We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 11, 2014

This hotel is amazing. It's so beautiful it takes you breath away. The surrounding area is not the best, at least when we went there was a lot of construction outside of it, but you could not hear a thing, you could just see it outside the window. We stayed here for a part of our honeymoon and they went above and beyond preparing the room for the day when we arrived. Everything was stunning, covered in roses, they drew a bath again with roses, bottles of champagne, truffles and a basket filled with exotic fruits. Their breakfast - included in the room price is by far the best we had in Thailand. Their executive lounge is also wonderful. You literally don't have to eat dinner, you can just go up there have a bunch of drinks and appetizers and call it dinner. The pool is beautiful and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Rozhaja D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Rozhaja D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you had an excellent stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the Horizon Club offerings during happy hour and our breakfast buffet. We would also like to thank you for your inspiring feedback on the frienliness and helpfulness of our team during your stay, we will definitely celebrate this together.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you agin to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

929 - 935 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2014

We had a very pleasant stay. The staff are attentive and helpful. The room is clean and comfortable. The hotel pool is nice. The location is slightly out of the busy part of town, but its just nice, the area is not too busy and touristy.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Sqchat80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Sqchat80,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

It is inspiring to hear that you had a great time with us and thank you for your kind feedback on our services, our superb centralized location, comfortable and clean room and the pool facility.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

My first visit to Chiang Mai made it beautiful as I chose the right hotel. My stay their was extremely comfortable in very clean bathroom, spacious and tastefully decorated room. The staff was very attentive and forthcoming. The location was perfect and I recommend this property to families, singles and couples.

Room Tip: The rooms with the front view are good since you can see the the entire hills surrounding Chiang Mai
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank superchip1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Superchip1968

We are glad that you had an excellent stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the servics provided by our team, cleanliness and spcaiousness of our rooms and not forgetting our great location within the centralised Chiang Mai.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Second time at hotel. Amazing service and stunning pool. Staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The lovely signature smell from the moment you enter the hotel. Staff in the horizon club even remembered my choice of coffee although I was only there for a few days. Rooms are nice but could be updated.

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear JosephL

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that once again you had anexcellent stay with us and we thank you for your kind feeback on the services rendered by the team and the swimming pool facility.

We will definitely share this with the team and we look forward again in the future in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Have just checked out of the Shangri La Chiang Mai after a lovely stay.

We stayed in the Premier Room which was lovely and spacious for two people and could easily accommodate a third person.

The breakfast was fantastic - both hot and cold Asian and western style food. My only criticisms would be that there was no sparkling wine/champagne which you would normally get in other 5*s at breakfast. As today is my birthday it would have been lovely to have a glass of fizz! Also there should be more people at the egg station at breakfast, that being said you can get a fab range of scrambled, fried, omelette, poached and so on :-)

Maid service is great, both daily cleaning and turndown service. Would have been nice to get fresh fruit and chocolate on turndown (again something you would normally get in a 5*). Saying this they did surprise me with a lovely birthday cake the evening before my birthday!!!

Something that we weren't made aware of is there is building work going on outside the hotel. It didn't actually bother us as we were out on excursions all day but if you were planning to use the pool area then you would hear it in the daytime. Also we could see it from our window but it really isn't that bad (no cranes or too much heavy machinery).

Location wise, this hotel is fantastic, just a 5 minute walk to the night markets and 20 minutes to the riverside. Tuktuks and taxis are always swinging by as well.

Would stay again but don't expect the usual 5* Shangri La attention to detail.

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank Georgeous097
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Dear Georgeous097

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

Wse are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay with us and we would like to thank you for your sincere feedback on your recent stay.

We took note on the suggestion about champagne for breaklfast, the eggs station and the amenities for turn downs, we will definitely share this in our departmental meenting and review it together.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2014

this was our 2nd stop on our honeymoon. The staff were brilliant very helpful and attentive. The pool area was great after a long day site seeing. I would definitely recommend upgrading to the horizon club lounge, with free drinks and snacks all day. We were greeted with a bottle of wine, fruit, chocolates and decoration in the room. The breakfast was good with several stations doing every style of breakfast possible. I would give this place 4.5/5 having stayed in the Bangkok Shangri la, i think the service was overall better there. I recommend not having a Herbalife conventions take place in the hotel (cult) Thank you to all the staff.

Room Tip: go for the horizon club upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank t0by86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2014

Dear t0by86

Thank you so much for taking the time off t your busy schedule to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had an excellent stay witb us and we would like to thank you for your kind and inspirational words on the services rendered by the team, our facilities at the Horizon Club and the set up by the Housekeeping team for your arrival on your honeymoon.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangr-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 3, 2014

are several years that we spend every year a few days of our holiday at the Shangri-la in Chiang Mai, the last time in June 2014.
The Hotel is only a 5-minute walk from the Night Bazaar and offers a superb stay: excellent breakfast buffet in the Kad Kafe, a magnificent fitness center with turkish bath, swimming pool and the new Shang Garden Chinese restaurant is more than excellent (try the Pekinese duck !). We will be back in August ... we can not wait to go back

Room Tip: Premiere room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elena G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2014

Dear Elena G

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a great stay and thank you for your kin words on the facilities of the hotel, the F&B offerings especially the peking duck from our award winning chinese restaurant Shang Garden.

We look forward in welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,473 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $154 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Expedia, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing