We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shewe Wana Hotel Chiang Mai”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #15 of 392 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
An Agoda Traveler
Reviewed January 5, 2009

  • Stayed: January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank An Agoda Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,059)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

854 - 860 of 1,059 reviews

Reviewed November 24, 2008

With so many hotels in Chiang Mai it was tough to know where to stay. I didn't want to pay more than $100US and found this property, which fit the bill. I also didn't want to be far from the city center and again, this did that.
The hotel is more 'homey' in feeling and welcoming with lots of plants, a small pool, tasty waffle for breakfast and cute rooms.
All in all, this is a great place to stay both for value for money and it's only a 10 minute walk to the Ping River.
A great place to stay!

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank steeledavis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2008

It turned out to be just fine :
Bed -huge ,comfortable -lovely linen.
TV access fine -the usual Asia cable channels
The room -upstairs No 25 very quiet -good aircon .Nice decor (no resh flowers or bed scatterings. No decent bedside or reading lamp -take your own small bulb.Few powerpoints.
the bathroom -really good for this price-great water pressure but I really thought there would be a bathtub -sob
Breakfast was fresh but limited and repetitive ; eggs, fruit salad -toast -thats it .Quite good coffee and a nice coffee shop with good internet -free!
The garden was lovely but kind of limited the access to the pool -and yes very shady at all times .
Staff -all nice- Joy was really lovely. areally quiet location on a busy road ...
Location ?-well 4/5 taxis and tuk tuks etc couldn't find it even with the map and namecard ,though it is on a main drag not far from the railway station --you get a bit tired of the run back to the hotel ,although its only 10 minutes because you keep getting taken off in another direction .Really you need to be right in town sadly if you like to shop like me!
Other quirks - the hotel is spread along the street and its tricky working out the access at different times of the day-basically you need to go in the driveway to access reception most of the time .
Airport drop off $200 .nothing much nearby that I could see of interest.-gas station Tesco a few steps along. Seemed to be a more than adequate car park for guests.
Didn't try the spa -went to the cheapie places in town.
Big plus- the bathroom products-fabulous homemade shampoo and conditioner -should be marketed -something traditional - I want it !

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Paddy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoySheweWana, Manager at Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2008

Dear Madam
Thank you for your comments and suggestions. We would like to let you know of the improvements we have made.
1. We have put fresh flowers in the rooms.
2. There are reading lamps in all the rooms and there is the option to request more if required.
3. We have bathtubs and jacuzzi in all our suites but, unfortunately, not in our superior or deluxe rooms.
4. For breakfast we now a a greater selection of freshly prepared food for guests to choose from.
5.We have two swimming pools for all guests to use. One is situated in the lush garden providing shade and privacy whilst the other, larger one is more suitable for sun-bathing.
6. Location: We are in the process of making cards specifically for guests to show taxi drivers our location .
7. It was unfortunate that, during your stay, we were having work done on the main entrance to the resort so that we had to ask guests to use the other entrance. We apologise for this inconvenience.
We hope that you willl visit us again.
Yous
Joy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2007

The Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa is marketing itself as a friendly boutique hotel focusing on heath & wellbeing - an oasis of calm in the heart of Chiang Mai City centre.
When we first arrived we thought it was a very quaint place, small & cosy with nice rooms (small but perfectly formed) with lots of plants & a tranquil environment.
It would be too laborious to go into every detail, (anyone wanted further info - please feel free to email me), so I've just listed good & bad points:

Good Points:
- Very friendly staff who really want to please - particularly 'K' who was very helpful and he always had a smile.
- Nice new rooms - brand new, all with a balcony with views of the swimming pool and garden / plant area - lovely green surroundings
-Lovely treatment rooms in the small spa area
-Great coffee shop with internet access
-Good quality bathroom products to use.
- Location - a nice walk (just under 10 mins) to the Riverside area & the Night Bazzar.

Bad Points:
- Not publishing prices for tea / coffee / etc and then when checking out, they come up with lots of written out tabs / bills which we had never seen before, let alone signed. There were no tariffs, so we assumed they just made up the prices they'd charge us after we had consumed drinks etc! They wrote this off when we complained that an establishment cannot charge people for things without publishing prices/tariff anywhere - particularly when one of the managers kept encouring us to have things we didn't even want!
- Two different managers with 2 very different approaches and attitudes towards customers - 1 was very sweet and wanted to give a personalised service, told us she wanted us to feel at home etc. The other was much more business-like and even began 'food - pushing' when we said weren't hungry - we felt so bad, we agreed to have some food as she acted as though she was giving the food to us - complementary. We heard the microwave bleep and realised it was convenience food (not what you want in Thailand??). It was horrible food but we didn't complain as we thought she was trying to be kind. However, on check out, we had been charged for it - again, having never seen a price or signed a tab!
- The swimming pool is shaded by the beautiful plants so it's pretty cold and only has space for 3 sun loungers.
-There is no reception after 10pm. We had to ask K to unlock the kitchen each night so that we could make ourselves a drink (no coffee/tea in room).
-Breakfast was hard work - there are only 4 breakfast options, but both days they got our order wrong. However, what did arrive was very tasty & fresh, unlike the evening food mentioned earlier & they made a lot of effort.
- We couldn't really spot the 'health' ethos that they are marketing.

Summary

In general they are running before they can walk. We were obviously the first guests to ask them for a glass of wine. In all fairness, by the next day they had bought in some wine, but they forget things like a corkscrew. K was helpful and opened the wine for us with a fork, but half the wine was lost in the process, yetthey tried to charge us for a full bottle.
However, we liked the size of the hotel, the staff certainly aim to please, and it is set up beautifully, so despite my moans, it has a lot going for it. I just think they have been a little greedy in taking bookings, at £40 per night ($80 per night) before they can deliver basic things. It's currently not value for money - you can get so much more from other places at this price in Chiang Mai.
I wouldn't return in the next in the next 6 months, but give it 12 months from now, and if they iron out these issues, they will have a great little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank TravelPassionChar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JoySheweWana, Manager at Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2008

Dear Madam
Thank you for your honest comments about your stay with us at Shewe Wana. Since your stay with us we have made many adjustments and improvements.

1. In our restaurant and coffee shop all prices are now published and guests are required to sign their bills or pay cash. We also now have a greater selection of freshly prepared food available for purchase throughout the day.
2. For breakfast we only used to provide a small number of options but guests can now select as much as they like from the published list of available freshly prepared food. When there are group bookings we provide a buffet breakfast.
3. We do close our Reception from 23:00 until 06:00 but there is always someone on-call and we have a 24 hour security guard.
4. All rooms are now equipped with tea and coffee making facilities.
5. We have two swimming pools. The small, intimate one in amongst the lush garden is good for people who are looking for peace and privacy while the other larger one is enjoyed by guests who like swimming or sunbathing.
6. To promote our health ethos, we offer the services of an alternative health consultant as well as the many treatments available in our spa. Moreover, in the resort the quality of our fresh food, the natural products in our rooms, our non-smoking policy and our carefully designed gardens are all to enhance the well-being of our guests.

We trust that you will have the opportunity to visit us again and that you will be more than satisfied with our services.
Yours
Joy
Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gerald_hohmann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2017, traveled with family
Thank AULOSTOMUS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Paola P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 392 in Chiang Mai
2,105 reviews
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#4 of 392 in Chiang Mai
802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 392 in Chiang Mai
928 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
0.7 mi away
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
Dusit D2 Chiang Mai
#28 of 392 in Chiang Mai
1,896 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $72 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing