We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and attentive service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great location and attentive service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent a long weekend in February 2014 at the Shangri-La. The location is 10 minutes walk to the night market- it is not a very stroller friendly walk so we used the carrier for our 5 month old. The hotel staff were very attentive during breakfast time, and also for arranging tours to the temples and patiently looking for an eco-friendly elephant orphanage- note book these in advance of your trip as the elephant friendly ones book out very fast.

However, special mention must be made of Azmi the hotel manager. He was very attentive, gave good tips for travelling around and he top sights to see with a young baby. Azmi also made sure the staff took good care of us. It was a great Shangri-La experience!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clovin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    482
    125
    30
    22
See reviews for
455
754
117
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

We spent 4 days in Chiang Mai and this lovely hotel. The location is great, in town but not too mad and just a 10 mins walk to the night market where all the action is.
The premiere rooms are large and with all standard hotel features. The staff we met all over the hotel were kind and accommodating. We will go back to this hotel the next time we are in Chiang Mai without doubt.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SRAATraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Saurabh_Richi

Than you for taking the time to write us a review.

We are pleased to learn that you have had a wonderful time with us and we thank you for your kind review on our centralised locations, the services by our team and the facilities of our room.

We will definitely share this withh all our team and will be looking forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-a Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2014

Stayed in this fabulous hotel in February during my travels in Thailand, it is by far one of the best hotels in Chiang Mai.
The location is fantastic walking distance to the famous night market shops and restaurants.

The hotel is very clean and well maintained, The rooms are spacious and airy the hotel grounds are beautiful and the pool area is lovely and relaxing, exactly what you need after a long daytrip you would like to come back to a peaceful haven and the Shangari-La is exactly that.

We had breakfast in the hotel everyday, they had everything you wanted and if there was something extra I wanted they were happy to whip it up for me.

The staff are very helpful and sweet, and I cannot fault this hotel at all.

I definitely recommend you stay here If you are visiting Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ned87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear ned87

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay wit us.

We are delighted to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for your kind and inspiring words on the superb location of uour hotel, spciousness of our rooms, pool facilities, breakfast offerings and the service by the team.

We will celebrate this with the team and share your feedbacks.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2014 via mobile

I've stayed at other sister hotels and this one is definitely my favourite with a great location followed by great service and wonderful facilities. You get pretty much everything they promise on their brochure. Although a bit pricey it was well worth it. Keep up the fantastic service.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank TREK3R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Trek3R

Thank you o much for taking your precious time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shanhri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that overall you had a wonderful stay and we thank you for your kind words on our superb location, wonderful facilities and team services.

We will share this with the team and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My boyfriend & I stayed here for 3 nights back in November.
We had come straight from Bangkok, so it was very relaxing and laid back compared to the hustle and bustle of Bangkok.
As soon as we arrived, we were ushered up and attended to right away. The concierge helped us planned all the tours we wanted to do at Chiang Mai, and gave us a tour of the hotel. If we needed any help at all, the staff were there right away to help us out.
The location is perfect, nice and close to the market.
We spent a lot of our days just laying out by the pool, drinking cocktails and relaxing.
This hotel surprised me greatly, I couldn't have been more impressed.
I can't wait to come back here.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 19, 2014
Dear Sarah L

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are pleased to learn that you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on our centralised location, facilities at our pool, the services of our concierge team and our serene and tranquil ambience of the hotel.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai in the near future.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

I ordered a medium rare sirloin steak at the Ground Floor Restaurant. However, I was served with a rubbery meat which is rather dehydrated, charred and truly disappointing. I was curious about the Bonus Choice offered by Shangri-La Chiang Mai. Hence, I asked the receptionist whether my two nights' stay is entitled for the bonus choice which includes the dining credit. After discussing with her colleague, the receptionist replied 'YES" confidently to me, highlighting that I can only choose one of the value-added benefits. When I were to check out, I was required to pay the food bill. To my dismay, I was required to pay the full amount and my dining credit was denied because I didn't book the bonus choice through the hotel's website. I felt cheated by the misleading receptionist but i still pay the full amount because I respect the hotel's decision. The receptionist should have informed me earlier and not denying at the last minute. This is certainly not a service provided by a 5* hotel's staffs. This is definitely due to the poor english and understanding skills of the staffs. I truly hope that the management can improve the hotel's staff quality to prevent any further misunderstanding.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Jay Shen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 13, 2014
Dear Jay Shen N

Thank you very much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that we did not met your expectations on your recent stay with us. We took note on your feedback regarding the quality of the steak and had shared this with our culinary team for immediate rectifications.

As for the miscommunications on the Bonus Choice discounts dining credit, we do apologise for the miscommunication and you are right if guests made the reservations on the Bonus Choice rates than they will be entitled for the dining credits. We aldo took note on your comments on our staff command of English and will address this with our training departments.

It is only by receiving valuable and sincere feedback from a customer like your goodself that we are made aware of areas we need to improve, for that we thank you.

We look forward in serving you in the near future at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nakorn Pathom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 11, 2014

Excellent service. I take a car of hotel from Chaing Mai Internationsl airport. Boy is the transporter to Daratavee which my cousin wedding then call him to take me go to check in at hotel. He is friendly and kind. The room service is very impress in words. Good information for advice.



Room Tip: Good advice and all service alot of impression for my trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Chawalit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, March 14, 2014
Dear Khun Chawalit C

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang mai.

We are happy to learn that you had a memorable stay and we thank you for yiour kind words on the services rendered by our concierge, driver and in room dining team, we will definitely share this with them and celebrate it together.

Once again thank you and we look forward in welcoming you again to the Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,836 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,757 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing