We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Needs a serious cleaning and a lick of paint.” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pagoda Inn

Pagoda Inn
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chiang Mai
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Pagoda Inn
Ranked #439 of 710 Chiang Mai B&B and Inns
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Needs a serious cleaning and a lick of paint.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2010

Have to agree with the most recent review of this place, there are much better places and better value for money to be had elsewhere in Chiang Mai. You can tell the Pagoda Inn was once a great hotel with a bit of style but it is crying out for a thorough clean and a lick of paint. The rooms are damp and foisty, with an off putting smell. The bathroom was always damp as the drainage didnt work properly.

It did have a great shower mind, one of the best i've had in a long time, but you just dont want to touch the walls while you're showering in risk of getting mouldy.

Its a nice enough place, relatively quiet, staff are friendly and position is great but there are plently of places round and about it for the same or cheaper price with a lot nicer rooms. Definately pays to look else where.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mr-Jamie2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    3
    5
    4
    3
    5
See reviews for
2
5
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2010

This place isn't awful by any means, but it isn't terribly good. The rooms were hot as hell, the fan was filthy, and the bed was just a mattress on the ground. I realize it's a budget place (300 baht a night), but we went down the road the next day and found a place for 250 that was way, way better. The place is fine if you're totally screwed for accommodations, but otherwise, I would look elsewhere.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank davehazzan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chiang Mai hotels

Melbourne
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2008

A friend and I took the sleeper train from Bangkok to Chiang Mai and had not pre-booked our accommodation so we made some friends with some French travelers on the train who were heading to Pagoda Inn which they highly recommended so we decided to go check it out. We were not disappointed it was exactly what we were hoping for.
Pagoda Inn is a small maze of gorgeous rooms of different styles and quality. The entire establishment just oozes style and serenity. A central tree shaded courtyard with fish pond is a great place to relax with friends, alone with a book or for breakfast which the guest house serves. They can also do lunch and dinner which is a bonus if you're too exhausted to treck out into the town.
Very close to the main city, Thai Pai gate and the Sunday Market. Rooms are also very affordable usually costing around 200B per night. I stayed on here for the whole month as I just fell in love with the place and Chiang Mai itself. I can't recommend this place enough, hence this review.

  • Liked — The quiet environment, closeness to everything, clean rooms and great staff.
  • Disliked — No wifi, but they do have a hub for broadband so bring your own cable.
  • Stayed November 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank dorris-luke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2007

Got the contact from another Guest House - and absolutely loved it from the first moment. Really nice atmosphere, it seems that 3 different houses were connected to make this little guesthouse. In the middle there is a shady garden where they serve breakfast. The room is a matrass on the floor, it has a fan, a window and an en-suite bathroom with hot shower all day. Payed 250 bht per night. Security guard sleeps in the hall and nobody did hassle me when I brought friends round one night for a bit of after-party. But that was the only noise I've heard. It's a sanctuary with birds and trees and really green compared to the noisy hustle-bustle of Chiang Mai.

  • Liked — Value for money and atmosphere!! convenient shopping too
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Mizzi_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.7 mi away
Varada Place
Varada Place
#22 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
0.6 mi away
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
Eco Resort Chiang Mai
#38 of 787 in Chiang Mai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
The Dhara Dhevi Chiang Mai
#2 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.7 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,252 reviews
0.3 mi away
137 Pillars House
137 Pillars House
#1 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pagoda Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pagoda Inn

Property: Pagoda Inn
Address: 49 Chiang Moi Road, Chiang Mai, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Hotel Style:
Ranked #439 of 710 B&Bs / Inns in Chiang Mai
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Pagoda Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing