We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

Booked this hotel due to good reviews, and was not disappointed.
The hotel rep was waiting for us at the airport, put swiftly to taxi and greeted with welcome drink by arrival in hotel.
Our room was not big, but was well presented and clean with some nice products in the good size bathroom.
The staff was really amazing, genuine and made us feel like at home. I stayed in many hotels in Thailand, and Shewe Wana had the best staff by far.
The breakfast was decent, for our second day was served in the little garden.
The place is an amazing green garden with 2 swimming pools, not big in size, but clean. Not many people seemed to use it though.
On the day of departure we kept the room till 5pm, without paying anything, and were again taken to the airport.
Due to vegetation, there are a lot of mosquitoes around, so keep your door shut, and wi-fi in the room is slow, but those are minor things.
Will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank notsopowerful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    276
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
198
518
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We chose this hotel based on my sister's recommendation and we travelled in a group of three ladies. This was our first trip to Chiangmai. Making reservations was a breeze and the staff was very friendly and accommodating. Our suite was beautiful and we wished that we had stayed indoors more than we did. Our first evening was at the night Market and we had an enjoyable time. The next few days we travelled to the elephant sanctuary, the hill tribes village, the orchid gardens and other tourist spots. The spa at the hotel did not disappoint us and neither did the charming cafe at the hotel which served good food. Breakfast was also at the cafe and we enjoyed this hidden gem in the city. Staff was friendly and our stay experience at the hotel was excellent. Well return for another trip soon.

Room Tip: Choose the higher floor for more privacy but need to climb the stairs- no elevators. There are no fa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaJac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for 3 nights and it was the best hotel we stayed at in Thailand. The hotel is located west of the old city but a short tuk-tuk ride to the center. They offer free tuk-tuk rides to the night bazaar or basically anywhere else you want to go within reason. The hotel has a small pool and beautiful gardens. The rooms are clean and spacious for a smaller hotel. The best part about this place is the staff. They are super nice and helpful. They will help arrange any trips you wish to go on at good prices. The day we were supposed to leave Chiang Mai we had an 11 PM flight. Instead of making us check out they moved us to a different room to store our luggage and shower before our flight at no extra cost. I would recommend this place to anyone planning a trip to Chiang Mai.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank WiseTraveler86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

my husband and I came here for my 50th birthday,and have had a fabulous time.Please ignore any bad reviews,,this hotel is like a secret garden ,and we were lucky enough to stay here.We are fortunate enough to have travelled all over the world,,,but have never come across such attentive,kind,beautiful,staff who have made our holiday extra special.this is a small hotel ,where guests matter,,breakfasts are scrummy,and served in a pretty garden.we ate in the restaurant a couple of nights,,food excellent.We also enjoyed morning coffee,,lunch in the hotel coffee shop,,.staff superb.We spent a day at patara elephant farm,,see the reviews,,absolutely magical and were given a DvD with amazing photos of our day on it,a must see,,we swam with baby elephants under a waterfall.Our whole trip has been magical,,Thanks to the amazing staff at this hotel,,and our suite was always immaculate,,a trip we will never forget.

Room Tip: we had room 221,and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We loved our three day stay in the Shewe Wana hotel in Chiangmai! It has a great deal of charm with simple but attractively styled rooms in a lush tropical garden setting and two super little swimming pools. The staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. It is a short 3 minute tuk-tuk ride from the centre of town. Strongly recommended.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Barnesgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

This was our first trip to Chiang Mai so I cannot compare with other facilities in the area. The resort was small and cozy and the staff were very friendly and helpful. We chose this resort as it had 2 bedrooms available which we desire since we have 3 children. We did not book directly through hotel and still received free breakfast, free ride to night bazaar and free wifi. There are deals if you book directly through their website that they will do airport transfers. I must mention that the taxi fare is very cheap in Chiang Mai (~200 Bahts from airport to hotel). The size was perfect but the furnishings in the room are very old and there were a lot of simple repairs that needed to be done. Other people mentioned that they liked the soaps. We did not care for them much although we did like that they used refillable bottles which is better for the environment. The food was good and better than many 5 star hotels we have stayed in. My husband fell and broke his knee cap on our second night. It was really stressful but the staff were amazing. Ping (a receptionist) rode with my husband in the ambulance so I could follow with the kids to the ER. Her and the driver stayed with us until we returned. They did everything to make sure we were comfortable. I would love to give the hotel staff 5 stars but the facility itself is definitely not more than 3 stars.

Room Tip: We had a pool view 2 bedroom on the third floor. I think it was probably the best location.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MyNazzal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arendal, Norway
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

From the time I arrived until I sadly departed, it was nothing but top notch service, beauty and tranquility The professional staff seem the ability to understand the kind of vacation we were looking for - responsive when we needed, yet distant when required! Looking forward to going back one day!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Halla_plenty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing