We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simply Superb”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 10, 2014

It has to be my number choice when I play golf in Chiangmai, normally during to low season, less golfers and room rates reasonable. The in-house complimentary wifi is the best and allow one to keep connected to the world, anywhere within the hotel. The room's amenities and facilities are excellent, and service too. The lobby is spacious and yet uncluttered like similar 5 stars hotel. Brunch on Sunday is highly recommended. It's an oasis in busy Chiangmai, the garden and the pool, something not easily found on similar hotels. Recently stayed at Le Meridien, and they need to learn how the Shangri-La run the hotel properly. Found nothing to complain or fault...

Room Tip: Rooms facing the Pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IanMar2112
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2014

Dear IanMar2112

Thank you so much for taking the time in your busy schedule to write us a review on your recent stay with us at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are inspired to learn that you had a memorable and enjoyable stay with us. Thank you for your kind words on the facilities of the hotel, the amenities, spacious rooms and the wifi services, we will share this with the team to celebrate.

And thank you for being a loyal and valued customer of The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai and we look forward in welcoming you back in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,018 - 1,024 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed March 10, 2014

It's a business hotel rather than lesiure hotel;
Everything is good but nothing more than our expectation.
Only one strange experience that when I booked a table for dinner at the Check-in time, which is complimentary of honeymoon package, finally there is no record for my booking.

Room Tip: The classes offered in fitness centre is attractive.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Jb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear JB H

Thank you for taking the time to write us a feedback on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you have had an enjoyable stay with us.

We regret to learn about your dinner reservations and will do a follow up investigation on what actually happened and share this with the team. Please accept our sincere apology for this servce lapse.

We thank you once again for your review and looking forward in welcoming you once again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

Stayed for 4 nights and no regrets at choice of hotel.
Accommodation was very good
Service was excellent especially George in Horizon Club Lounge
Terrific pool to relax around
Food was ordinary but many choices nearby
Night markets 300 meters away

Room Tip: Get upgrade or pay extra for Horizon Club pool facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 777Raymond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear 777 Raymond

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are delighted to know that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you so much for your kind words on the services rendered by the team in particular George at the Club Lounge.

We took note on your comments on the variety of the food offerings and will definitely share this with the team and look into our current offerings and varieties.

Looking forward in welcoming you once again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely
Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel.

Location: Just a short cab ride from the main temples and sites and you can walk to the very colourful night market within minutes.
Food: Excellent restaurants and service with a very wide variety of local and international food.
Rooms: As you would expect, very nice and very good amenities
Pool: nice big pool with fast service, quality food... very cozy atmosphere
Staff: Very professional and friendly
We got a very good price... not a boutique hotel like we were looking for but I would highly recommend this place. Much easier to get a cab here than at boutique hotels. Cabs in Chiang Mai are very busy and you normally need to wait or book in advance so plan ahead.

Room Tip: Need a cab in Chiang Mai, book ahead! Make sure you go to the wonderful temple at the top of the mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Summerchill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 10, 2014

Dear Summerchill

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad to learn that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for your kind and inspirational words on our superb location,our rooms amenities and spaciousness, pool and the services of our team.

We will definitely share this with the team and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2014

After three previous trips to the Shangri La in Bangkok, perhaps our expectations were unfairly high of this sister hotel. We stayed in the Horizon Club, and although the service was the usual impeccable Shangri La standard, we did feel that the fabric of the hotel let the brand down badly.

It is very tired and of its time. Simple things that could have been improved were the cushions on the pool sunbeds – terribly stained and even torn – and the repair of the paved pool surround, which is badly uneven.

Worst of all was the terrible noise from the building site adjacent to the pool area and we think it would have been fair to warn us about this. Heavy piling drills thumped throughout the day all during our short stay.

We don’t mind a firm bed, but this one was positively hard, and my husband had a bad back that lasted for two days after our stay.

All in all, quite disappointing.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amazonian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Amazonian

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that we did not met your ecpectations this time during your stay and we took note on your comments regarding the "fabric" of the hotel and will share this with the team for immediate rectifications.

We also would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your kind words on the services rendered at The Horizon CLub floors by the team.

We look forward in serving you again in the near future.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari

Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 6, 2014

This is one of the best hotels I have been to. Service, pool, everything was perfect. We got an upgraded room for free, as we were arriving for our honey moon. We liked the free Kung-Fu lessons provided. The location is very nice, just next to the night market.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
1  Thank Wissam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Wissam M

Thank you so much for your review on your recent stay, and Congratulations again for celebrating your honeymoon with us.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your kind words on the services by the pool team and the Health CLub Kung Fu lessons.

We look forward in serving you again at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

An excellent hotel.Great location, with easy access to market and shops. Night bazar very near.
Beautiful pool and service. One of the best hotel chinese restaurant. Perfect staff. One of my favorite spa experience.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dorothy w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Dorothy W

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had a memorable stay with us and thank you for your kind and inspiring words on the services rendered by our pool team and the overall facilities of the hotel like the Spa and the Chinese restaurant Shang Garden.

We look forward in serving you once again at The Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#19 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,120 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,480 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $155 - $435 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing