We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel - Amazing service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Ranked #19 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Good hotel - Amazing service”
Reviewed October 18, 2011

We were in Chiang Mai for a Golfing trip and right from the time we checked in, till we checked out 4 days later, the hotel was an absolute delight. The staff were extremely helpful and friendly at all times. Understanding English was sometimes an issue with some of the junior staff but that should be ignored considering the rest of the plus points that the hotel serves. Special mention must be made of the Kad Kafe (Coffee shop and restaurant) which serves some amazing thai food and beverages. The BYOB on tuesdays and wednesdays was a very pleasant surprise. Overall, highly recommend a stay at the Shangrila, Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tsrini11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,020 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,319
    514
    133
    31
    23
See reviews for
491
798
126
212
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (445)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 211 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2011

My friend and I booked this hotel for 4 nights. When we arrived at the airport, we were told that the hotel was "under water". We had no idea what that really meant. The taxi took us to within about a half a mile of the hotel (where the streets became flooded), and we managed to jump onto an army truck, who drove through the waste deep water to the hotel. We jumped out, suitcases over head, and waded to a barricade erected in front of the hotel to keep the water out. We hopped the fence, on to the grounds.

We made our way to the club lounge to see what was what. We were greeted by a very nice lady who sat us down and offered us coffee while we discussed what we were going to do. She candidly told us that it was expected that we would be hotel shut-ins for three days, and she offered us the chance to cancel our non-refundable rooms and go elsewhere. We decided to leave, and this lady spent the next hour calling around to find us rooms elsewhere. She made a recommendation of the U Hotel, and offered a computer to research the hotel, which we did (on Tripadvisor, of course). The U Hotel looked good, so the lady made the reservation for us, and checked us out of the Shangri La. She escorted us back down stairs, and waited with us until a dump truck came by and we jumped in the back and left.

While we did not stay at the hotel, the service that we received from this lady was incredible. She is a shining example of the way service should be. I do not want to mention her name because Thai people are shy by nature and it would embarrass her, but also because I think mentioning specific employees names in reviews is lame ("Jose at the cabana bar makes the best margaritas in the world...."). But she knows who she is.

Room Tip: Don't go when its flooded!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bagoda1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston, South Carolina
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2011

This was my first stay at a Shangri La Hotel brand property and was very pleased with the personal interaction of the staff of the hotel during my stay, especially the Horizon Club staff. Upon entering the hotel, our bags were taken from us and were escorted to the elevator that would bring us up to the Horizon Club level for our check-in. Our host, Taemagin aka George was outstanding and had a genuine interest in our stay. After presenting our travel documents, George personally showed us to our two club level rooms which were one floor below the Horizon club lounge and showed us how each room 'operated'. However, there is staircase located across from the elevator banks to travel between the two levels if your room is not on the same level of the Horizon Club.

The rooms were beautifully furnished with neutral wood tones. It took us a day to figure out how to cover-up the see through clear glass of the bathroom, as the shade is located within the ceiling as we did not receive turn-down service our first night and forgot to request it when we left for the night.

The late afternoon cocktail hour had a nice selection of warm and cold plates, and alcoholic drinks such as red/white wine, local Thai beer and the basic 'well' cocktail liquors. The WiFi is free within the lounge and a hard wire ethernet connection is also free in the room, but our room had a WiFi signal as we were located directly below the Horizon Club.

Breakfast was very relaxing in the Horizon Club compared to main restaurant which Horizon Club guests also have the option of having breakfast at. However, the breakfast selection at then main restaurant, especially the warm items, had a significantly greater selection of ethic diverse items compared to the selection at the Horizon Club. Personally, I enjoyed the quieter and personalized experience that the Horizon Club staff provided for breakfast and ate here the last 2 days of my 3 night stay. There was also an option for cooked-to-order eggs if you opted for breakfast in Horizon Club.

During the late evening cocktail hour, George would actively interact with the guest with ideas for sightseeing, dinner plans, markets and arranging taxis with the front desk concierge staff. There was no need to re-cofirm as the reservations were always perfectly done. A great point that George offered us was how to increase our baggage allowance on Bangkok Airways for the flight back to Bangkok from 20 kg to 30 kg by signing up online for the FlyerBonus frequent flyer program <http://flyerbonus.bangkokair.com/ffp/home.aspx>.

As we traveled during September 2011, which is during the off-season due to the amount of rain, the hotel had a promo of 50% discount on Chi Spa massages. The Lanna Exotic Massage (Tok Sen) is highly recommended as special wooden instrument is used and this technique is only found in Northern Thailand.

The price difference for the Horizon Club is well worth it as the personal detail assistance of the Horizon staff, breakfast and late afternoon cocktails add significant value to your stay. I would highly recommend this hotel if staying in downtown Chiang Mai. Finally, please see my review for the Mandarin Oriental Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai if a 'resort' stay experience is preferred when visiting Chiang Mai, but the Shangri La is a great location if you would like to walk in downtown area.

Room Tip: Book a Horizon Club Level room as the personalized attention during you stay is an outstanding value...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank josephfmessinaDOTcom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2011

Having stayed at Shangri La properties previously we were very comfortable when making a reservation at their Chiang Mai property. From the moment we arrived we found it hard to fault. Stayed in an executive suite in the Horizon Club and loved the large double room suite and the food and drinks on offer at the Horizon Club. The pool would have the be the best in Chaing Mai and one of the best I have every lazed around. Short walk to the night markets up the road and close to everything else you may need in Chiang Mai. Look no further.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tyronn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

Recently stayed 4 nights at Shangri La Chiang Mai. Finally a hotel with a comfortable bed. Staff were kind and attentive and nothing was too much trouble for them. Location was great for entertainment and shopping and the swimming pool was wonderful. Truly an oasis in the city. I will have no hesitation in staying at this fine hotel again

Room Tip: Try to choose a pool view room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BarryT121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2011

Stayed for 8 nights in Aug'11.

We arranged for a hotel car to pick us up from the airport. On arrival one of our cases had decided not to follow us. The hotel had arranged for two of their staff to greet us and was able to ascertain that our luggage was to follow on a subsequent flight from Bangkok and were happy to wait until it appeared.

We opted for a Horizon Club room based on previous TA reviews.
This proved to be one of the best decisions we have ever made!

Our room 1021, was on the corner of the hotel with views facing towards the city and airport with mountains beyond. The room was more like a suite, very clean & spacious with excellent bathroom facilities.

The Horizon Club lounge is on the floor above (11) with views over pool, gardens and mountains. Happy hour is between 5.30-7.30 and is the perfect way to start the evening.

''George'', the executive club manager & his team were brilliant, their service was not just impeccable, but I would go as far as to say intuitive in making our stay in Chiang Mai as comfortable and memorable as possible.

The pool is a very good size for a city hotel and is set in luscious gardens. The attentive staff provides iced water and towels together with poolside food/drinks service.

From the moment you enter the hotel to the moment you reluctantly leave the friendliness and level of service of the staff never falters.

As someone who has travelled extensively on business/pleasure I would 100% recommend this hotel and would even go out of my way to stay in it again.

Room Tip: Go for a Horizon Club room....you will not be sorry!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank NewOldGit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 12, 2011

An oasis of calm and luxury. Luxurious room with huge en-suite bathroom with separate shower stall had a sliding panel wall so that you could watch TV from the bath! Our room at the corner of the hotel even had a decked patio with shrubs. The pool area is magnificent, attentive staff bringing iced water, abundant comfortable loungers and a sparkling huge pool and enormous jaccuzi. Breakfasts offered a huge choice catering to international customers. Their croissants and Danish pastries are about the best I have eaten anywhere in the world, including Denmark, and they bring round a daily fresh squeezed fruit juice. Nothing was too much trouble for anyone in the hotel. The location is about 500m from the start of the Night Market. Spoil yourself and stay here.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LHSDoha_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.4 mi away
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
Le Meridien Chiang Mai
#21 of 386 in Chiang Mai
3,021 reviews
0.3 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 386 in Chiang Mai
2,404 reviews
2.3 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,854 reviews
2.4 mi away
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
Akyra Manor Chiang Mai
#3 of 386 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ping Nakara Boutique Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai

Property: Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai
Address: 89/8 Chang Klan Road, Chiang Mai 50100, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai 5*
Number of rooms: 277
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located on Chang Klan Road, the Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai is within easy walking distance of the city's famous Night Bazaar. Situated in a lush garden setting, the hotel is just a 10 minute drive from Chiang Mai International Airport. It also enjoys close proximity to fascinating museums, cultural centers, and Chiang Mai's numerous temples, shops and boutiques. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsforEveryone and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shangri-La Hotel, Chiang Mai reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shangri La Chiang Mai
Chiang Mai Shangri La

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing