We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful villa hotel with friendly staff”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #41 of 386 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful villa hotel with friendly staff”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

We chose this hotel because we were traveling for our honeymoon and wanted to stay somewhere a little nicer during our trip. My husband and I loved our room. We had a king bed on the second floor of the villa that was quite large with a good size balcony and bathroom. Everything was very clean and the AC worked well at night (not that we needed to use it too often as the nights in Chiang Mai were pretty cool). The courtyard in the center of the villa had a beautiful relaxing tropical atmosphere perfect for an afternoon or pre-dinner cocktail. Breakfast was very good as well. If you didn't want American style breakfast (eggs/bacon/sausage) you still had lots of choice of fruits, cereal, coffee and traditional Thai options (noodles, rice etc.). The staff were very helpful in making recommendations for dinner and other outings. This hotel was also in a good location within walking distance to the old city as well as the Wawarot Market and the Night Market.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boydee27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 11, 2014
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us.

We are glad that you had an enjoyable stay with us. In particular our rooms, our centralize location , staff friendliness and our food offerings.

We will definitely share this with the team .

We look forward in welcoming you once again to Banthai Village Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

663 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    300
    86
    14
    11
See reviews for
172
292
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Our "Superior Double" room was nicely decorated, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom was spacious. There were a few things about the room that were annoying though. The bed was on a platform that was half a metre wider than the bed - this made getting in and out of bed awkward. The sink faucet was too small and placed too far back so whenever we washed our hands water would end up on the floor. There were no available sockets except in the bathroom, I had to unplug a lamp so I could charge my phone. On the positive side, it was in a good location, a short walk to the old town and some nice temples in the area. Staff were friendly and helpful. The breakfast was 150 baht for the continental breakfast (cereal, yogurt, fruit, toast), it was just okay (250 baht if you wanted eggs and sausage), but taken in a nice location by the pool. The pool was nice if a bit chilly.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edrial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience and I am so sorry about the inconvenient in the bathroom and design I have taken well note for your comment and will report this comment to the board We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2014

Then hotel is well-located, and a short walk to shops and what passes for nightlife in Chiang Mai. The room was well-furnished and comfortable, but the sink in the bathroom had only cold water, which i consider unacceptable in a hotel of this class. The shower had a flash hot water heater that delivered warm but not hot water. The breakfast buffet was ample, with a good variety for all nationalities.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SteveVA69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so sorry for about bathroom facility and design I have taken well note for your comment and will report this comment to the board Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2014

Just sat on my balcony at the Banthai Village in Chiang Mai... Want a great place .. Small , cosy and although full, not crowded .. Right in the heart of it all - 10 mins walk one way to the old town and 10 mins walk the other way to the night bazaar. We are staying in a junior suite as part of our honeymoon - room is lovely and large and they even put some decoration on our bed for our arrival . Would highly recommend!

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nuttynicki1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at our Banthai Village. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience and that we were able to surprise you on your honeymoons trips with the flower decoration. We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emeryville, California
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This was a nice hotel, it was centrally located so you can go out and be in the middle of Chiang Mai. The staff was very friendly and the room was big enough for myself. Don't open the window to the alley from the bathroom because it can be very smelly on a warm day. There are very inexpensive laundry services down the main street, cheapest on our trip, so if you are staying at this hotel, do your laundry! The free breakfast was good and if you don't want to leave the hotel, their restaurant at night is actually very good.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience . I have taken note of your comment regarding the location ,staff , breakfast quality and restaurant and will take time to review our selection with our Director of Restaurants and Bars.
We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
132 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2014

This boutique hotel is located very centrally but hidden in side streets. There are tuk tuks waiting nearby. The rooms are charmingly exotic but my bed was basically a large mattress on a raised floor. Breakfast near the small pool is fine but the coffee is harmless filter coffee. The slightly spicey Thai stir-fried pork was a nice change of pace from eggs. You can order an "American Breakfast" with small hot dogs, bacon and eggs but I would recommend the stir-fried pork. Fruits are good too. Personel speak reasonable English but some are only moderately fluent. Very helpful when I had troubles with some shirts I ordered. Every day there were kids at breakfast so this hotel seems to be popular with families.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Swiss_MnM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our village and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with your family again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 24, 2014

Love the hotel setting. Booked 5 rooms and stayed for 5 nights. Rooms are clean and comfortable and great location. Only downside is the smell of the water when you turn it on. If you have a 3rd person, you'll only be given a thin mattress.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, February 2, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 386 in Chiang Mai
976 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#39 of 386 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#32 of 386 in Chiang Mai
961 reviews
2.0 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
Raming Lodge Hotel & Spa
#52 of 386 in Chiang Mai
1,314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing