We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Chiang Mai's Watery Artery” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mae Ping River

Mae Ping River
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.77*
and up
1 Day Bike and River Kayak Adventure from Chiang Mai
Ranked #78 of 247 things to do in Chiang Mai
Attraction details
Chiang Mai
Level Contributor
40 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Chiang Mai's Watery Artery”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2012

If visiting as a tourist then would recomend The Riverside Resturant river cruise in the vening as the best way to see the best of the river.

Living here - I have hiked along it, though it and over all its bridges but its riverbanks have not been developed in a very attractive way and it is difficult to walk along its banks - Chiang Rai's Kok River is much more attractive.

Helpful?
Thank K2K11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    44
    27
    5
    1
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
276 reviews
77 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
“Needs a clean up”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

We went white water rafting and bamboo rafting in the Mae Ping river. The river was brown, dirty and smelly. During our bamboo raft ride, we were waist deep in water and our clothes were stained with mud and all sorts of debris. Really, this river needs to be cleaned up! And, not to mention we felt itchy all over after the bamboo ride.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank LL721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kempton Park, South Africa
Level Contributor
93 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Relaxing few hours”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2012

We spent an great relaxing afternoon on the Mae Ping river on a Scorpion Tailed river cruise.

The river itself is used as a thoroughfare through the area and is lined with riverside homes and small farms, and in the city are, with many riverside restaurants and for this reason the river is definitely not a clean as it should be – we were there in the dry season so this could be one of the reasons and the water level was lower than during the wet season.

A cruise on the river is definitely a good way to spend a few relaxing hours in the heat of the afternoon as it was definitely much cooler on the river than in the city area.

The riverside restaurants look good, but unfortunately we did not have time to visit any during our trip to Chiang Mai, but would defiantly like to if we visit again.

There are also great photographic opportunities of the river and surrounds during a river cruise.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Bloemhof
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Excellent River to go on a bamboo Raft”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2012

I had a fantastic time on the 5 Km Rafting atop a bamboo Raft.. very very relaxing and a must visit place

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank Global_traveller97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“dirty and not well looked after”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2012

could be wonderful if the city government cleaned it up!!! lovely river which is abused by nearly everybody and largely ignored by the local politicians

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank stevensasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mae Ping River also viewed

Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
Chiang Mai, Chiang Mai Province
 

Been to Mae Ping River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing