We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really a Shangri La”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Not really a Shangri La”
Reviewed June 16, 2012

Stayed for 4 nights and chose this hotel based on the Shangri La reputation, but felt quite disappointed when arriving to the room. Certainly not 5 star, I would put it at an average 4 star. No spirits in the mini bar, no guest service directory, no in-room dining menu, very small TV........... (in the room I was assigned). Had the same issue with a very cold A/C, even when adjusting the temperature upwards of 25C, room still felt cold.

Location wise, its ok, 5 minute walk to the night bazaar and plenty of Tuk Tuk's outside the hotel with very reasonable prices to get around town.

The grounds of the hotel are beautiful, outdoor pool is great, however had lunch at the poolside restaurant that was also below average in terms of food quality. Shangri-La, famed for their F&B offerings, what happened here?

Shangri-La, synonomous with great hotels in the Cities, but I dont think they can do resorts, something missing in this hotel, no arrival experience, no candles in the lobby at night, no live music in the lobby.......

Having travelled to many destinations around the world, I seldom write on this forum, but I feel this hotel needs some love and hope the management could put some va va voom into it. Would I go back, probably yes, as the location was good for my needs, and yes the staff are friendly, but come on Shangri-La, this does not represent your brand.

Room Tip: Avoid adjoining rooms, unless you need, you can always hear the people next door much more clearly i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globus665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,001 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,305
    510
    132
    31
    23
See reviews for
486
788
125
211
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (444)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2012 via mobile

Bought a deal on whotif, am very careful to book a room with a balcony but the Shangrila website was very deceiving! We emailed the hotel and the response we got about the room was very confusing! So we finally arrive to find this hotel is ancient and not 5 star! And to add to the insult no balcony!!!

Better places to stay in Chiang Mai!!!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mishka78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
girvan
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2012

Stayed here mid may for 6 days had a great time.From the time you walk in the door and check in someone is always smiling at you and that was the way it was our whole stay here.Rooms were lovely we were on the 7th floor over looking the pool. Pool was lovely and was never busy they bring you fresh fruit and iced water and cold towel the minute you arriveBreakfast was amazing you could have the choice of fresh fruits, eggs anyway you wanted, smoked salmon,sushi, cereal,miso soup (delicious)and so many cakes and fresh pancakes etc it was hard to choose. .Hotel is in the middle of chaing mai so it is easy to get about on foot. If you want a massage try the womens prison just get tuk tuk to take you it was great and the women are wonderful and full of fun and it only costs 180 baht (£1.60).Try the food on the side of the streets it is amazing.Have a great time we did.

Room Tip: stayed on 7th floor over looking pool.Front of hotel looks onto main road maybe a wee bit noisier.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sheona k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
fairfax, va
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2012

Stayed here as part of a wedding group 4 Nights. Very friendly staff. Convenient to everything. Food was good. Will recommend and stay here again if in Chinag Mai.

Room Tip: Tell them you want a room facing the pool and not the main road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aust
Level 6 Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed June 4, 2012

Stayed here as a family group in adjoining rooms.
The hotel appears to cater more toward corporate guests that tourists. . I dont agree with other reviews that this hotel is dated, the rooms that we had were well equipped with modern facilities and are generously sized and well equipped - especially the bathrooms. The daily fruit platter was a nice touch.
The pool facility is more than adequate and staff (including life guard) are on duty when ever it is open. We were a bit disappointed that our kids werent allowed in the jacquzzi - even with adult supervision, strcitly for 12 years and over.
Staff were courteous and friendly but certainly more reserved than staff in the resorts in which we have stayed in the southern part of the country, perhaps a reflection that there are far less tourist visitors and that it is more a corporate travellers hotel.
The breakfast buffet was vast in its range and the highlight of our stay at the hotel was our dinner which included a dessert bar with a range of magnificent mini dishes. The restaurant has themed dinners every night and it is definately worth giving it a try.
Its proximity to the centre of the city, night markets and Saturday night walking markets is very handy, just a 100to 200 baht tuk-tuk fare to both.
We were happy with our choice and would have no hesitating in staying there again if back in Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Room56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2012

The hotel is in the wrong part of town, many ghost buildings, kind of isolated and not very convenient to explore this beautiful city.
They have no complimentary transportation to the airport, even with the airport being very close, just a few miles away. Very odd for a 5 star hotel. The room was OK but nothing special and certainly below par for such an exclusive brand. The room was freezing, even with A/C turned off and no way to open the windows. They use the "Insert Card "system to get utilities ON, same system very common in cheaper 2 star hotels to save on utilities but I have never found that system in a 5 star hotel before. The only bright spot is the friendly staff but that is pretty much the norm almost everywhere in Thailand.
The entire hotel look drab and depressed, large empty corridors, full of empty stores. When asked about late check-out, I could only get till 2pm. I would NOT stay there again, there are many classy hotels far more affordable and much better located close to the Old Town.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wirral
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2012

We stayed 4 nights as part of a holiday in Thailand and were not sure what to expect but went there to explore and look at temples and elephants. It was very easy, quick and cheap to take a taxi from the airport to the hotel. The hotel was a superb base for our trip - very close to the town itself where there are numerous Buddist temples within walking distance and also a large temple on a mountain about 8 -10km away I think. The taxi ride was well worth the money and it's not worth hiring a car because the taxi fares are very reasonable (we always checked the price with drivers before we set off). The hotel far exceeded our expectations. The entrance and public areas are superbly designed - a stunningly beautiful entrance and lobby. Room was excellent with every need catered for - even desk stationery such as stapler etc! The restaurant where we had breakfast on 2 mornings was superb with every type of food imaginable. We paid a bit extra for the executive floor which was well worth the money and the staff were wonderfully welcoming and helpful and the executive lounge was a perfect place to relax and look back on our enjoyable day trips whilst enjoying the view out over the town to the hills beyond. We also had breakfast in the executive lounge on 2 mornings and you couldn't fault it! We checked in and checked out at the executive lounge which made it very peaceful and stess free and the staff were SO friendly and kind. There is a huge swimming pool and plenty of sun loungers where the staff bring you complimentary water and fruit and there is a gym (I didn't use the gym). The airconditioning in the hotel is very efficient. I have to admit that I didn't use the spa but still put 5 rating because the building was in lovely gardens and I didn't want to put anything remotely negative on this report. I would wholeheartedly recommend the Chiang Mai Shangri La and I cannot imagine how anybody could fault it.

Room Tip: executive floor is well worth paying extra for - high up with good views and access to the executive...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank stephaniewirral
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,979 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,384 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#27 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 383 in Chiang Mai
460 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing