We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Nearby Hotels
Sirilanna Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$104
$88
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$122
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$113
$106
LeMeridien.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
De Naga Hotel(Chiang Mai)
$105
$84
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$80
$56
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tamarind Village(Chiang Mai)
$156
$147
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Rachamankha(Chiang Mai)
$271
$124
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$133
$56
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$380
$281
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$364
$258
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,172)
Filter reviews
2,172 results
Traveler rating
1,415
550
144
35
28
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,415
550
144
35
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshorizon clubkad cafechi spanight marketpremier roompool staffpool areathe executive loungeclub roomconcierge servicemain restaurantbeautiful hotelour honeymoonold citybuffet breakfasttuk tukrooms are large
Filter
Updating list...
1,464 - 1,469 of 2,172 reviews
Reviewed August 19, 2012

My wife and I were sating here for 1 night as we were going zip lining the next day and then returning to Bangkok.

We checked in having booked a premier room on the Golden Circle rate, and were upgraded to a suite, but immediately told very forcefully that the upgrade did not alllow us we could not use the Horizon Club. Given that we had breakfast included and were invited to cocktails that evening by the GM this seemed strange and pointless and undid the positive effect of the upgrade. Kind of like being told you can sit in First Class but we will send you the drinks and food from the back.

We then booked a tennis court that afternoon, but at the booked time there were some others on the court. When we pointed this out at the health center the attendant said we should wait. We pointed out that this is why we booked the court at the specific time and she said that she would rather not upset the people playing and we should ask them to move as she did not want to. Very strange and while I understand the Thai cultural desire of not wanting to get into a conflict but try to please all parties, leaving it to a guest to do the dirty work hardly seems fair.

Finally on checkout our checkout time was guaranteed at 4pm. We arrived back from Zip lining at 3.30pm and I went to the front desk to ask if 4.30pm would be ok. It took them 15 minutes to come back and say they needed the room at 4 pm sharp. Why they could not do this immediately did not make sense, but we rushed up showered and changed, returning the room at 4pm on the dot only to have the bellman not come up until 4.15 to get the bags.

The building is in good order, the rooms are very clean and decent, but perhaps the quality of package tourist this hotel seems to be attracting and the likely low rates that the operators are paying might be not enable the management to retain or train staff to the regular Shangri La standards.

Good value though and breakfast was excellent.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ioveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed in this hotel at the start of our Thailand trip. It is the best hotel we have stayed in during our vacation. The staff were very helpful and spoke good English. The hotel was spotless and very child friendly. My two girls (6+4) loved the swimming pool. They didn't like the kids club area however, they were too old. The breakfast buffet was really good. We hired the hotel car on two occasions and the drivers were good, they drove with due care and attention.
We had the good fortune of attending a welcome drink gathering on our first night and meeting the manager as well, our girls were treated like royalty by the staff who catered to their every whim. I would definitely rebook this hotel

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
1  Thank Lesley G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2012

We entirely enjoyed our stay at the Shangri-La, over 4 + 1 nights. During our first 4 days we were upgraded to an Executive Suite, on the 10th floor (room 1005). Very spacious, very quiet and very comfortable. After 3 days of touring the north, we then returned for a quick over-night and stayed at 2 standard, connecting rooms (809-10). They were obviously not as nice as the suite but they were very good as well - large and comfortable.

The pool was crystal clean and fun to swim in. The tennis court could use some renovation but was still fun to play in. It was not only free, but when you go there, they send you with a towel and water kit, complimentary.

Mostly excellent and kind staff. Those at the 11th floor lounge were especially nice and most welcoming.

There aren't many hotels in the world that can offer this level of service and style for the rates they are offering. We signed up for the 30 days advance purchase rate and got an exceptional deal. If your travel plans are solid, I would recommend this option.

There are a few small things to improve on but I would recommend this hotel wholeheartedly, to anyone who is looking for a great place to stay in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveler_Eyal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

After a poor start of getting a smoke filled room this hotel improvement and became an excellent place to stay. The staff were very nice and helpful. The swimming pool was very enjoyable. This hotel is within walking distance to the night markets and a short tuk tuk to the busy part of town. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2012

I've made a lot comparings before I go there, for this Shangri-la, my expectation is low.

As I expected, the hotel is really just in average. The hotel is more like a mixture of resort and business, the result is you can't experience a real vacation style for both service and facility. Like those 5 star hotels, everything is in expected and nothing special.

For just one bad point, I don't know how the designer of this hotel thought,the next wall of my bed is the bath room of another room, that means, you could heard a lot noises from next room when they use it.

For good sake, 1st of all, it is quite value for money; and, the location is very good, espeacially for first time visitors, it is easy to achieve the temples and jungles both.

Generally, if you are first time visitor, choose it with lower expectation; if you will stay a long time in Chiangmai and wish to spend a really holiday, Mandarin Oriental or Four Seasons shall be the one.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MCJChengdu_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews