We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Affordable luxury, service and efficient location in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #21 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 24, 2012

We stayed 3 nights at the Chiang May Shangri-La Hotel in November 2012. This is a first class hotel in many regards. It has been built to attract business customers by offering substantial meeting place but hotel services and infrastructures also meet the needs of active tourists coming to Chiang Mai.

Service is widely apparent from the minute you walk in to check-in. Whether at reception, the very huge pool, the highly popular restaurant or elsewhere on the compound, hotel employees are always visibly helpful and demonstrate their strong hotel service culture when serving you.

Rooms are very modern and spacious. We selected a premier room with king bed and we felt the room resembled more a junior suite than a regular room. Complimentary Internet was included with the room.

For those driving to Chiang Mai, you will appreciate the hotel for two additional reasons:

a. First, the hotel is very well located at about 1 km south east of the old city. This location makes it very easy to access the main attractions both inside and outside the old city by car.

b. The hotel offers free self-parking in a large underground parking facility.

The Chiang Mai Shangri-La Hotel turned out to be a very pleasant surprise in our Thailand adventure.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Piden123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (2,074)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,336 - 1,342 of 2,074 reviews

Reviewed November 21, 2012

This was a last minute booking, as we had a few spare days in CM and we were after a rest after 5 days on the road with our 18 month old. It was our first stay at a resort like this as we usually head for "flash-packer" style accommodation the betters suits our on-the-move and out-all-day travel styles.

As it was a last minute booking I could only secure a deluxe room for the first night and then a premier room for the 2/3rd nights. On arrival however, when they noticed the split booking and that we had a child, they offered to upgrade us to the Horizon Club rooms, which we could have for all three nights. Although the room was a little smaller than the Premier, it came with all the services of the Horizon Club. The main perks, as most would know, is the buffet breakfast and happy hours in the Horizon Club Lounge. The lounge was great and very accepting of children. Ours was not loud, but has started walking recently, so wanted to go everywhere, most of the staff and even some guests enjoyed interacting with him.

The room and pool etc was what you would expect from a hotel in this price range.

For us it was the service that stood out and was genuinely 5 star. The personal concierge service provided on the Horizon club level was outstanding. The morning shift was covered by "George", who is as much a character as he was helpful. He will be hard to forget. Such a charming, funny and helpful man I have not met for a while. Sure it's his job, but he does it damn well. Everything from last minute elephant bookings (even for a day that was after our checkout at the hotel), to his personal Khao Soi recommendations, nothing was too much to ask. And trust me with a young kid, there are a lot of things we asked for (warm milk - food heated etc).

The service even continued after out stay - with me forgetting some Strawberry wine I have purchase near Doi Angkhang. The bottles were held in lost property until I phoned a few days later to organise a pickup.

George - you are a legend! Thanks so much!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank koizi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

Although this hotel was "a bit" less luxurious than the Oriental in Bangkok, the Sofitel in Siem Reap, and the Metropole in Hanoi, it was nevertheless a very nice place to spend a couple of nights while in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Harmonysailor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 19, 2012

The Shangri-La Hotel Chiang Mai looks like your similar Shangri-La Hotel, which is good if you like the hotel style. Situated outside of the old city, but very close to the Chiang Mai night market area, a must visit!! The staff are super friendly, as always in Thailand and do their utmost best to provide you with 5 star service & quality. The rooms are a bit outdated and are in need of an upgrade, i.e. new carpet, larger TV, ... The bathroom amenities are from Shangri-La brand, and not of L'Occitane like in other properties.
When comparing Shangri-La properties, you can tell that Shangri-La Hotel Chiang Mai is a bit less 5 star than the other hotels across the world, they don't offer quite the same service, amenities, restaurants, in room dining, ...
Previously mentioned comments about the wifi are correct, it is quite slow. We were in a Horizon Club room with access to the Club Lounge. The choice of drinks was very limited, no cocktails, and the food was quite limited as well, only some light appetizers between 17:30 & 19:30.
All in all we had a good stay except for our arrival transfer to the hotel. We were poorly greeted upon arrival at the airport by the SL concierge and were told to have a seat and wait. We waited for 15 minutes, just sitting on an airport bench, waiting to see what would happen, before he told us to go outside to the car. We had to find our way out of the airport and to the car where luckily the driver was waiting. From my past experience, the airport representative is supported to greet you, take your bags & escort you to the car directly, therefore I found this service really unacceptable.

Room Tip: The higher floors have the best view, as usual. Do ask for a room with a view of the back of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cve01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Shangri-La Chiang Mai is an excellent hotel. The design and decor style is classic with an obvious South Eastern Asia/Thai influence. The hotel is elegantly decorated. The service is superb. The staff are really helpful and the hotel very clean. Rooms are spacious.
The entire premises (both inside and out) are extremely peaceful. I have only great things to say about this hotel. The only downside was that the room was not ready at 14h00 as advertised, but was ready 30 minutes later at 14h30.
I definitely recommend this hotel.

Be aware of the tuk tuk drivers parked outside of the hotel premises. They see an opportunity to rip you off since you are resident at the upmarket Shangri-La. Bargain hard or rather flag down a van, sedan or tuk tuk to take you around.

Loved this hotel!

Room Tip: A Room right at the end of the passage makes for very limited traffic in the vicinity of your room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dezign99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2012

Staffs are very friendly and enthusiastic. Room and environment are nice. But the wireless network needs to be improved, kinda slow. Delicious breakfast. The hotel is very near the night market. A lot of massage places can choose. 7-11 is just opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amamda0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2012

I choose Shangri-la Chiang Mai for my wedding in 11 November 2012 and very happy for did the right decision. They made my day so meaningful with best effort to support no matter what any suddenly request or changes occur. The hotel is so clean and beautiful. I also impress the check-out process at Horizon floss which comfortable for me to check billing details more than counter in reception are. While I were there all the staffs very helpful for every thing and I will definitely recommend Shangri-la Hotel Chiang Mai to friends because I am very certain that the hospitality mind of the staffs and all supreme standard will make their day special like me.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roungnapa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#20 of 392 in Chiang Mai
3,119 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#9 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,478 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Ratilanna Riverside Spa Resort Chiang Mai
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $160 - $424 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, HotelsforEveryone, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Orbitz, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing