pleasant, partly attributed to this beautiful hotel and its staff. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good accommodation in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,981 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,386 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
461 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing