We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely splace to stay in Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
Ranked #93 of 777 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice basic spacious clean rooms. Very nice staff that was very helpfull.
Affordable menu with food, snacks and drinks. We enjoyed the garden at night when we came back from town. Our gin tonic was waiting for us, with a friendly talk with one of the hosts.
the hotel is not in the center but it's only a 20 min walk.

They offer a few trips but they are rather expencive and standard.
We booked a driver for one day and chose or own destinations. Not the standard elephant park and snake show...

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank schelleke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Hollanda Montri Guesthouse
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

80 - 86 of 172 reviews

Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

Room was clean and big. Little expensive for Chiang Mai, especially given its slightly middle of nowhere, have to taxi to anywhere in the city. However the tour options are affordable and the staff are unusually friendly and the breakfast menu is very yummy! If I wanted a quiet stay I would go back but if I was on a budget and wanted something in a fun location I wouldn't.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kenzybear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Very sweet staff.. Good varied food with some dutch dishes!
It's a 20/25 minute walk to the centre with is ok but if you don't like to walk that far you can take a bike.
The rooms are simple but clean.
The only thing is that the hotel next to the guesthouse has got live music every night.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dolaurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012

We spent three nights at Hollanda Montri and then moved a little further into the town. The guest house was clean, and well appointed. Food was fine, but I agree with other reviews - for a little more you can get quite a bit extra in Chiang Mai. One member of staff - the man (can't remember his name) - would have done anything he could to help us both, and was very sweet. Enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jamandam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2012

Really nice place, friendly staff,helpful,basic,clean,cheap room.

It was too far out for me, got lost for ages trying to walk/find our way back..tuks tuks were cheap enough though..mere pennies....stick with them...Lots of mosquitos being right by the river..(that put me off) although really nice sitting outside watching the fisherman.
lovely outdoor seating area.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovelylindsey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed here for four nights in December. The rooms are basic but spacious and clean. The location is 1,5 km from the center. A bit far to walk every time, we paid 80 Bath for the tuktuk but you can probably get it for 60 Bath. Also the garden/restaurant near the river is very nice and relax.

However the staff is very strange and feels unfriendly at some points. The manager acted a bit akward. He talked very fast and just has a wierd way of acting. I don't know how to explain it any further. The other female manager was very active but her way of talking did not invite to ask any more questions. She was loud and every question seemed one to much.
Some of the other staff was ok but when you asked a question they looked bored and after you walked away I had the feeling they talked about us even though I don't speak Thai.

Overal price is good and garden is very nice. I enjoied most of my stay because we just had the least contact with the staff as possible. We only had breakfast there once because of the staff and it was pretty expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DxpZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2012

The rooms are basic, but they are clean and comfortable. The shower was hot and the air conditioning worked most of the time. The room was advertised as non-smoking, and that is what we got- so thankful! For the price I paid, I definitely couldn't complain. The staff was very nice and helpful. We rented bicycles and a motorbike from the hotel, which was very convenient. One of the staff, Sawat, also showed us different attractions and restaurants on a map of Chiang Mai that the hotel provided. The location is not far from the center of Chiang Mai. You can take a tuk-tuk or song-taew for 50baht. It is also located on the Ping river. My wife and I enjoyed relaxing on the wood deck after a day of sight-seeing.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelerforGod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.2 mi away
Mountain View Guest House
Mountain View Guest House
#89 of 777 in Chiang Mai
178 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tri Gong Residence
Tri Gong Residence
#167 of 777 in Chiang Mai
247 reviews
1.7 mi away
Dozy House
Dozy House
#47 of 777 in Chiang Mai
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Bon Ca Va
Bon Ca Va
#50 of 777 in Chiang Mai
141 reviews
1.0 mi away
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
Thaphae Garden Guesthouse
#173 of 777 in Chiang Mai
223 reviews
1.5 mi away
Pha-Thai House
Pha-Thai House
#67 of 777 in Chiang Mai
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hollanda Montri Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hollanda Montri Guesthouse

Address: 365 Charoenrat Rd., Faham,, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #93 of 777 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $14 - $26 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hollanda Montri Guesthouse 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family style guesthouse along the river , with spectacular views and a relax setting . Great food western and Thai style room price starting from 500 bht . AL major tourist destinations are here we also provide a huge range of tours and trekking ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, HostelWorld, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hollanda Montri Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing