We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent property.....but a disapointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Rosa, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“excellent property.....but a disapointment”
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Like all of the Shangri-La's I have stayed at in Asia this one had a superb building, very large and well appointed rooms, and a full supply of extras, e.g, swimming pool, health club, etc.

The difference was the service I've come to expect from Shangri-La. Check-in was sloppy and inattentive. I've had better room and facility overviews from bored bellman in Europe. The guy in their business office I had to wake up to ask questions. It was the middle of the day. I guess given their prices, they didn't have many visitors.

Overall a sterile, over-priced hotel. You can do much better in Chaiang-Mai....we did.

Room Tip: If you're in a large business group your experience may be different. When we were there, 2 days...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank michael1gunnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    514
    133
    31
    23
See reviews for
491
798
126
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

We booked a 5 night, family half term break, at the Shangri-La Chiang Mai, choosing the Horizon Club option. Excellent, attentive staff service particularly from George in the Horizon Club.
Nothing was too much effort from making bookings for activities in the area, to ensuring your wine glass was topped up during the daily "Happy Hour."
Perfect pace to stay for a family break.

Room Tip: Choose the Horizon Club option for a good big room & Club benefits like Happy Hour with hot &...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LesThuilliers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

I was at the hotel to attend a 3-days conference. The staffs are friendly and helpful. Rooms are large and clean. Spacious bathroom with a separate shower cubicle and a bath tub. It is just a 10-minutes walk away from the hustle and bustle of the night market area. I would be happy to stay at the Shangri-La should I visit Chiang Mai again. Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChiaSH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

The hotel is well located, not too noisy and within walking distance to local night markets and other attractions. The service is great and superf! The facility is well maintained, room is spacious! I must say, I have never been so pampered for a long time in a hotel stay. I will definitely want to stay here again the next time I am back in Chang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YC N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2012

We booked into a club floor room and got upgraded to a suite that was huge esp the bathroom. The club floor staff was excellent; really helpful and friendly. They helped us book dinner reservations at another hotel's Thai restaurant, giving recommendations on what to eat (where to sit to get best view of the performance etc), and gave us recommendations on tour to take, which we did book (National Park). On our return they asked us for our feedback, making sure we were happy with the tour, and our dinner experience. I especially want to commend the lady in charge of the club floor - she spoke good English, always has a smile, greeting us in the morning, helping with reservations etc. Hotel location is also good, short distance from the night market, but not right in it (which is not desirable). I would stay at this hotel again for sure, if we visit Chiang mai again.

Room Tip: Go for a club floor room. Rates are more than a regular one but worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank V L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Initially we thought perhaps we should have chosen a hotel a few blocks over in the heart of the hustle and bustle of the night market area (lots of hotels to choose from) but then we realised that 10 minute walk made all the difference - no noise, no tour peddlers, no one bothering you, but still just as easy to get everywhere.

The hotel staff were very helpful and friendly and offered to make a few phone calls for us when we thought Thai language would be advantageous. Rooms are large and very clean & housekeeping staff were very conscientious. The pool is clean and a pretty setting, gym is well equipped. We would be happy to stay at the Shangri-La again.

Seemed to be safe for a single female walking around and the same tuk tuk drivers park outside the hotel every day so I would think they are pretty OK. There is no street food outside the hotel, although there is in the night market. Turn right out of the hotel to walk to the night market. Before you get there, on the left is a computer/electronics mall. There is a small food court on the 4th floor where you can buy pho, rice, curries for 40 baht a serving. If you are desperate for Western food, another block and you have a choice of Starbucks, Subway, McD, Burger King. Local people told us the prices of night market goods are much more expensive than Bangkok, but food prices are cheaper in Chiang Mai.

Lastly, if riding an elephant is on your bucket list, then so be it (if you know how we torture wild elephants to make them tame, I feel sure you will not want to go), otherwise please consider visiting the Elephant Nature Park instead. It is not a high octane tourist spot, but you would be contributing to a wonderful charity that rescues abused elephants and educates Thai people on proper elephant care and at the same time enjoying the opportunity to feed, bathe and get to know the park elephants. Search Trip Advisor for "Elephant Nature Park" for further reviews.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AnnRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

We were diverted to chiang mai because of the heavy rains in the south of Thailand in March 2011 and although our tour operator tried to book us into another hotel we paid a little extra to stay here and had no regrets. The rooms were fantastic, the breakfast good and the swimming pool an added bonus that with the beautiful sunny weather was a must. The hotel felt like a peaceful oasis after a days sightseeing and after a swim in the pool we were ready to stroll into town for an evenings entertainment at the night market and restaurants. Chiang mai and the Shangrila made our trip.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,025 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelsforEveryone, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing