We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean, comfortable & quiet.”
Review of BanThai Village

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BanThai Village
Ranked #44 of 383 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Sunshine Coast
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Clean, comfortable & quiet.”
Reviewed January 19, 2013

After an uncomfortable stay in Bangkok, this hotel was just lovely. We had a large room with a daybed for our 19 year old daughter. She's very short so it was an ok size, a tall teenager wouldn't have been comfortable. We were sick with throat viruses & exhausted when we arrived on Christmas Day so were really looking forward to unwinding and relaxing. Just as we lay down for a late afternoon rest, very loud Christmas Carols began playing in the area outside our room. We'd pretty much had a gutful of 'Frosty the Snowman' after several weeks in SE Asia so I requested the music be turned down in our section which was across a small laneway. They seemed perplexed but carried out my request. Other guests nearby spoke to me and thanked me for arranging the decrease in volume. The room was spacious and very clean. Little shower pressure but we'd adjusted to that after a few weeks in SE Asia. Lovely big bath though. Laundry very expensive but just outside in the laneway it was very cheap to have laundry done and we were happy with the result. It's a little disconcerting to walk up the laneway later to see your undies drying on a line but we just shrugged and kept walking. We were disappointed with the service on the reception. Our tour was very late to pick us up but the staff wanted 30 baht to phone him to see if there was a problem. Another day we were quoted 1200 baht for a tour in a taxi, but later it was 1000 baht. The taxi did not come and we waited nearly an hour and a half in the lobby. When we asked for our money back and went out into the street we found the taxi that had been called for us. They'd only been called 15 mins prior, and the driver speculated that their regular driver was unavailable. We'd been told the wait was because the Prince and Princess had arrived and there was a traffic jam. This was not true. The taxi took us on our tour for 600 baht. These experiences leave a bad feeling, especially as people on the street in Chiang Mai had been extremely helpful. This took a little getting used to after many people attempted to scam us in Bangkok. All in all a good stay - we appreciated the comfort & cleanliness of the room.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weyba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

657 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    252
    296
    84
    14
    11
See reviews for
169
289
39
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (81)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Mount Gambier, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
397 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2013 via mobile

After an unprepossessing drive through an alleyway we arrived at a surprisingly good looking and well appointed hotel. Staff service was good and helpful and the accommodation a good standard. Only negatives are many mosquitos around the outdoor seating area, noisy wooden flooring from the upper storey and completely inadequate car parking.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bomoh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney Australia
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for the first time in dec 2011 & then again this week. This is a great little hotel built in the traditional Lanna style. It has character, ambience and is very comfortable with a variety of room types. It's very rare that we like to stay at the same hotel twice but we loved being back here and would gladly stay here again. Couldn't fault it.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mkc2576
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 28, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay here for 3 nights. Staff were helpful and very accommodating. They even opened up a blocked inter connecting door for us for our family. Wonderful bathrooms, beds a bit hard but that's standard in Thailand. We didn't have breakfasts at hotel so can't comment on food. Food is so cheap outside. Pool serves its purpose while small and often in shade, its cool after walking around the city in the heat, kids thoughly enjoyed playing in it. kids also enjoyed the two areas, lobby and a open aired library that had computers in for you to use. Wifi in rooms where free. dvd hire in rooms free. We had standard rooms at the back facing towards the pool and they were lovely. think all rooms you would be happy with - maybe except ground level at the man pool area. no real private area. After being in the Hilltribe villages (with Thailand Hilltribe holidays - this is a must do experience by the way!!!) this hotel was luxury as husband said!
If you go out the back entrance and head down Kampaengdin rd (main road behind hotel) you will find some fantastic st stall food, first massage place you hit husband said the best he has had, there is laundry place 30B per kilo ( not per item as in hotels etc) and well washed. All this with in 2 mins walk. Great location as you are also 5mins walk from night bazzar, and also from Talat Warorot (old markets). Found same stuff as at the Sunday walking st and Saturday walking st but cheaper here. A maze of streets to wander through. Don't miss if you are going to the Saturday walking st night markets (20 min walk 5 mins tuk tuk) the night lights at the Wat Sri Suphan (temple) and the opportunity to sit and talk with the monks. Whole family loved it. Think there is 3 temples that do this - called monk chats. And with this hotel you are 5 mins walk also from the old city gates. Tip don't miss the cart selling sweet rotis 3 mins down road on Thapae rd towards the old city gates. fantastic! 6B for a plain one!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank afamilytrip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed December 23, 2012 via mobile

After three great days of touring Chiang Mai and surrounding area, my partner and I decided to pass on another day trip. We checked out of our cute guesthouse in Old Town and settled in at BanThai Village. Total urban oasis. Our room was beautiful, the natural light filtered through coloured windows was relaxing and refreshing. The A/C worked very well, the bed was soft (for Thailand), and the hot water was very reliable. We picked it because of its price and nice pool area. It was a great decision for a little getaway in the city.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rovergaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2012

BanThai is an awesome boutique hotel for the money. It's got so much character... It feels like you're staying in a Thai treehouse. Is it 4 star lodging? Not necessarily, but that's not what we were after. Scents of jasmine sweep through the place, giant snails cling precariously to the landscaping and everything's just so... zen.

Service was touch-and-go... Really depending on the staff you were working with. Breakfast was solid. Pool was nice. The location is perfect--you can really get most places by foot or very quicky via tuk-tuk.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nphummel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southern England
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed December 18, 2012

We very nearly didn’t stay here; I had my eye on a more expensive hotel but decided to compromise and economise on this part of our trip. So I wasn’t expecting much when we arrived at Banthai. When we came to check in, I was so impressed with the look and feel of the hotel. I honestly can’t imagine anywhere nicer to stay in Chiang Mai. The whole hotel is expertly designed in a modern but Eastern style, more Japanese than Thai perhaps. It has a very ‘spa’ feel, with gently flowing water and softly playing background music. There are two blocks, the first is built around the breakfast/bar/main swimming pool area and the other (where we stayed) is only a few steps away, set around a smaller feature pool. I loved the balcony areas on our first floor; they’re not private- they run along a ‘corridor’ on the upstairs decking- but they were warm and woody and a lovely, beautiful place to relax. Our room was fairly small but very nice with a beautifully designed bathroom featuring a great shower in a lowered cube-shape that you had to step right down into- I was a big fan of this! On the top floor we didn’t suffer any serious problems with mosquitoes and the hotel actually provides a couple of small sachets of repellent.

Breakfast is simple but ok, offering the usual, standard hotel fare. Complaints on Tripadvisor that the Reception staff were unfriendly are unfair. It’s not a ‘home away from home’ feeling or a place to go for advice, but we found them polite and efficient. It also felt very safe- there’s a security guard at night. The location was very convenient, especially for the night market. There is everything nearby that you could want or need, and all the local drivers found Banthai without any issues at all. It’s tucked away from the main road, which allows a real sense of calm away from the City streets. It seems odd that a place this ‘zen’ even exists in the middle of Chiang Mai! Chiang Mai is a great city with a relaxed vibe but it takes a while to orientate yourself. Coming from Luang Prabang, I was expecting a quieter, more jungly atmosphere and Chiang Mai didn’t impress much on first impressions, but the city really grew on us- and it particularly dazzles at night- so I was sad to leave this lovely hotel after just 3 nights. Given the price and quality found here, you’d be well advised to book Banthai and avoid expensive alternatives.

Room Tip: I would choose an upper floor because the balconies are so nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rubiachica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.5 mi away
Bodhi Serene Hotel
Bodhi Serene Hotel
#35 of 383 in Chiang Mai
964 reviews
0.1 mi away
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
De Chai The Colonial Hotel
#45 of 383 in Chiang Mai
484 reviews
0.4 mi away
De Naga Hotel
De Naga Hotel
#30 of 383 in Chiang Mai
952 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#11 of 383 in Chiang Mai
2,073 reviews
0.2 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 383 in Chiang Mai
1,830 reviews
0.5 mi away
Yaang Come Village
Yaang Come Village
#39 of 383 in Chiang Mai
920 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BanThai Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BanThai Village

Property: BanThai Village
Address: 19 Tapae Soi 3, Tapae Rd. | Changklan, Mueang, Chiang Mai 50130, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#29 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#32 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — BanThai Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banthai Village is the mini size hotel that tries to keep balance between the tradition and modernity among the changes of the world. This modern-Lanna decorated hotel, consisting of 23 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your BanThai Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Banthai Village Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing