We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, but can be better”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Hong Kong, China
1 review
“Good, but can be better”
Reviewed January 21, 2014

The hotel is pretty, and worth for its price.
However, my toilet is so opened that I can see through outside from the wooden windows, the staffs seems use there as a storage area. You can hear they are talking loudly. And that is really a problem of privacy.
But I would like to recommend their sister shop just 10 meter away if you walked out from the reception and turned left. The Taiwanese woman is always friendly and helpful to the guests, although you didn't spent on their travel agent and restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vistra998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 23, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! The staff will be delighted to read your comments, especially Ms. Julice Taiwanese women that you had mention and her team at Rom Po boutique our sister hotel .
I noted your comment about our staff talking loudly and I will report to our General Manager for this comment ,and sorry for all of them .
Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    295
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
167
285
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 17, 2014

We stayed her for 2 nights and really wished we could have stayed longer. It is in a great location, a few blocks from the night market but tucked away so you don't hear any noise. I would absolutely come back here. You feel like you are staying at a spa and the staff was amazing. We also had the breakfast each morning which was very good. The room was extremely clean and well kept. We had hot water and air-con (although we did not need it). Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shanns22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 18, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at the Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience I have taken note of your comment regarding the Location the room ,breakfast quality and staff .
We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 11, 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I recently stayed here for 3 nights. Nice boutique hotel, well presented and the rooms were clean and comfortable. Good selection of breakfast food and free wifi worked fast. Location is great, only a five minute walk to the old town (15-20min taxi from airport - 150 baht). Room included a DVD player which was a plus for us. Like many, we find the hotel to be a nice little retreat.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Relmcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our Banthai Village and especially the room , location , wifi , breakfast I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with your family again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014

Firstly, the location is great. It's tucked down an alleyway, but is very close to the night market, and an easy walk to the old city.

Room was clean and tidy.

The staff were extremely helpful and friendly, and were able to provide us with good information when we requested it.

The breakfast was of a good quality, and an enjoyable way to begin each day.

We would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank William_was_taken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Banthai Village is down a small street off the busy Thapae Road but once there - it is very quiet and secluded. It is very handy to the Night Markets (turn right at end of street) and to the Thapae Gate (turn left) and only 10-12 minutes from the airport. Our room was upstairs/downstairs with a balcony off the upstairs bedroom that looked out over the pool and bar area. Upstairs had a toilet / washbasin but no hot water. The bathroom (including another toilet) was downstairs but lacked hot water to the wash basin. Our shower didn't drain all that well and ended up flooding the bathroom floor. There was another drain at the other end of the bathroom which allowed the overflow water to drain away - but it was a bit annoying The bed in our room (214) had a very firm mattress and was just a little too hard for our liking - but in saying that - we slept well. Overall, the room was very quaint and clean and nice and airy and we loved the traditional style and decor. There was also a safe downstairs for valuables. The staff were very friendly and check-in / check-out was very quick. We didn't use the pool but it looked very nice and there were plenty of others using it. We used the laundry just outside the hotel, which was very cheap and they did a great job.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 15, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments, I noted your Positive comment and sorry about the shower and the bath room we have taken well note and will prove it urgently . Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jurong, Singapore
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Wanted to book another hotel but was fully booked and was recommended BanThai instead. I totally did not regret staying there. Hotel ws centralized and convenient to almost all attractions. During my 3D2N trip there, I do not even need to take any public transport. (only 1 i took is to my spa).

Staff there are very helpful and when my hubby and I was wondering which tailor / spa to go, they recommended a few and arranged transport for us.

Our room is facing the pool therefore during night, the whole place was totally peaceful. Not much traffic noise. We took the top floor and i do not know if they did upgrade my room as it was really spacious for both room and bathroom with high roof.

The only thing is the breakfast which i think can have more varieties.

Giving me another chance, i will definately visit BanThai again. <3

Room Tip: Get top floor facing pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lil_Happiness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai VillageChiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience . I have taken note of your comment and We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Location Location Location.
1. I just didn't like the lack of privacy, the curtains had to be closed all day, all the way.
2. Don't stay at 517, it's on the first floor near the stairs you can hear everyone go up and down zzz
3. Rooms are small, thankfully we took the suite or we would have hardly any place to move!
4. What is up with the tap and the sink! It was crazy! Stupid design!
5. Electric kettle was nasty, I washed it out but was still afraid to drink anything from it, white residue which would not come off and it smelled funny.
6. The reception staff, urgh, unfriendly much?!
7. Mozzies! Ok, I'm usually prepared with my own coil, patches and electric version but it was cold while we were there and still so many mosquitoes! Bit shocking, thank goodness we were prepared cos the hotel didn't have anything setup.

The good:-
1. As I mentioned the location was pretty good, walking distance to the night market and *hangs head in shame* Starbucks
2. The pillow cases are uber pretty.
3. Breakfast was pretty good.

Basically, someone who designed the hotel clearly has taste and an eye for aesthetics but it just seems that they expanded too quickly and no one bothered to think about space and function. Perhaps the rooms in the main building are better.

It's nice perhaps just not for us.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ze_succubus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 9, 2014
Dear Valued quests,

Thank you very much for giving us a chance to serve you during your recent visit and sharing your comment through TripAdvisor. We are very sorry to hear that your stay was not as good as you expected. Your comments are of our utmost concern and we would like to explain to you as follow.
1. I just didn't like the lack of privacy, the curtains had to be closed all day, all the way.
-sorry for make you disappointed with our properties due to we're a small boutique hotel in the heart of Chiangmai we're not a resort to give you for the lack of privacy and this period that your recent stay we're heavy fully booked due to our peak period .
2. Don't stay at 517, it's on the first floor near the stairs you can hear everyone go up and down zzz
- if you don't like this room you should inform with the problem of the room and would change the room with our receptionist ,we will try to do it for you. and for the noisy from everyone go up and down just only the day and some time in the night.
3. Rooms are small, thankfully we took the suite or we would have hardly any place to move!
-the room that you recent stay are the bigger one in the building number 5 ,secondary from the family rooms and sorry about the space for your suite we do try to prove It ASAP.
4. What is up with the tap and the sink! It was crazy! Stupid design!
-all about the tap and the sink our owner he was build it like the tap and the sink like a lanna local house in Chiangmai ,such as no hot water in the sink etc. however I am say sorry for the owner to make you disappointed with his desired.
5. Electric kettle was nasty, I washed it out but was still afraid to drink anything from it, white residue which would not come off and it smelled funny.
-I have taken well note for this comment and asked housekeeper to clarify about this problem, white residue is very hard to move it out due to water that was boiled and I have inform them change a new for this room and why if you have this problem why you didn't inform our staff we always to service.
6. The reception staff, urgh, unfriendly much?!
-please kindly be inform that normally I had train them every year and mostly guests appreciated with their service. Would you mild if you remember his/her name please kindly inform me direct to info@banthaivillage.com I am very appreciate and I will recheck if his/her unfriendly like you had informed I will inform and caution them to prove their service.
7. Mozzies! Ok, I'm usually prepared with my own coil, patches and electric version but it was cold while we were there and still so many mosquitoes! Bit shocking, thank goodness we were prepared cos the hotel didn't have anything setup.
-about the mosquitoes the your room due to we're situated in the open area not like the big building hotel and we're always pest control every 15 days ,normally our housekeep they will spay Mosquito repellent very time it they make the room or turn down the room in every evening evening , if must more you can inform our receptionists to spay the mosquito repellent spay again when you go out and leave your key.
Basically, someone who designed the hotel clearly has taste and an eye for aesthetics but it just seems that they expanded too quickly and no one bothered to think about space and function. Perhaps the rooms in the main building are better.
-The building number 5 that you recent stay is the new one that open since 1 Nov 2012 , and this building we was built for supported for more clients that they would like to stay with us during their trips in Chiangmai before we grand opening the building number 5 we had inspected and tested everything that we thought the new building is very comfortable and the room very new , anyway if the building number 5 it's make you disappointed we're very sincerely sorry about that and for the next trips if you come to Chiangmai , we hope to welcome you again for apologies all about the problem that you comment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing