We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
canberra
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed for 8 nights in this lovely hotel. We always upgrade to the Horizon Club because we find this very good value. On arrival our room wasn't ready, so we were upgraded to a suite which was lovely. We found the staff faultless, particularly the Horizon Lounge staff. Food in the Lounge was terrific, (better than the Shangrila Bangkok!) sometimes making it difficult to leave to go out for dinner. The pool was being fixed for maintenance, but this was only a small inconvenience . The beds are quite firm, but just request a soft top to fix this. We had a wonderful stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kfer6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    514
    133
    31
    23
See reviews for
491
798
126
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Daly City, California, United States
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 403 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

My criteria choosing a hotel was a good swimming pool and a good location and after reading a lot of the reviews here on trip advisor, booking and agoda I thought this would have been a great place to set up base for a first trip to Chiang Mai.

So, when we got to the hotel late at night, no one bothered to take my wife's suitcase to bring it to the check in. The person checking us in was also kind of surprised that the bell boys didn't get our bags upon entry to the hotel.

From March 31st to April 4th the pool was unusable. It had green algae or bacteria growing in it causing a green glow in the pool. With the pool being half the reason why I chose this hotel this was a huge disappointment. On April 5th the pool was okay but still had a lot of chemical tastes from clearing the pool. The hotel did arrange for us to go to the Aruntara to use their pool, but if I wanted to pay to go to a children's pool to swim I would have just paid for 5 nights at the Aruntara. The hotel should have at least chosen a pool of equal quality or better. To make matters worst, during the first day on April 1st when I went to the pool at the Aruntara the hotel forgot to pick me up back to the hotel which was really frustrating. The pool now on April 11th is turning back to that green color so it seems more like a bandaid fix the hotel made rather than trying to really solve the problem.

April 7th and 8th there were black outs at the night. While the hotel did warn us that they would do this it was still really uncomfortable as I have to do most my studying for the CFA exam after 12 pm.

I chose the Horizon club stay due to all the recommendations from people on this site and other sites, and also due to the fact that my wife is pregnant so it would be more comfortable for her. All in all I would have to say that there isn't much difference between staying at the horizon club or staying on the normal levels.

The breakfast down stairs has more variety and is better than at the horizon club.

The only reason why you would even stay at the horizon club is to meet George. George is probably one of the best well trained staff I've ever met at any hotel. He definitely made the stay more welcomed. However, when George isn't there the horizon club just isn't the same and it feels like a mess at times.

For instance, there were several breakfasts where I asked for a hard boiled egg for my wife and we received a soft boiled egg or even a raw egg. Come on a raw egg?!?! Seriously?

Room cleaning and service is a little spotty. It really depends if you leave tip for them or not as if you don't leave any tips for them the people cleaning your room seem to just do a poor job as compared to leaving a tip and for them to do a good job.

For example, one day I forgot to leave a tip. The toilet paper in the bathroom wasn't replaced, the fruits weren't changed to new fruits and the shower area wasn't cleaned.

Leaving a tip. We got better fruits, more water, extra stack of toilet paper. Our clothes near the window were folded...

So it really feels like you are pressured to tip these people.

I also feel that the hotel doesn't do a good job explaining the full use of everything they have to you. I should be on vacation and should be explained on what my benefits are at staying in your hotel are and the benefits of staying at the horizon club.

All in all the lobby staff is very friendly and the service is usually good, but due to many disappointments upon my expectations to this hotel I have to write a unfavorable review in hopes many of these things can be looked at and improved on going forward for other guests staying at this hotel.

Room Tip: Don't get into the hype of the horizon club it's not much different. Choose a pool faci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Alienandbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

Have just returned from this hotel and would definitely choose to stay here again when in Chiangmai . The hotel is just five minutes walk from the bustle of Chiangmais night markets but stepping back into the hotel is an oasis of tranquility! A beautiful pool with comfy sun beds ,cold towels ,ice water and fruit served to you by friendly staff. The exercise classes were excellent with trainers,Sun and Desi, who really seem to enjoy their work. I would recommend paying a little extra to stay in the Horizon club as the club lounge cocktail hour is a lovely relaxing way to start the evening with a few drinks and delicious canapés while looking out over the pool and gardens. The club concierge George , and indeed all the staff in the horizon club are really helpful, arranging bookings,transport etc and really go the extra mile to make your stay special.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pommet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2014

Last night we went to the Kad Cafe in the Shangri-la Hotel for their international buffet and BBQ. It was to celebrate our 45th wedding anniversary and our son and wife joined us. When we arrived we were shown in to a lovely alcove room - there was a gorgeous vase of roses on the table and they presented us with a complimentary bottle of sparkling wine and a delicious chocolate cake with the relevant wording regarding our wedding anniversary iced around it. It was a lovely surprise and made our evening. The buffet and bbq was excellent with a huge selection of food to please everyone. The service was spot-on and all-in-all it was a first-class evening. We live locally to the hotel so haven't actually stayed there, but if the decor and comfort in the restaurant is anything to go by, the rooms I am sure are excellent. We have however stayed in several other branches of the Shangri-la, namely Bangkok, Kowloon and the Island in Hong Kong and have always found them superb.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LynnCM44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

This hotel was fine. Good location within the city and the rooms were clean. Nothing noteworthy about the property or the service. I will say that my shower never had hot water, so I had to wash in the bathtub, which was a bummer. They sent someone to fix it, but I couldn't wait around for them to arrive before I had to be off for my day. Also, when we were ready to depart for the airport, they looked at us like we were crazy when we walked out to front of the hotel and asked for a taxi. Apparently you have to order taxis in advance, which is fine - but that would have been nice to know. Overall, nothing terrible happened, but next time we visit Chiang Mai, we will try out a different place.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JonandRayna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear JonandRayna

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We regret that your recent stay with us was not up to your expectations and we appreciate your sincere feedbacks on areas that we need to focus on in our service deliveries.

In particular the hot water in your room and the services of our concierge.

We would aslo like to thank you for your kind words on thelocation of our centralized property and the cleanliness of our rooms.

We will definitely share this with our relevant department heads to place placns into actions to avoid reoccurences.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canandaigua
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Front desk service and check in/out was excellent. Room was big & spotless, bed was not to hard. The Horizon club is great for breakfast and happy hour! Nice big pool with hot tub.Lots of loungers. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear Physykes

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the services rendered by our front desk team, the breakfast offerings at the Horizon Club and our facilities at the pool.

We will share this with the team to celebrate and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. Although we had an internet problem for about two days, the hotel staff managed to fix it momentarily for us, giving in-room routers until the hotel's internet was fixed. The rooms are big and spacious, with lovely city and "mountain" views. The staff is amazingly polite and servicial, worthy of a Shangri-La. Breakfast and Restaurants are superb and full of different things to choose. Just perfect.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tuchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, April 12, 2014
Dear tuchop

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel cleanliness, facilities, spacious rooms, breakfast offerings in in particular our team problem resolution and customer services.

We will definitely share this with all team member to celebrate.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, HotelsforEveryone, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing