We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely boutique hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #13 of 393 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 6, 2013

Shewe Wana is lovely and an oasis of calm in a busy city.

The location isn't great, on a busy road and a good 20 minutes walk from the old town, but the serenity of the hotel makes up for it.

Lovely gardens, 2 small pools, lobby bar, a coffee shop, restaurant (reasonable prices but we preferred to go into town), spa (very expensive) and com.mentary tuk tuk to the night market (hourly) are amongst the facilities available. Breakfast is very nice, including a delicious selection of pancakes, and can be eaten in the garden. Service is polite, efficient and somewhat formal.

Our standard room was small and basic but well equipped - bathrobes, slippers, aircon, TV, umbrellas, fridge stocked daily with complimentary water and soft drinks, and absolutely lovely toiletries. The only thing lacking was a decent amount of clothes storage, but I guess that most people only stay a few days. The suites appear much larger, but are almost twice the price.

Overall, I think I would have preferred to stay in the old town, but nevertheless Shewe Wana was a lovely place..

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hamish11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,075)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

733 - 739 of 1,075 reviews

Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel is located mid-block on a street loaded with hardware stores and auto repair shops. There is a little courtyard entrance, with the buildings further in off the street. The entire property is garnished in bamboo. Beyween each building is a brook or fountain; the sound of running water helps cover any road noise that gets through the bamboo. It's an extremely peaceful setting right in the middle of a block. There's a dozen gardners keeping it up every day - this type of gardens is high maintenance - and they do a superb job.
I had a one bedroom suite, which is like a one bedroom apartment. The furniture was very comfortable. The place was spotless. I would have liked table lamps in the living room instead of overhead lights. There was a kitchenette with two burners, microwave, dishwasher. All sodas and water were comped. The bathroom was spacious, with a shower and a whirlpool tub. Bathroom amenities stuff was average. There was an excellent patio with a great daybed. Got great wi-fi in the room and all around the hotel. Breakfast buffet was very good, with nice fresh fruits, eggs to order, and some asian fare. I had lunch twice at the restaraunt, and it was delicious. Their brown sliced bread is fantastic.
The staff were extremely polite and professional. They looked after your every need. Courteous to a fault.
The location is great. I don't know if some folks realize it, but alot of those big money hotels are smack dab in front of the night market. Every time you walk out the door of the hotel there's a zoo going on. It makes a lot of racket. The Shewe Wana is a two buck tuk-tuk ride to a much more relaxed enviorment. Well worth the investment.
They had two crystal clear pools with some wake up the dead chilly water. When there's families it can get noisy around the pool.
This is a great choice for a hotel in Chiang Mai. It's clean, comfortable, quiet, safe, and has a great staff.

Room Tip: The further back in the buildings the room, the quieter it gets.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mitchunleashed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2013

The courtyard and garden ambience of this hotel are well done in the restrictive surroundings. The rooms are not large, and lack clothes storage, but there are chairs outside for sitting which overlook the garden and pool. There was some early morning noise from other guests, which does echo around.
We found the staff to be extremely efficient and helpful, providing information and making calls for us, as well as dealing with a problem in our room VERY quickly.
Breakfast was very good.

Room Tip: We had an upstairs balcony room which felt more open than the larger rooms at the back downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gulliva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

It is difficult to put into words the positive feelings and opinions that my wife and I have for this boutique hotel. Driving along the street where the hotel is situated, it seemed to be a typical Chiang Mai street with a mixture of small commercial uses such as 7-11, local automotive supplies, pharmacy, banks etc.

So the hotel with it’s white exterior is not ostentatious but it does stand out a bit against the surrounding properties. But that is only the beginning, once through the front entrance one is transported to a jungle-like environment. Narrow walkways thread through the grounds leading you to the rooms in various sections of the complex.

The owner designed the project and had mature vegetation planted to get the environment she wanted. There are always fresh flowers everywhere.

There are 2 swimming pools – the smaller kidney shaped pool beside the spa and a larger pool further along in the newer extension of the property. There are 2 dining areas – one, more formal, inside and another that is the garden dining area – fully and partially exposed. The buffet breakfast was included in our rate and it is extensive – too extensive to list here. There is a barista who is magic with her designs on the coffee and she is entirely self-taught.

Our room was excellent with a king sized bed, refrigerator, safe and full bath – fully air conditioned. I was not in the Spa but my wife was and she loved the massage and downtime she had.

We ate dinner in the formal dining room a couple of times – first time my wife was not feeling 100% and the owner had a special soup prepared for her. The food itself was A-1 excellent and a wide variety to choose from.

The owner, Joy, took time to talk with us on several occasions offering suggestions, clarifications and just being friendly. Without question, Joy is the heart and soul of this place and it shows.

Without question, we will be back to visit this surprise package. Do yourself a favour and book some time at the Shewe Wanna (Life Forest) Boutique Resort and Spa – you will not be disappointed.

/Chappells

Room Tip: My sense is that every room is a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank javaminit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Once you stepped on the grounds of this hotel you forgot about the busyness of the city and perhaps life. Very relaxing and comfortable to stay here. The hotel is on a busy street but you wouldn't know it when on the grounds. The staff at this hotel were very pleasant to deal with and worked hard to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Beautiful tropical grounds. Very nice breakfast. Close enough proximity to the night market to walk, or the hotel provides a shuttle as well. If we are back in Chiang Mai we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenBTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Shewe Wana for two nights in late January and loved every minute of it. The property was filled with beautiful gardens with charming little details that made it feel very much like a home away from home (mind you, my home doesn't have tropical gardens!). There were wonderful homemade soaps and other bath products in the rooms, the breakfast was delicious, and our dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night was very good, exceeding expectation. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in arranging a cooking class for us and transportation to the airport. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bottom room, which do have a bit less light, but you look right out into the garden f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like all the reviews say this is really a true gem in a nice city to visit. We loved the natural organic-ness to the resort. The local Thai style of accommodations was rich, the locally handmade soaps, shampoos, lotions etc. smelled beautiful, the homemade breakfasts were delicious and healthy and had a beautiful garden setting. There is a nice cozy coffee shop with free internet available and also available in the reception/bar area. The reception will go out of their way to be helpful in that gracious Thai way. We stayed 3 nights and then came back for a last minute available 4th night on our return from Chiang Rai. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L-ECAEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#14 of 393 in Chiang Mai
2,112 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 393 in Chiang Mai
823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#49 of 393 in Chiang Mai
944 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
BED Nimman (Adults Only)
BED Nimman (Adults Only)
#7 of 393 in Chiang Mai
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $72 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing