We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely setting, but not much help in Chiang Mai” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #20 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely setting, but not much help in Chiang Mai”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

As you'd expect, the Shangri-La Chiang Mai is beautiful. Carefully manicured grounds, impeccable lobby/interiors, and a lovely pool and other surroundings. However, for the money, one feels let down, especially in such a touristed place.

We struggled with getting our 5-star experience to translate to a great stay in Chiang Mai. The staff, while friendly, didn't know/care much about how to introduce their city other than to point out which direction to the Old City. No creative ideas on how to spend the days, and certainly no help negotiating with the tuk-tuk drivers who wanted 150+ THB to do simple runs. We felt that such an outlay on a luxury hotel would help navigate the city.

If you're going just for the hotel, or already know the city, then you'll be fine. If you want to do much in Chiang Mai, be ready to self-navigate. There isn't much walking distance from the hotel, which doesn't help.

The breakfast buffet is decent -- except for the terrible coffee (this seemed to be a trend in the North)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IDES4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,905 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,245
    482
    125
    30
    23
See reviews for
456
754
118
198
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (429)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 10, 2012

My November 2012 stay was my 5th at this hotel. Needless to say I think it is great and would recommend it to anyone. This time I booked a Horizon Club room, which gives access to the very comfortable Horizon Lounge with magnificent views over the hotel grounds, city, and towards the mountains in the east. Also, those staying in the Horizon rooms are provided with an excellent complimentary breakfast and happy hour snacks and drinks in the early evening. Regardless of the type of room you book, also very much worthy of a special mention is the Silipa Thai bar, which has a very wide range of drinks and extensive cocktail list; and where the very welcoming and hospitable bar staff will mix innovative drinks to suit all tastes!

The hotel is within easy walking distance of the old city (10-15 minutes), and if that feels like too far then the very helpful staff are only too pleased to call a taxi or tuk tuk; and it's also less than 5 minutes walk from the daily Night Market.

One final thing I really like about this hotel is its ability to soak up its guests, so even when it is busy it never feels crowded and you always have plenty of space.

I'm looking forward to visiting again as I type!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank olenders
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maldon, Essex
Level Contributor
72 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

We had stayed at The Peninsula in Bangkok (see my reviews) and thought that was perfect but the Shangri-La was even better! The top 3 floors are the Horizon Club and have thier own check-in and bar/restaurant. Others have raved about the hotel but the extra something from the Horizon rooms are worth knowing about.
Check-in is done quickly and efficiently (by good English speaking staff) in a relaxed area of the bar/restaurant and then you are taken to your suite. Ask for one facing the pool not the town, the views to the distant mountains are amazing. The suite has everything you could want and more. Between 5pm and 7pm is 'happy hour' and the bar has comlimentary spirits/wine/coffee/soft drinks and an amazing spread of canapes and bowl food. In the same room complimentary breakfast is served, again a superb spread and such obliging friendly staff.
Ask the staff for good local restaurant recommendations. They suggested the 'River Market' and another I think called the 'River Bridge' - both excellent. A real 'local' Thai resturant was the 'Huen Pen' Restaurant, a fantastic meal at a bargain price. Chiang Mai town is small enough to be able to walk round and the Night market is worth a visit on your way to either of the first two restaurants.
As in all of Thailand either agree a price before you set off in a taxi/tuk-tuk or ask for the meter to be turned on. We learnt on the first day they will charge you what they can get away with and not the correct price for the journey!
100% recommend the Horizon Club at the Shangi-La.

Room Tip: The top 3 floors - the Horizon Club
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy-from-Maldon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moorpark, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2012

When I first saw our Horizon Club room, I kind of thought the same thing I've seen others mention: the room is a little dated looking. Then, I realized that I truly appreciated the quality of everything in the room, and grew to also like all the wood styling. It's not "cool" and "modern", but it's very nice, and a great size.

My wife, daughter, and I greatly appreciated the Horizon Club benefits of breakfast in the morning, snacks / beverages in the afternoons and personal attention of the staff. We never went in the evening as we don't drink and instead went out to dinner every night.

Being completely honest, I feel that the landscaping on the hotel grounds could use a little more attention to detail, but despite some plants and trees that may need clipping, it's quite nice. The pool is wonderful. My daughter absolutely loved it. The pool staff was quick to help us find open lounge chairs (which was never a challenge, BTW), and always brought cold water and slices of pineapple to us. My only complain there is that there was sand on the bottom of the pool, and I don't understand where that was coming from. Otherwise, the pools is a key feature.

We found all of the staff to be very friendly and helpful. Most could understand and speak English pretty well, too, which was helpful to us. The hotel helped us with restaurant recommendations, walking directions, arranging tours/transportation, outside laundry service, etc.

We stayed during the Loi Krathong fesival, and the hotel had some fun things scheduled. They helped us make our own floating lanterns, had us judge a staff lantern contest, hosted a nice buffet, etc. The funny thing is, it seems that nobody really knew when events at the hotel, or around the city, would be taking place, or where we should for them. I don't know if that's the nature of Thailand, something lost in translation, or poor organization, but I do wish we were given some better tips about the best places to be at certain times.

That said, we're not rich and can't afford to stay at top hotels at home or in other, more expensive cities, so this was our best hotel experience ever. It will be the standard that we hold all others to. For the relatively low cost in USD, this was an incredible value.

Room Tip: Definitely book a horizon club room! Ours faced the city and I think we would have appreciated the p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oACGo_TA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

As most everyone has said before, the Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai is wonderful. The service is fantastic especially if you stay on one of the Horizon floors with the wonderful free breakfast and happy hour in the evening. The facilities are terrific, but there is no swim-up bar (not that I needed or wanted it). You are just 3 blocks from the night market, which is quite extensive in terms of everything weird, wonderful, and of course unnecessary. Chiang Mai is a hub for cooking classes, various forms of massage and elephants!

Room Tip: You might find the Horizon level rooms not that expensive when you consider everything that is inclu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnS1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
99 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

Shangri-La Hotel in Chiang Mai is well located and is part of a great Hotel Chain. The Lobby and the pool are amazing. However, the service is average. The service at this Shangri-La is average or poor. The employees seem to be tired of working at this place under poor management. Usually Luxury Hotels in Thailand offer great service. The rooms are a bit outdated. The furniture and decorations are old. The TV is as big as an IPad. Breakfast is good but quite a lot of money. You can get the same or better breakfast outside the Hotel for 1/10 the price. I hope Management improves service and rooms get updated. Service is one thing that needs to be improved ASAP. If you get a good deal, try it out, otherwise stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: Request a High Floor with Pool View
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DecoWorldTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2012 via mobile

Lovely hotel in chiang mai Defo recommend. Good rooms, swimming pool, location, good for a relaxing break. We were well located for what we wanted to do.

Defo would stay in another of the chains hotels. It had all the little touches to help us enjoy our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sabrina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,837 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#26 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,756 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 281
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Jetsetter so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing