We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“again, a wonderful hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 376 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
92 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“again, a wonderful hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2011

This is my second stay here, and I just wanted to comment that I stayed with my 3 year old son. The hotel staff were very accomadating and tolerated him running around the lobby and trashing my room on a daily basis! Superb hotel, beautifully done, with a great pool that my son thoroughly enjoyed. Also a play room and nice gym. Restaurant is ok but pricey, esp for breakfast. Only hiccoughs here were a restaurant meal billed to my room which wasn't mine and a minibar charge that was also not mine. They promptly and gacefully removed them as soon as I pointed it out. It is a bit pricey for the Chiang Mai market, but I loved staying here last time and loved it this time. I will certainly stay again

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SeattleDoc2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,929 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,263
    487
    126
    30
    23
See reviews for
464
765
120
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (432)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sussex
Level Contributor
85 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2011

Stayed for 3 nights and was greeted warmly by staff, had a deluxe room which was large and comfortable with a good bathroom. Hotel and grounds kept in excellent condition with a good size swiming pool and comfortable sun beds.One of the best breakfast buffets i have ever had. Hotel in excellent location close to the night market with good bars, restaurants in market square.
I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tigertoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
53 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2011

I really enjoyed most everything about the Shangri-La in Chiang Mai. The rooms are quite large and the beds are firm but pretty comfortable. The bathroom was really nice with a tub and separate shower with great water pressure. A/C works well and safes in the rooms are large, large enough to hold a 14" laptop. I like that they always left plenty of free water in the refrigerator. And the grounds are beautiful, including the wonderful pool with comfortable lounge chairs. Finally, very centrally located so that it's just a short 5-minute tuk tuk ride to the old city and a walk to various local markets.

There are a few small issues with the rooms: there's free internet, but not wireless (at least it's fast). They never put hand towels in the rooms, just towels and wash rags. And a handle was broken in the tub in our room and the bathroom door handle a little loose.

But what I really loved about this hotel was the service, especially the concierge service. The gentlemen in orange jackets were always available, friendly and would assist in every way possible - restaurant requests, taxis, tuk tuks, and really any advice you'd need. They were eager to help and so friendly. They, and the other staff at the hotel, really went out of their way to assist any time asked and were just so friendly. And most spoke pretty good English.

So while I thought the hotel itself was very nice, it's really the outstanding service that would ensure my return.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ChicagoToTheWorld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communication Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 24, 2011

My wife and I and another couple stayed in this hotel for 4 days in December 2010. Upon entering the main entrance, we were impressed with the spaciousness of the hall. Our room was big and very clean. The bathroom was also very clean with ample supply of toiletries. The grounds and swimming area were spacious and well kept. The breakfast was very good with lots of choices of Thai, Chinese, Japanese and western cuisine. The service we received at the restaurant, check-in and concierge was excellent and polite. Our stay in Chiang Mai was pleasant, partly attributed to this beautiful hotel and its staff. We highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for good accommodation in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SINtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 11, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

We stayed at an executive room and hence were able to make use of the Executive lounge. We thoroughly enjoyed the pampered lifestyle. We did prefer to have breakfast at the main dining room as the selections were better.

What's the deal with Tang? I'd expect a hotel of this class to serve real OJ...

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pnsnkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2011

I have regularly visited Chiang Mai for the past 12 years and this is my first stay at Shangri La hotel.This hotel is amazing!!! I truly enjoyed the hotel, the very peaceful garden, the Chi Spa, the large swimming pool,the health club and the wonderful caring staff Since my stay lasted about 3 weeks, I had the chance to stay in both the Horizon Club room (excellent value for money) and the suite with garden whirlpool. Both are outstanding, I have never felt better in a hotel. In my opinion, this is the best hotel in Chiang Mai and I will definitely return to Shangri La.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank portobello99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 10, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
76 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2011

I enjoyed three nights in this hotel in December last year. This was my first time staying in a Shangri-la hotel, and it was certainly different from most other hotels. The welcome was very pleasant and professional, letting you do the check in procedures in room was very nice after 15 hours travel.

I enjoyed Chiang Mai city so much I didnt try the swimming pool, but it sure looked lovely. The breakfast was excellent, really excellent. Of course, it costs also, and for a solo traveller I guess I could have chosen a smaller room or another hotel, but I enjoyed it!!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorwegianM1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLCMcomms, Communications Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 9, 2011
“We would like to thank you for the kind compliments. It is certainly a pleasure to learn that you had an exceptional stay and experience at our hotel. We look forward to welcome you back to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,884 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#4 of 376 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 376 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,775 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing