We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want the personal touch”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #36 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“If you want the personal touch”
Reviewed December 27, 2013

lovely small hotel which offers a personal touch that the larger hotels lack. Very close to the night bazaar which is where most of the action is in Chaing Mai. Hotel staff are very helpful and the fact you get free WiFi is a bonus. Would defo recommend this to anyone traveling to the area.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fossey120383
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, January 1, 2014
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments, Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

649 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    250
    295
    79
    14
    11
See reviews for
167
285
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 6, 2013

We loved the hotel, we thought it was an oasis in the middle of a bustling city. The location was perfect; walking distance to many shops and restaurants and minutes away from the night market.The hotel itself is very beautiful, it has a great design with a nice atmosphere and Thai music to help you relax. Hotel staff is helpful and friendly.We would certainly stay there again!


Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Alejam22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 8, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good experience with us. The staff will be delighted to read your comments, I noted your comment regarding the design ,the music at the pool ,the location etc. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tenterfield, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights and found it to be a beaut place right in the middle of wherever we wanted to go. Walked down a little alley way to be on one of the main roads with numerous tuk tuks going past wanting to know if we wanted to go somewhere!! Staff were extremely friendly nothing was a bother even going above and beyond in their service to us.though we were wary of any sort of foods we ate in their resturant every night as we found their food to be simple,tasty, and fresh. They also provide entertainment at dinner time. As they advertise their hotel as a Boutique hotel, this is what drew me to booking it (as well as a friend saying how good it was!!) Not like the major hotel chains being clinical, i found Banthai Village to be clean culturally quaint with authentic fixtures, but most importantly safe!!!( not that we felt unsafe any time in the city of Chiang Mai. I thoroughly reccommend this place to any seasoned or first time traveler.

Room Tip: Book a 1st floor room so you can sit out on the balcony and read/relax
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mummab69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing such a positive review of our Banthai Village and especially the Staff ,the food at the restaurant and etc. and I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with you again in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed December 4, 2013

My room was on the top floor, overlooking the pool. It was an interesting room in that is was two floors! I had a private balcony on the top floor, and the bed and bathroom, icebox, were on the top as well. On the main floor was the bathroom with shower, wardrobe, and a slightly smaller patio space. The room was great, atmosphere of the entire place was peaceful and had real local charm. The attractions desk was very helpful and managed to get me on many tours despite my last minute requests. They had nightly live music that was very nice, and a great pool, though small. The location is AMAZING! Walking distance (less than 5 mins) to anywhere, and with the Loy Krathong Festival, this hotel was in the middle of the two best locations for lanterns and parades; yet at night you couldn't hear any of the crowds or noise. The service was average, and extra charges here and there which would typically be complimentary. I didnt have the food, as there are many local restaurants so close. I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Upper floors have a great view of the courtyard, and the dual floor idea was very neat. I was furthe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kwiebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience such as the design of the room the location and atmosphere. We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai, hopefully sooner than in 10 years time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 3, 2013

We stayed at this hotel 2 nights.
The hotel is well located near the Thapae Gate and night markets.The service was also good.
the bathroom was a bit strange, with a big hole in the ground Shub and weak tap i and a strange shower curtain that formulated the bathroom blinds.
Breakfast we average.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GregAndrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review here in Tripadvisor! I was so happy to ready that you had such a good location. I noted your comment regarding the weak tap in the bathroom. the bathroom was deign by the owner and the bath tub like a Japanese mix old Lanna styles ,the weak tap due to the period that you had stayed with us our room was very dense and normally this building no any problem with the weak tap since open last year anyway I am very sorry for this inconvenience and I will report this comment to our technician to recheck and fix it. Thank you again for sharing your feedback and I hope it will not be long before we can welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
191 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed December 1, 2013 via mobile

The banthai village is well located to walk into the city or to the night bazaar. The service is very average. Some good days other bad. They did not cook my wife's breakfast correctly, acted like calling a taxi for us was a major inconvenience etc.... The best part was afternoon music that was very nice between day of site seeing and night of bazaar hanging.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ted R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here Banthai Village Chiang Mai. I have taken note of your comment regarding They did not cook your wife's breakfast correctly, acted like calling a taxi for you was a major inconvenience etc. I will take time to review this selection with our Director of Restaurants and Bars and Front Office Supervisor to improve our quality and service and sorry again for this matter.
we hope you'll choose BanThai Village the next time you're in Chiang Mai.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2013 via mobile

Perfect location! Only 120 baht to the airport (one-way). Halfway between old town and the night market (only a few blocks each way). Very friendly staff. Delicious Thai dinner menu (15% off from 5-7p). Relaxing quiet areas throughout the premises. The rooms were decent, a crack in the door lock allowed in some flies...and the showers weren't the nicest (a cement poured hole...), but they were quaint... I would have loved a workout room, but I guess that's not a big deal. Free wifi in rooms and lobby too.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MichiB224
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banthai-RSVN, Front Office Manager at BanThai Village, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Thank you for your recent review of your stay here at Banthai VillageChiang Mai. I was delighted to read you had such a positive experience . I have taken note of your comment regarding Very friendly staff. Delicious Thai dinner menu (15% off from 5-7pm). Relaxing quiet areas throughout the premises and for the room that you had comment I will recheck with Housekeeping Supervisor and the technician to fix it immediately we're grateful if you can specific which room number that you recent stay .We look forward to seeing you back here in Chiang Mai and thank you again for your stayed with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#42 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 477 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#29 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#25 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing