We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdated but nice”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #18 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on the recommendation of a tour guide. While the rooms were massive the furnishings were outdated but well appointed with nice amenities. Location is nice and central. Pool was lovely. Food in restaurant was almost inedible. I advise eating out!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Tracy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Tracy K

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay with us.

Thank you for your kind words on our superb location, facilities, amenities and pool, nevertheless we also have taken note on your feedback regarding the interior and the food quality which we will definitely share this with our relevant department heads for corrective actions.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to the Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (2,086)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,035 - 1,041 of 2,086 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2014

We really enjoyed this hotel. Although not as plush as the Bangkok Shangri-la it is a really great place to stay. The rooms are really spacious with great city views. The bathrooms are large and well appointed. The beds are however a little firm- the management should go to the Pullman Phuket to know what hotel bed should feel like! Breakfast was good and service was slick. The pool is really lovely- a great place to unwind after a busy day sight seeing.
Location is ok- near the night market but a 30 minute walk to the old town.
Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chris1304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Chris1304

Thank you for writting a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us.

Thank you for your kind and inspiring words on the superb location of our hotel, rooms facilities, relaxing pool and our breakfast services.

We would also like to thank you for your sincere feedbacks regarding the bed and have shared this with our relevant key department heads for our future corrective measures.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Went here with my wife for our 2nd yr anniv. Nice spacious room. Ideally located as it is near the night bazaar. Food and coffee at kad cafe were also pretty good. Would definitely recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank mrbugsyph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear mrbugsyph

Thank you for writting a review on your recent celebratory stay with us.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and thank you for your kind words on our hotel spacious rooms, superb location and beverage offerings.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We checked in around 3 in the afternoon, and due to no one bed room available at the higher level they gave us room 309 instead. This room has a little patio and garden attached, we did enjoyed our breakfast at the patio for few mornings. It's very quiet and the swimming pool is amazing.
Hotel itself is only few minutes away from the famous night bazaar (starting 5pm till midnight), and it's easily to rent a motorbike (beside Le Méridien called KPD for $200 bah/day).

Room Tip: I think higher level can have a good view of Chiang Mai... :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RLMarkham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear LKMarkham

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us and that you have enjoyed the garden room assigned. We would also like to thank you for your kind words on our superb location in the city and our relaxing pool.

We look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 21, 2014

I was in Chiang Mai for business and had a Horizon Club deluxe room. Room was big, really nicely decorated and furnished, great bed and nice view. The breakfast is in a private lounge. Very nice and very good.
Staff is amazing and the whole experience is to remember. I have stayed at very many 5-star hotels around the world, and Shangri-La in Chiang Mai is one of the top three (to my surprise). That much living and service etc for such a reasonable price.
Also they have a great tailor - Genesis. Had them make me three pants and four shirts. Very well done. I highly recommend them.
Thanks staff and thanks Genesis!

Room Tip: Horizon Club delux
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com
2  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2014

Dear Peter J

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the facilities, view and spaciousness of our rooms.

We would also like to thank you for your inspiring words on the service of our staff and will definitely share this with the team to celebrate.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2014

Stayed at the great hotel 2 weeks ago, having been to Bangkok. Fantastic, helpfull staff, great rooms obviously well magaged. We had a garden view room which was really comfortable and quiet. The breakfast, while catering for the more asian people, was really good. Can not say enough good things about this place, ideally positioned near the town centre and night market it was really nice.

Room Tip: Get a garden facing room if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CaptainRubber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Captain Rubber

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad to learn that you had a wonderful stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on the helpfullness of our team, our rooms, superb location and our breakfast offerings.

We will share your inspiring comments to our team and we look forward in welcoming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2014

This hotel sees a constant in flow of large Chinese tour groups that is a negative for anyone looking for a tranquil place to stay. If you do not mind loud and obnoxious groups of Chinese shouting at breakfast every day and howling in the lobby, then it is an excellent place to stay. But for that, I would have given it 5 stars.

The concierge service is fantastic and rooms are nice and kept clean. I did notice the carpets in the hallway were stained, which should be remedied, especially in a five star hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Francesco C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Dear Francesco C

Tahnk you for writting a review on your recent stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that overall you had a memorable stay with us and we thank you for your kind words on our team services from the conciereg department and cleanliness and maintenance of our rooms.

We took note on your comment regarding the carpet and have shared this with our Housekeeping team for immediate actions.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 394 in Chiang Mai
3,151 reviews
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.8 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#8 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $153 - $452 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Priceline, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing