We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quite oasis in a busy city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 22, 2013

after my stay in Shanri-la Bangkok i was a little let down. the staff not quite as friendly or the food as good. Don't bother with the rest. for dinner it was over priced and there is a good selection just outside the front door. al in al it was a quite oasis in a busy city.

Room Tip: don't waste your time at the night market mostly cheep Chinese knock offs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank auuguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,070)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,294 - 1,300 of 2,070 reviews

Reviewed January 20, 2013

We always try to stay at a Shangri-La hotel when we travel to the far east. After 3 weeks spent with family in Thailand we decided to give ourselves a treat on 6 nights at the Shangri-La in Chiang Mai. We are members on the golden circle the hotels frequent stayers programme, and had booked our rooms in September, 4 months prior to our stay, all rooms are said to have either a garden or mountain view. When we arrived we were given a room that looked onto a roof and a building site. We complained and were told that we would have to wait till the following day to be moved. This was done, and the room was fine, previously when staying at Shangri-La hotels we have been asked if we would like to be upgraded to the horizon club but nothing was said this time. The hotel is impressive but we would not go back again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GILL43WALES
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave J, General Manager at Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai, responded to this reviewResponded February 25, 2013

Dear GILL43WALES,

We appreciate and thank you for sharing your comments during your recent stay with us. We have taken note of your feedback, and want to rectify these issues. Would you be kind enough to contact me directly via george.baird@shangri-la.com to provide me some more details about your particular situation.
Your feedback is important to us and we hope you will be able to come back someday to enjoy the true Shangri-La hospitality.

Yours Sincerely,

George Baird
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

Recently on a Stay in Chiang Mai i stayed at the Shang and it is a lovely hotel, Clean with nice decor, comfy bed great bathroom and a nice breakfast. All the staff were very friendly recommended stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andrew B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2013

We spent a long weekend in Chiang Mai and loved our stay at the Shangri-La. The service is outstanding. We upgraded to the Club Level rooms, and felt it was well worth the extra cost. We were able to check-in at the Club Lounge, had breakfast each morning in the Lounge, and the evening happy hour was great. We were able to pop into the Club Lounge at any time for soda and snacks, and the staff in the Lounge were incredibly helpful with making dinner reservations and suggesting places to dine.

The pool, spa and fitness center was very nice, and although the hotel staff were busy setting up for a huge wedding, they still offered exceptional service.

Their were only two minor negatives - the decor is a bit dated in the public areas of the hotel, and in the bathroom, the tub blocks access to the sink and mirror, making it strictly a one-person sink and mirror area.

The hotel is about a 10 minute tuk-tuk ride (100 baht) from the markets, temples and walled city. It is not really convenient to walk, especially with all the walking once you get to the markets and temples but so easy to catch a tuk-tuk or taxi to take you where you want to go and catch a return ride back to the hotel.

This is such an easy city to get around, when compared to the size of Bangkok! There is little traffic and no congestion. Also, compared to other cities in Thailand, the Chiang Mai locals understand and can speak English fairly well.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indigo10_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

We have just returned from Thailand and spent the first four days at this hotel. It was an excellent choice.....fantastic service, modern,clean and extensive facilities. We spent a little more on a deluxe room and it was lovely.
The breakfast had a vast variety of good foods available . To be absolutely "picky" we could only say that the hot food ....occasionally....had gone a bit cool (if you timed your visit wrongly !) and that we would have preferred teapots on the table....rather than being served from a large pot by the staff. However, we thoroughly enjoyed our breakfasts which stocked us up well for the day ahead. These comments are only for the Hotel to have further feedback and should NOT be viewed too negatively by prospective visitors !
We also found that the location was brilliant...close to the night market and 15 mins walk from the old town (although a "tuk-tuk" ride was fun and cheap....£2 inc tip !!!).
We also thoroughly recommend the day trip to the Elephant Nature Park (sanctuary) easily organised from this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeandpete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

11/2012 - Even prior to my stay at the Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai they were going above and beyond to make our stay the best possible. I had emailed the hotel about finding out what activities and tours they offered prior to my visit - within hours (which is great since I am in California) they had sent me multiple PDF's regarding tours they offered, top things to do in Chiang Mai and information on the history and culture of the city. Upon our arrival the concierge offered top notch service - including rearranging activities we had already planned so we could add in more tours and activities. They also called and tried to make reservations for our friends that werent even staying at the hotel! I have never received such excellent service at a hotel before and this really sets the Shangri-La apart form the other hotels. The rooms - were as expected for a higher class hotel - comfortable, clean, turned down our room at night. The location was perfect - a quick walk to the market and if you did need a taxi or tut tut they were always waiting. I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel as well as try out other Shangri-La hotels because the service was exceptional.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank shrooney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at the Shangi-La. Our room on the club floor was beautiful and modern, and the grounds and pool a delight. The Club Lounge staff were absolutely outstanding, nothing was too much trouble. Walking distance to the night market. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rdabca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,115 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,473 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $154 - $397 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing