We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“oasis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Ranked #16 of 380 Hotels in Chiang Mai
Certificate of Excellence
Okinawa, Japan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“oasis”
Reviewed January 5, 2013

When we pulled up on the busy street, I was thinking...I hoped I packed ear plugs! But then we were shown to our room. We walked around and and back and up the stairs as our hotel staff opened the doors on probably the most private and beautiful suite we have ever stayed at! Gorgeous is the only word to describe it. We were a walk- about 15 min to restauants and about 5 more to the night market and old city. Loved it more than I thought. The gardens were lush and private, the staff was attentive and pleasant. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank heather k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

988 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    657
    276
    41
    10
    4
See reviews for
198
518
62
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (174)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Shewe wana provides the sort of personalised service expected in many top-class resorts. Its most winsome quality is that it is small and takes it only a few visitors. The gardens are lush and are characterized by different types of foliage. The tacit use of piped-in music, insect repellants and scented corners are additional qualities that make it a home. The boutique supplies of shampoo and soap are from the house and feature quality materials. Pls try the organic bamboo shamoo...my hair feels different the next morning...and these words are rather strange for someone who is not too particular about the brands used. The breakfast selections are stunning despite the cosy space 'constraints.'

Resort manager Joy is always gracious. Beautiful, warm and attentive, she goes out of her way to ensure that guests feel at home. She also made effort to grant us a cool section of asian breakfast sets which we longed for. She represents the very heart of Thai hospitality.

Another plus point is that you could also rent DVDs free of charge. We had trouble watching one evening and the staff were prompt in sending a maintenance officer to fix it on the spot. Replacements were prompt and efficiently made.

I would stay here again.

Room Tip: Everywhere feels divine...come, stay and see :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kohl e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sidney, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Our family of 4 (2 adults and 2 teenagers) stayed for 5 nights (March 23-27) at Shewe Wana and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Initially we were booked into 2 superior rooms but as we were staying longer than a couple of nights the owner suggested we may want to upgrade to a family suite. This turned out to be a great choice and although we had to pay more we felt we got more than our moneys worth in return. The suite was beautiful and the size of a small house with hardwood floors throughout, a living room and dining area, large fridge, 2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms, air con in each room as well as the living room and there was lots of room to unpack your clothes. There was a large covered balcony with table, chairs, and a canopy bed overlooking a koi pond off the main living area and another small balcony off the master bedroom.

The grounds were lushly landscaped and we felt the resort was an oasis in a noisy busy city. The staff were the most attentive and helpful of any of the hotels we stayed at on our trip. Everyone had a smile and said hello and the front desk staff were always ready to help with whatever you needed whether it was to book a tour, arrange a taxi, or make a restaurant suggestion. The owner was also very friendly and helpful and took a genuine interest in how your day was going and what you had planned.

The cooking class offered by the resort was not operating at the time we were there but when the owner heard that my husband and son wanted to take a class she reopened it just for them. They made 4 different dishes and had a fantastic time and to top it all off the staff video taped the whole thing and provided us with a dvd to take home. While the boys were cooking my daughter and I had a 2 hr massage and facial which was very relaxing and left us feeling rejuvenated. (and at a fraction of the cost of what we would pay at home!)

The breakfast included with the room rate was excellent and in addition to the food at the buffet you could order anything you wanted from the kitchen and it would be made to order. I would highly recommend Shewe Wana if you are looking for great service, very friendly staff and a clean, comfortable, safe place to stay. Thank you to all the staff at Shewe Wana if we are back in Chiang Mai we will definitely being staying there again.

PS: one recommendation I do have is that it would be helpful if there were clocks in the bedrooms and one on the wall in the living room. This wasn't unique to this hotel it was something that we found lacking in all the hotels we stayed in.

Room Tip: Family suites are huge and provide plenty of room to relax.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deepcove12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
Reviewed December 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights at Shewe Wana Resort in Dec'12. We had booked a family suite. The hotel is a little away, but not too far from the hustle bustle of the old city.
> We had to change our booking at the last moment. They agreed to refund full 100% & also offered us the room a week later. We choose the later, looking at the positivity of their response.
> It offers amazing EXTRA benefits - Spa for 2 hours, Airport pick-up and drop & a full family dinner for FREE. Good delightful experience, even when these were not mentioned in the package.
> Overall service levels are fantastic, with full involvement of the owner. A great place for a family holiday, as they are ready to customise things as per need.
> We did not pick the tour packages from the hotel. The government operators were more reliable & value for money.
> Nice pool & spa, but water is quite cold in this part of the year.
> Only thing which i missed was a lack of gym :(

Room Tip: Family suite with 2 separate rooms are big & with full amenities
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shrenik M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mainz
1 review
Reviewed December 23, 2012

We spent 6 nights at Shewe Wana Resort in december 2012. We booked a Suite for 3 adults.
The rooms are very comfortable and clean.
We had a great time at Shewe Wana especially regarding the excellent and cordial service of the Shewe team.

We can recommend this Resort to everybody who is looking for a pleasant time in Chiang Mai

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andre B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 21, 2012

Stayed for four nights and had a great time. The location is good - just outside of the Old Town which I liked, but still only 15mins walk to the centre. Free tuk tuk to the night bazaar was a nice touch and, as a solo female traveller, I was particularly grateful for their offer to drop me to particular restaurants each night to save me the hassle of wandering the streets.

The rooms are comfortable, a good size and modern. I stayed in upstairs double room for the first three nights, and then in a downstairs deluxe room. My only advice would be to ask for an upstairs room - the downstairs room was near the kitchen and can be quite noisy in the morning.

Breakfast each morning was great - lots of fresh fruit and pastries, but also cooked to order sweet and savory dishes. I ate at the hotel restaurant for dinner one night - it was completely fine. Although with the extraordinary amount of eateries in Chiang Mai serving up fantastic cheap Thai food, I would recommend jumping on the free tuk tuk and heading into town.

What sets this hotel apart from the others, however, is the quality of service. The reception staff were always friendly and helpful. They organized my cooking classes and elephant tours, and when I had difficulty finding a place to stay at my next destination in Thailand, they rang a number of different guesthouses on my behalf (my Thai is definitely not up to scratch!)

All in all, a great hotel with great staff in a great city!

Room Tip: Rooms upstairs are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
malaysia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

Loved this hotel. three of us booked a two room suite for the Loi Kratong festival.
From the street, it looks nondescript. once you step into the grounds, one is transported into an Lush tropical retreat. The rooms are big, huge living room and patio. It's very comfortable. Everything in the mini bar is free. The gardens are beautiful.
Service is excellent. We met some of the most charming and friendly staff there. Nothing was too much trouble. You can walk to the Ping river but the hotel provides a free shuttle service every evening. Breakfast is served in two quaint cafes and there is a wide choice of delicious food.

The only downside to our stay was that we were asked to pay for a shampoo jar which fell and broke in the bathroom. Shewe Wana has their own spa and range of toiletries. The shampoo, conditioner and body gel is supplied in big ceramic containers placed in a cupboard away from the shower area. You would need to take these items and put them on a small flimsy stainless steel tray fixed in the shower area. One of these jars slipped and broke and we were charged for it during check out. I told the hostess that it was wrong of them to supply such items in ceramics in the 1st place. The broken china was more dangerous to us. I had to wear my slippers into the shower area after the jar broke. Told to be sensible like other hotels and supply in small single use plastic containers instead of these big jars which we certainly could not have use up even in a month!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanti288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chiang Mai hotels
0.3 mi away
Rimping Village
Rimping Village
#10 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,051 reviews
1.4 mi away
Khum Phaya Resort & Spa, Centara Boutique Collection
0.5 mi away
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
Anantara Chiang Mai Resort
#11 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
BED Phrasingh Hotel
BED Phrasingh Hotel
#5 of 380 in Chiang Mai
5.0 of 5 bubbles 687 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kate and Hasu Boutique Chiangmai
0.9 mi away
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
Siripanna Villa Resort & Spa
#34 of 380 in Chiang Mai
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa

Property: Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa
Address: 296, 298 Charoen Muang Rd | Watket, Chiang Mai 50000 , Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Chiang Mai Province > Chiang Mai
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Luxury Hotel in Chiang Mai
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chiang Mai
#12 Family Hotel in Chiang Mai
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"Shewe" means life, "Wana" means forest and nature. "Shewe Wana" means life returning to the forest. Shewe Wana is a small cozy boutique style resort in Chiang Mai city. We are an environmentally friendly resort, using natural products made by Chiang Mai local people. We are located about 15-20 minutes by walk from resort to Chiang Mai old city. It is located on the main road to the railroad station and a few minutes walk to the Ping River where you will find a variety of international restaurants, pubs and cafes. It is also just a short walk to a Buddhist temple and a local market name "SAN PA KHOI" where you will find a delicious assortment of northern Thai food, fruit and confections. We offer complimentary 'tuk-tuk' shuttle to the night bazaar and railroad station and van service to the airport. Shewe Wana Boutique wing A cozy boutique resort with two room types; Superior Double room and Superior Twin room have Thai-style wood furniture and windows that open to a view of the lovely garden and pool-side setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Agoda, Hotels.com, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Hotel.de and HotelQuickly so you can book your Shewe Wana Boutique Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shewe Wana Boutique Hotel Chiang Mai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing