We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Come to relax from the craziness”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #14 of 394 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 18, 2013

Once you stepped on the grounds of this hotel you forgot about the busyness of the city and perhaps life. Very relaxing and comfortable to stay here. The hotel is on a busy street but you wouldn't know it when on the grounds. The staff at this hotel were very pleasant to deal with and worked hard to make your stay comfortable and enjoyable. Beautiful tropical grounds. Very nice breakfast. Close enough proximity to the night market to walk, or the hotel provides a shuttle as well. If we are back in Chiang Mai we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank StevenBTravelling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,079)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,080 reviews

Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed at the Shewe Wana for two nights in late January and loved every minute of it. The property was filled with beautiful gardens with charming little details that made it feel very much like a home away from home (mind you, my home doesn't have tropical gardens!). There were wonderful homemade soaps and other bath products in the rooms, the breakfast was delicious, and our dinner in the hotel restaurant the first night was very good, exceeding expectation. The staff was very pleasant and helpful in arranging a cooking class for us and transportation to the airport. We highly recommend this hotel!

Room Tip: We stayed in a bottom room, which do have a bit less light, but you look right out into the garden f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roxanne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Like all the reviews say this is really a true gem in a nice city to visit. We loved the natural organic-ness to the resort. The local Thai style of accommodations was rich, the locally handmade soaps, shampoos, lotions etc. smelled beautiful, the homemade breakfasts were delicious and healthy and had a beautiful garden setting. There is a nice cozy coffee shop with free internet available and also available in the reception/bar area. The reception will go out of their way to be helpful in that gracious Thai way. We stayed 3 nights and then came back for a last minute available 4th night on our return from Chiang Rai. We will definitely come back again!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank L-ECAEP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2013

Stayed here for 5 days on our honeymoon. The room was nice, as was the jungle-like feel of the hotel. Pools were both nice, although a little cold. The staff were always very nice and helpful.

We loved the breakfast here! It was the best we had in Thailand with plenty of fresh fruit, and the standard stuff as well as eggs and other things made to order.

The only drawback for the hotel is that its a ways away from restaurants and things in the old city. We walked back and forth to the old city once or twice a day (free shuttle only goes at 6, 7 & 8pm) - but that walk gets tiring. By the last day we were sick of spending so much time going back and forth though. But it was very nice and quiet - a good place to escape from the hustle and bustle of things!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank biogirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2013

Our stay at Shewe Wana was amazing. From the street you would wonder what the fuss it about and then you walk into a beautiful little oasis - quiet, cool and relaxing. Nothing is ever a problem and the reception staff went out of their way to help us with anything we wanted. All the staff from the receptionists, tuk tuk driver, beauty therapists, cafe and restaurant staff and grounds staff right through to the owner/manager were all so friendly, happy and attentive. Impeccable service. Our 2 bedroom suite was amazing - huge, very clean and beautifully decorated. We had our own balcony with a day bed and swing overlooking a private courtyard with a pond and stream. The spa treatments were amazing. The food for breakfast, dinner and at the cafe were all very good and more than you could eat. The location is out of the old city, however is close enough to walk to the night markets or a very short tuk tuk ride. We liked being a little bit further out so it was quieter at night and allowed us to explore more on our travels. When travelling with 2 children under 8 it is appreciated when your accommodation is a refuge and all goes smoothly. Our children were very sad to leave Shewe Wana. We loved Chiang Mai and would return in a heartbeat - and would definitely stay at Shewe Wana again.

Room Tip: If your budget allows get a suite - pure heaven.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HumeHolidays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Can't fault our stay here, the rooms were lovely and spacious, the breakfasts and food in the evenings great and the staff very friendly and helpful. A little way from the centre of Chiang Mai, but if you like walking, not a problem, and plenty of transport around anyway. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kritigirl325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2013

We stayed five days in a deluxe room overlooking the courtyard lush with greenery and orchids. Although it is located on a busy road just a few blocks east of the river and the night market, the rooms were really quiet. Good air conditioning, nice shower, nice firm bed, great local soaps and bath products. Breakfast is included and has a great selection of breads, fruits, cheese, cereals, eggs to order and juices. We ate at several restaurants in Chaing Mai and we still think the Shewe Wana has one of the best restaurants in the city. We would come back to the room midday to eat lunch there and rest before going to the night market. The staff were some of the nicest we've met in our travels. They were so helpful and attentive. There are 15 rooms surrounding a courtyard with a pool and then another 15 newer rooms close to another pool. If your budget allows go for the one or two bedroom rooms in this section - they are so roomy, beautifully decorated and look out to a private courtyard. We will definitely go back. We loved Chaing Mai and really loved Shewe Wana!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank texascat26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#13 of 394 in Chiang Mai
2,116 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
BED Phrasingh (Adults Only)
#5 of 394 in Chiang Mai
828 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Rainforest Boutique
Rainforest Boutique
#48 of 394 in Chiang Mai
947 reviews
0.3 mi away
Puripunn Baby Grand Boutique Hotel
2.8 mi away
BED Nimman (Adults Only)
BED Nimman (Adults Only)
#7 of 394 in Chiang Mai
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#9 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range: $72 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Ctrip TA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing