We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 395 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 7, 2014

Front desk service and check in/out was excellent. Room was big & spotless, bed was not to hard. The Horizon club is great for breakfast and happy hour! Nice big pool with hot tub.Lots of loungers. We would stay here again.

Room Tip: Horizon Club is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phsykes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear Physykes

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the services rendered by our front desk team, the breakfast offerings at the Horizon Club and our facilities at the pool.

We will share this with the team to celebrate and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,017 - 1,023 of 2,105 reviews

Reviewed April 5, 2014

The hotel is very nice and clean. Although we had an internet problem for about two days, the hotel staff managed to fix it momentarily for us, giving in-room routers until the hotel's internet was fixed. The rooms are big and spacious, with lovely city and "mountain" views. The staff is amazingly polite and servicial, worthy of a Shangri-La. Breakfast and Restaurants are superb and full of different things to choose. Just perfect.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tuchop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear tuchop

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words regarding the hotel cleanliness, facilities, spacious rooms, breakfast offerings in in particular our team problem resolution and customer services.

We will definitely share this with all team member to celebrate.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

Well groomed and professional staff. Good facilities, nice night market round the corner.

More vegetarian & Indian food options will be appreciated.

Well managed rooms with the right decor and lights.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank AlokMehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear AlokMehta

Tahnk you so much for your recent review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a great stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on your experience in particular our centralized locations from all the attractions and your inspiring words on our team groomings and professionalism.

We also took note on your feedbacks regarding the vegetarian offering and will definitely share this with our CUlinary team for improvements.

Thank you once again and we look forward in serving you again at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 5, 2014

This beautiful property is in the heart of Chang Mai, which is a centre for cultural and other activities. Chang Mai has a great zoo with two pandas and a tiger centre, both of which are a short ride away and well worth visits. There are numerous temples and other cultural attractions. Enjoy the peace and quiet of the Shangri-La after a hectic day of site seeing.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank mchlchn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear mchlchn

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a great stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the superb location of our hotel that is centralized to all the tourist attractions.

We look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 4, 2014

My wife and I, our adult son, and my wife's brother and his wife stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. We had three separate rooms but the hotel staff put us close together on the same floor which made it convenient for our comings and goings. We have stayed at several Shangri La properties in various Asian countries, and invariably our stay is a great experience. This hotel was everything we have come to expect from the brand. Eye pleasing decor, top quality furnishings in the rooms, great beds and pillows, beautiful bathrooms with quality toiletries, free wi fi in the rooms and common areas, and an excellent buffet breakfast. What sets the Shangri La apart from other top brands is the staff. From the warm greeting, cold towels and complimentary beverage at check in, to the outstanding concierge service in arranging transportation and helping us iron out some problems with prearranged excursions to the Golden Triangle, the staff goes above and beyond the expectation to guarantee a trouble free tourist experience. The location near the night market is great. My only complaint was that we used the hotel laundry service for my sons clothing as he had been touring the previous week in Myanmar and had only soiled garments, and I felt the laundry charge was unreasonable and excessive after an undisclosed service fee and the value added tax was added to the itemized bill. My son would have been better off discarding his dirty clothes and buying replacement clothes in the lock markets. Seriously! The front desk refused to reduce the ridiculous charge and I told them I would be including this criticism of the laundry charge in this review. I'm reducing my rating on value and service ecause of this charge.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2014

Dear David D

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that overall you had an excellent stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the room assignments, the breakfast offerings, the hotel facilities and services rendered by our concierge team.

We took note on your comments on the laundry prices and will share this with the team in relooking into our pricing strategies in alighning with other 5 star hotels in Chiang Mai.

We look forward in welcoming you once again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2014

My partner and I stayed at this hotel from the 17th - 20th of April, having booked via Expedia there was a bit of crossed wires before departing RE: airport collection which had made me slightly apprehensive about the rest of the trip. Fortunately, on arrival at the hotel it was made apparent that and any errors had been made by Expedia and the hotel were only too helpful to make the rest of our stay faultless. All aspects of this trip were catered for to a tee. The room was spacious and immaculate with a wonderful view out front. All staff were incredibly attentive and efficient and the facilities were excellent. The hotel is only a few minutes walk from the night bizarre and there are plenty of tour providers located within meters of the hotels grounds.

All in all I can't recommend this hotel highliy enough, will definitely book a Shangri-La Resort in the future.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2014

Dear Erin P

Thank you so much for writting a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had an enjoyable stay with us and we would like to thank you for your kind words on our superb location spacious, immaculate rooms and facilities. And also your inspiring comments on our team attentiveness and effieciency, we will share this together to celebrate this success.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed in a Horizon Club room for 3 nights as part of a 3 centre trip to Thailand. Without exception George from the Horizon Club Lounge has been the stand out hotel employee of the whole trip - gracious, charming and very professional. The hotel is as expected from this rating of property and caters for the demands of picky travelers. The only minor downside is the construction work on the adjacent plot.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
Thank JMTravels24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 31, 2014

Dear JMTravels24

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to hear that you had a wonderful time her at The Shangri-la Hotel CHiang Mai.

We thank you for your kind words on the services rendered by our team, Mr George.

We will definitely share this with George and celebrate yet another achivements in satisfying a customers expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.


Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 395 in Chiang Mai
3,206 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 395 in Chiang Mai
2,528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $144 - $454 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing