We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Highly recommended” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Fairview, Canada
1 review
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

We stayed at its Shangri-La Hotel in Jan 2014 for 4 nights, the staff was excellent, my sister-in-law got sick while we were there, they came up to her room with a wheel chair, had their car take her to the hospital, phoned the hospital to tell them that she was coming, The Dr. met her there and took care of her as soon as she got there, X-ray, blood,etc, they kept her in hospital, the next morning someone from the hotel came to the hospital to see how she was doing, that evening the took her a beautiful bouquet of flowers. I would highly recommend this hotel, nice clean rooms, beautiful swimming pool.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Shangri La Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Edithmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,244
    482
    125
    30
    22
See reviews for
455
754
117
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014 via mobile

Stayed for two weeks, to include Christmas and New Year's. Got the club lounge access, so my room was on the 10th floor with a quick walk to the lounge on the 11th floor. The room itself was fine and the housekeeping staff were thorough and attentive each day. Availed myself of in-room dining quite a few times, and the food was always very good and the service excellent.

As nice as the hotel is, what really made the stay so perfect was the staff. I was in the 11th floor lounge every morning for breakfast, and at all times the staff there were courteous, welcoming, and attentive. On several occasions I saw these guys dealing guests that were very difficult and unkind---but the staff were as helpful and polite as they could be. I was very impressed by their professionalism, especially having to deal with such unpleasant people. From the manager to the servers, they were the best.

Special shout out to the guys at the concierge desk in the main lobby. I could always go to those guys and ask them to line up a taxi, call a tuk-tuk, or get advice on a local attraction. They were all always to professional, patient, and ready to help. Very personable, too. Everyone there was great, and the stand-outs were Neng, Cheow, and Bee. Thanks again, guys.

So if you want a quality hotel with professional staff that make the stay enjoyable and facilitate your Chiang Mai exploration, give the Shangri La a try.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear SamC

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that overall you have enjoyed your two weeks stay with us and we are very pleased with your kind and inspirational words on our team services particularly the team at the club lounge and the concierge.

We are also happy to learn that our food and beverages offering are of your preferences and will definitely share this with the etam to celebrate.

Thank you once again and we look forard in welcoming you again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

The outdoor jacuzzi room is very very dirty and not private as promise. There is a ton of dust and leaves on the outdoor jacuzzi pool. It looks like they never clean jacuzzi before checking in. Also, a guy next to my room can spy what I was using jacuzzi. It is not private.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
1 Thank ViroonP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, February 12, 2014
Dear ViroonP

Thank you for taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay.

We sorry to learn that your recent stay did not met your expectations. We took note on the clenliness of the outdoor jacuzzi and have shared this with the relevant department heads for further actions to prevent reoccurences.

Thank you once again and we look forward in welcming you back to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Odense
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

Beautiful hotel, but if you want to stay at a hotel with great service then do not stay at the Shangri-La. They promise you so much but they can not live up to what they promise you. I have never experienced souch bad service in my life from the front desk and management! They do not even smile at you. Service at the pool is much better - they should swich positions! And do not expect to use the free Wi-Fi - it does not work in the rooms and is verry slow if you can get a connection.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Camilla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Camilla N,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a feedback on your recent stay with us.

We regret to learn that we did not met your expectation during your stay with us. We have taken note on your feedback regarding the flowers that you mentioned in our survey, the friendliness and smiles of our team and also the wifi connection.

We would also like to thank you for the positive feedbacks on our pool them.

We will shared this with all relevant department heads to review the areas that we need work on.

Camilla N, it is only by receiving feedback from a customer like your kind self that we are made aware of areas that we need to improve and strive for service excellence.

Thank you once again and we look forward in the future to serve you again. I can be reached at azmi.kamsari@shangri-la.com should there be any other valuable feedbacks that would like to share.

Sincerely;

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014

My wife and I spent part of our honeymoon trip at the Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai. All I can say is that it was simply amazing. Azmi (resident manager) and Nick (front desk manager) were very attentive to our needs and they along with the rest of their team made sure our stay was unforgettable. Every night when we would return to the hotel after a day of exploring they would have some sort of special surprise waiting for us.

The hotel itself was beautiful and very clean. The staff were very attentive, friendly, and polite. The pool area is a little paradise in itself. Overall, I am completely satisfied we chose to stay here and will be back in the future.

Thank you again to Azmi, Nick, and the hotel staff, for making our honeymoon stay in Chiang Mai unforgettable.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Rick P,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are inspired and motivated by your kind words on your experience that you and madam had during your stay at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We will definitely share this with the team and celebrate this.

We look forward in serving you back again at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Thank you once again for being with us.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

We expected more from a 5 star hotel. The room, a deluxe king, was decent but certainly nothing to rave about. The bathroom was nice and the toiletries were better than most we have seen throughout our stay. My husband also thoroughly enjoyed the gym.

Breakfast was good and we even had a quick lunch when we arrived because the front desk was having issues with our reservation so we had to kill time while they figured it out. Lunch was pretty good as well, the curry puffs were awesome!

There was an extremely large wedding at the hotel while we were there which was quite a hassle for any other guests of the hotel. We had kids running up and down our floor- right in front of 3 shangri-la staff members who did nothing about it. The whole pool was closed one of the days we were there for the wedding which was super inconvenient.

The location was superb as we could walk to the night bazaar and other highly rated restaurants and spas on trip advisor, but next time we visit we will likely try a different hotel.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jenntref
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear Jenntref

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We would like to thank you for your kind words on the hotel's gym and bathrooms, food quality and our hotels superb location. Nevertheless, we regret to learn about the inconvenience of the pool closure and the acostic disturbance at your corridor.

We will definitely share this with all relevant department heads and place corrective actions to prevent reoccurances.

Thank you once again for your comments and we look forward in welcoming you back again to The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

Sincerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 22, 2014 via mobile

I have been to Chiang Mai many times. I normally stay in a hotel half the price as the Shangri-la. However my fiancé and I just finished a 6 day 1000 mile motorcycle ride through the Golden Triangle and wanted a bit of luxury. We pulled into the Shangri -la after an 8 hour motorcycle ride from Laos to Chiang Mai. We were exhausted! I went to reception and they told me of the Horizon club. I booked it on Agoda in the lobby. About $100 US dollars more than a regular room. Let me tell you something! Well worth every penny! Treated like a king! A woman named Da took such incredible care of us our entire visit in the Horizon club. She checked on everything from excursions to the political climate in Bangkok for us. Most importantly Da did this with a genuine concern for our happiness. Thank you Da!

With the Horizon club benefits you get an amazing breakfast as well as an amazing happy hour from 5:30 - 7:30 with great food and free beer,wine and booze! I easily got my money's worth in booze alone. If you know anything about Thailand you know booze ain't cheep!

Oh before I forget the pool, the gym and all the staff are amazing!

Highly recommended!!!!!

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank AdventureMonkey12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Azmi K, Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Dear AdventureMondkey12

Thank you for taking the time to write us a review on your recent adventure in Chiang Mai and definitely the luxury get away to be renewed at The Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

We are glad that you are being pampered while you are here with us after that 1000mile ride.

Thank you for your candid comments and we will definitely share this with the team especially Da.

We look forward in welcoming you back again to The SHangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai.

SIncerely

Azmi Kamsari
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,250 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,835 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Jetsetter, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing