We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely hotel with attention to detail” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #17 of 374 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
59 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel with attention to detail”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in this lovely hotel in chiangmai. It is a bit outside of the old town, but it's easily reached by foot in about 15 minutes or just a few minutes by tuktuk. I was very much impressed that they were able to create such a peaceful place in the middle of the city with all the green and the individual rooms with terrace. The flowers and plants were really impressive.

I might be a bit biased because we were upgraded from a regular room to a suite, but it is definitely a recommendation.

The only disadvantage was that there were a lot of Mosquitos. I see that this is not really the hotels fault, but some citronella stuff or mosquito nets would have been nice.

Recommendation: the coffee place next door (but part of the hotel) serves great coffee!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank babod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

953 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    632
    267
    41
    9
    4
See reviews for
190
496
61
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (169)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Orange County
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2014

It looks very nice from outside, but it is old and dirty inside.
There were lots of small and tiny bugs on my bed.
I booked a Superior Room - 1 queen bed, but they let us stayed in a very small room.
The spa price is overpriced vs other spas in Chiang Mai.
They didn't change our towel even I put it in the basket. The towel looked dirty and old, so we used ours.
Wifi was really weak, and they turned it off after 10:00pm.
Water in the sink was super hot that they had a warning sign.

Very friendly and helpful staff.

I would not go back there for that price.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank KristieN2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

found this via tripadvisor recommendations and was very pleased with level of service,value for money,helpful staff and location.Rooms are very clean,water is hot,breakfast is plentiful,coffee shop very tasty and free shuttle to night market an added bonus.Location to city and airportis ver convenient.
Would recommend to stay again

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank decimalbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff. had a great experience staying at shewe wana. excellent rooms, spa.from the outside looks like any regular place but a beautiful property inside.location pretty much convenient.would definitely go back.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Ashwin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2014

Would love to go and spend more time there. The staff was amazing and friendly. The grounds are breathtaking. The only issue was the WiFi kept kicking us off and the hot water was somewhat of an issue. Other than that- it was great.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kungpaokitty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2014

Everything is good only the location is not convenient. And no restaurant inside the hotel. The fitness center is not ok. The boss and the staff are very helpful and friendly. The room is spacious and well decorated.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Bangkokpong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2014 via mobile

This place was fantastic - a real little Oasis! Does not look much from the street but simply lovely inside! Lots of space in suite, staff very friendly, pools nice, gardens lovely. The spa treatment was quite expensive compared to others in area but it was a relaxing and calming environment. Staff talked and whispered to one another during treatment which was frustrating.
Overall a wonderful experience!

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Carolyn B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.2 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#12 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,013 reviews
1.6 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.4 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#10 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
1.1 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#33 of 374 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,108 reviews
1.6 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#4 of 374 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing